August’s Book of the Month…

book of the monthI am actually a day late doing this poll up, and I blame the fact that I didn’t realize it was already the end of the month. Stupid as it sounds, I was actually a week behind. So, it might be a day late, but it is time to vote for your most anticipated book for August. And for a change, I don’t have a clear-cut front runner this month…it could be between a couple of big ones, so it is anyone’s guess.

Whatever book wins will then be offered in a giveaway at the first of the month. I have chosen 10 that seem to be among the most popular, but as always if your choice isn’t there just select “Other” and leave your pick in the comments section. A complete list of August’s releases can be found HERE.

If you had told me a year ago that I wouldn’t automatically choose a Kresley Cole book, I would’ve laughed at you. And pointed. And laughed some more. But as much as I have wanted Thronos and Lanthe’s story for years, my buzz meter just isn’t revved up for this one. I am hoping that once it is in my hands I will have a change of attitude, but for now I am more excited for Kelley Armstrong‘s Visions. Who knew?

22 thoughts on “August’s Book of the Month…

  1. Nefertari says:

    The choice was hard between Kelley Armstrong’s Visions and Jeaniene Frost’s the Beautiful Ashes. But since i’m already into Cainsville, my vote goes to Kelley Armstrong.

  2. Emily says:

    That actually was a tough decision for me this month, between Dark Skye and The Beautiful Ashes. I’ve also got Crave the Night preordered, but I knew I liked the Immortals After Dark better. What made it hard was The Beautiful Ashes is the first in a new series, so there’s not much to go on with it. But that’s what I ended up voting for. I figured between the few short excerpts I’ve read, and the previous success of the Night Huntress series, I’m super excited for anything by Jeaniene Frost.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am going into the Beautiful Ashes pretty unspoiled, so I am really looking forward to it. I like not knowing the entire story before I ever crack the book, and that is strange for me, especially from such a big time author.

      • Emily says:

        I needed something to get me excited for The Beautiful Ashes so I wouldn’t be reading it for the first time 5 years from now, and be kicking myself for not picking it up sooner. lol. 2 excerpts didn’t reveal anything that the blurb hasn’t already. It was two consecutive scenes when the hero kidnaps the heroine and just showed that this is classic Frost and she’s still amazing! The third was an action sequence that Ilona Andrews posted, and it was definitely the most revealing with some of the heroine’s powers and what’s chasing them being exposed.

        • kaleigha says:

          That is perfect, actually…enough to get you interested, not enough to spoil the plot and give everything away.

  3. snapdragon says:

    The Beautiful Ashes – Ilona Andrews bugged Jeaniene Frost for a snippet and posted it on her blog. It was a wonderful piece of writing. I am really excited to read it.

    • kaleigha says:

      I liked that snippet a lot, too…it didn’t give too much of the story away, but it did get you interested.

    • Emily says:

      Just wait until September gets here! 9/2 is going to be especially hard for me. I’ve got 4 books preordered for just that day alone! This one was difficult for me too, though.

        • Emily says:

          There should be rules about that, like only 1 best-selling author in a particular genre per release day. And eliminate the “books have to come out on Tuesdays” rule. I can read one book a day, so if they’d just spread them out by a stinking day, it’d make life easier. All I can say is I’m reading Son of No One first and Dark Blood second. From there, I’ll probably toss a coin…

  4. Abra says:

    I vote for Darkness Clashes by Susan Illene. It’s book four of the Sensor series and is being released 8/30/14.

  5. alexandra says:

    August is like the month of books for this year. I remember when MacRieve came out last year ALL I wanted was to hear anything, no matter how small, about Lanthe and Thronos. And then nothing. Not even a whisper! So it’s Dark Skye for me.

    I’m also looking forward to Ann Aguirre’s next Sci-Fi release, Havoc, in August. It’s out 8/26/14.

    • kaleigha says:

      Maybe the lack of fanfare about Dark Skye is why it seems to have flown under my radar. There really isn’t anything else that could explain it.

  6. Charry says:

    I’m looking forward to the next Jayne Castle (AKA Amanda Quick, AKA Jayne Ann Krentz) novel. “Hot zone” is out August 26th. She’s been writing forever but I can’t stop reading her stuff. She’s like an old friend at this point. As soon as her books come out I just want to curl up with a cup of tea and read straight through the night.

  7. Texas Book Lover says:

    This is a hard one for me. I have been waiting for several of these books for a while but Dark Skye won out. My other runner ups were Crave the Night and Blood Games followed by Beautiful Ashes.

Leave a Reply

