Archangel’s Shadows Tidbits and Reaction…

As I usually try to do on these types of posts, I have to start by saying that Nalini Singh is one of my favorite authors, to the point of it being a bit pathetic, actually. So does that mean that I go into anything she writes expecting it to be great? Yep. And she has never disappointed me yet. I was totally surprised to get an ARC of Archangel’s Shadows, and it was a one-sitting read. This will be a few spoiler-free glimpses, but I will assume that you are up-to-date with the events in Archangel’s Legion.

archangel's shadowSynopsis…

Return to New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh’s sensual and painfully beautiful Guild Hunter world in her new novel of sacrifice, loyalty, and the choices of love that can shatter the heart.

In the wake of a brutal war, the archangel Raphael and his hunter consort, Elena, are dealing with the treacherously shifting tides of archangelic politics and the people of a battered but not broken city. The last thing their city needs is more death, especially a death that bears the eerie signature of an insane enemy archangel who cannot— should not—be walking the streets.

This hunt must be undertaken with stealth and without alerting their people. It must be handled by those who can become shadows themselves…

Ash is a gifted tracker and a woman cursed with the ability to sense the secrets of anyone she touches. But there’s one man she knows all too well without a single instant of skin contact: Janvier, the dangerously sexy Cajun vampire who has fascinated and infuriated her for years. Now, as they track down a merciless killer, their cat-and-mouse game of flirtation and provocation has turned into a profound one of the heart. And this time, it is Ash’s secret, dark and terrible, that threatens to destroy them both.

I went into this thinking that it was going to be equal parts Raphael and Elena’s story and Ash and Janvier’s, and I was thinking that Ash and Janvier might get short-changed. I couldn’t’ve been more of the target. The story breaks down, as best as I can figure, to be about 75% Ash and Janvier, 15% Raphael and Elena, and 10% everyone else. Nice.

We start out seeing a little bit of role Ash, Janvier and Naasir’s trio played in the battle against Lijuan, and the bond they formed behind the lines. The recap of the battle is brief, but the impact of it continues throughout the book. When a new issue rises that threatens the stability of a city that has already been through so much, Ash and Janvier end up teaming up again to track a vicious enemy. There is lots of action, but that doesn’t overpower the romance at all. Their story has been simmering over the course of several stories, and it was worth the wait.

Illium and Aodhan make a few appearances, usually as comic relief. Change is coming for Illium, and I do believe his story will be heading our way (soonish). And I could totally see a novella for Ransom, too. Dmitri and Honor are settling into their new life, Aodhan is continuing to make progress coming back into the world, and the Legion is slowly beginning to find a place. But the scene-stealer, no doubt, is Naasir. I didn’t think anyone could outshine Bluebell, but Naasir did. Half feral, half innocent, and completely unpredictable, he made every scene he was in. We don’t find out exactly what he is, or what he isn’t, for that matter, but I can’t wait to find out. Elena continues to make the role of Consort her own, even if it sometimes a struggle for the fighter to handle the politics of the position.

So, that is about it. I thought it was a great story – strong on the romance, the action, and the set up for future stories. Oh, and as an extra bonus, there was an excerpt from the upcoming Secrets at Midnight, the Bastien novella that will be in the Night Shift anthology due out on November 25th.

14 thoughts on “Archangel’s Shadows Tidbits and Reaction…

  1. Cassandra B. says:

    Thanks so much for the post! I really enjoy the Guild Hunters series and I read them when released, but I am generally not on pins and needles waiting. Your description of the book gives me a pleasant hum of excitement. Looking forward to reading!

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually find myself getting more and more into them as the series progresses, which is a good thing. I liked the early ones, but they didn’t inspire the rabid love that the Psy/Changelings did. Now? I am really a fan.

  2. alexandra says:

    Just commenting to say I’m so jealous! I had a feeling it was gonna be good. Nalini Singh is on fire! One stellar book after another, and then she randomly announces she has not a contemporary romance but an entire new SERIES in the works that won’t affect the release schedule of the other two…

    Despite being spoiler-free – I trust you 🙂 – I didn’t read your thoughts because I want to go into it completely fresh with just the synopsis to go on. I read just ONE early review for Dark Skye and it had an unmarked spoiler for an event that happened in the last 20 percent of the book! And on a book blog no less! I was not happy…

    All the covers for the Guild Hunter series are awesome (it’s how I actually discovered NS) but this is one of my favs. It kinda has a suspense feel to it but is still just as gorgeous as the ones with wings.

    • kaleigha says:

      Crap…that does suck. I did that one time on a book I was anxiously waiting for. I swear, the first line of the comments was “Can you believe @#$# died! OMG” You just can’t unsee that. I always thought that the Psy/Changelings got the short end of the stick on their original covers compared to these ones.

  3. Rika Ashton says:

    Thanks for your thoughts on the novel! This gets me excited to see what’s in store for Ash, Janvier and Elena – I can’t go into a Guild Hunter novel without craving a few scenes with Elena…she is so kickass! But now you’ve also got me excited for Naasir…gets me wondering if there’s more than angels, vampires, and humans inhabiting the Guild Hunter world. o.O

    Can’t wait to read this book and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that an ARC comes my way. 😀

    • kaleigha says:

      The great thing is, we still don’t know, but you really, really want to know exactly what Naasir is. Besides a sweetheart, that is.

  4. Rika Ashton says:

    Reblogged this on Rika's Musings and commented:
    Kaleigha, from Wicked Scribes, was kind enough to share her thoughts on Archangel’s Shadows by Nalini Singh. The release date for this novel is October 28th – still a few months away, but it’s good to know that we have something in the interim to whet our appetites! 😀

  5. Monika says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Can’t wait to read it. I think I like the Guild Hunter series at least as much as the Psy/Changeling series, if not more. I like that they are a bit on the dark side! And Janvier is one intriguing dude…

  6. snapdragon says:

    This is one series that I have on auto-order. So I don’t have to wait for the library! I am really looking forward to this book. I really enjoy how Nalini shifts who the main characters are without compromising the overall story arc she has going in this world.

    This series is a favorite of mine. I just keep re-reading to stories again and again.

  7. Lidy says:

    Wow, Kaleigha, how nice to read your take on this book! Though, yes, I love NS, am a fangirl, and it’s a bit ridiculous. She can do no wrong.

    Thanks for the review!

    I wonder who the enemy archangel is now… my two cents are on Michaela. OTOH, we haven’t seen much of Favashi, either.

  8. Lidy says:

    Yeah, there’s Neha. But I suppose her twin is giving her a hard time, so I don’t think we’ll see much of her. And Michaela is just hateful, I really hope Elena kicks her arrogant ass someday.

    *so much hatred in my little heart*

Leave a Reply

