So…This Quick/Krentz/Castle Thing is Out of Control

I am working on changing the links for the Series Reading List pages over to Goodreads, and since I am stripping everything down I decided I might as well update as much as possible while I am doing it. I have added some, deleted some, and updated a lot, and things were chugging along until I hit IT. I have been hearing more and more lately how much you all like Jayne Ann Krentz and her alter egos Jayne Castle and Amanda Quick, so I thought I better check and make sure I had everything covered.

Nope.

I can honestly say it took a good, solid couple of hours to figure this monster list out, and I thought I would post it here to see if you all can make sense of it. Not only are there three author names to contend with, but so much series overlapping it boggles the brain. What do you think?

Arcane Society (Series Complete)

Curtain (Jayne Castle)

Dark Legacy (as Janye Ann Krentz)

Dreamlight Trilogy (Series Complete)

  • #1 – Fired Up (Arcane Society #7 – as Jayne Ann Krentz)
  • #2 – Burning Lamp (Arcane Society #8 – as Amanda Quick)
  • #3 – Midnight Crystal (Arcane Society #9, Harmony #7, Curtain #8 – as Jayne Castle)

Ghost Hunter (as Jayne Castle – Series Complete)

Gift Series (as Jayne Ann Krentz – Series Complete)

Harmony Series (as Jayne Castle)

Ladies of Lantern Street (as Amanda Quick)

Looking Glass Trilogy (Series Complete)

Lost Colony (as Jayne Ann Krentz – Series Complete)

Rainshadow (as Jayne Castle)

St. Helen’s (as Jayne Castle – Series Complete)

Whispering Springs (as Jayne Ann Krentz – Series Complete)

Can you follow it, or is it just a jumble? I can’t really figure out another way to do it without color coding, diagrams, and perhaps flow charts.

28 thoughts on “So…This Quick/Krentz/Castle Thing is Out of Control

  1. Cassandra B. says:

    You did a great job! You have noted that Otherwise Engaged is part of the Ladies of Lantern Street (I believe GR has it listed as such), but I do not believe it is–I double -checked JAK’s website and it is not listed as part of the trilogy (http://jayneannkrentz.com/books-by-series/). Otherwise Engaged is straight historical (no PNR elements). I didn’t think it was that great. I am not sure what is happening with the Ladies of Lantern Street trilogy. I think JAK is taking a break with PNR in her JAK and AQ names, I hope she comes back.

    Also, just some info if you are not familiar with her works. The series title Curtain is just an umbrella term for a plot point JAK used to explain human space travel. So, there is no real connection between the St. Helen’s series and the Harmony series. St. Helen’s only contains the three books. Harmony is much wider and contains the Guild Hunters and Rainshadow (and also some stories from the Arcane series). All the books in the Harmony series are related and the different labels just clarify specific story elements, not a new series. I think it is a victim of over-labeling.

    The Lost Colony series is not really a series at all. All three of those books are stand-alones and are not related at all, but are grouped together (I guess) because all are set in some futuristic Earth-like place (but different for all three). I really like all three and recommend them.

    Both the Gift series and Whispering Springs series feature one couple in both books and wrap up in the second book with a HEA. But the first books don’t leave cliffhangers, so it is a enjoyable reading experience.

    Sorry for the long post! I just really like JAK 🙂

    • kaleigha says:

      No, that’s great. So I didn’t make any major screw ups, then? Goodreads was off on the numbering of some, or at least the numbering as I consider it, so I made my own a bit. I almost didn’t do the “Curtain” thing, since it was completely a mishmash of other series, but I figured what the hell. You are right, though, about the over-labeling. One book, four different tags? A bit of overkill.

  2. lisa says:

    I have never read anything by this author but have seen her stuff. What an undertaking for you. From this readers perspective, the confusion of the overlapping and multiple names and series is the reason I have never and probably will never pick this up. They could be fantastic but I’ll never know, I don’t want to spend the precious time I have reading trying to figure out the order of this author’s books. I wonder if they realize they lose readers this way.

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t read any of them, either, and actually confusion over what went were was a big part of that. I haven’t even really listed her works much on the blog because I couldn’t figure out what was going on. It is a bit daunting, isn’t it?

    • Lynn says:

      Don’t worry about the confusion and order thing. Most of her books can easily be read out of order or as standalones without major confusion because they are separate stories with different main characters set in the same world. Most shared story arcs are minor (except perhaps rainshadow) and well introduced. I read Obsidian Prey 1st and didn’t realize it was the middle of the series until well after I went looking for more books by the same Author. Same with Arcane. I found White Lies and Sizzle and Burn at a used bookstore. Read them in the wrong order and didn’t realize the extent of Arcane until I went looking for more Arcane books. I read Amanda Quick last because I liked the Arcane books so much.

  3. cheryl says:

    I read her stuff and like it but I got lost long ago on what pertained to what and decided to just enjoy the book and hope I wasn’t reading one in the middle of a story.
    Congrats on making the list… I know she has a new one coming out and hope I can remember the arc of stories around it. sigh.
    This author makes it a challenge for sure.

    • Cassandra B. says:

      The next one coming out is Hot Zone by Jayne Castle. It is a Harmony/Rainshadow book. It is directly connected to Canyons of Night, The Lost Night, and Deception Cove. I really only know that off-hand because I decided to do a re-read late last week.

      • kaleigha says:

        Like I mentioned in a comment above, I haven’t even kept track of her books on Wicked Scribes because I couldn’t figure out what was what, but I think I might be able to get a handle on it now. I really should add her upcoming PNR releases.

  4. Monika says:

    Great job! JAK used to be one of my favorite authors over many years, I liked her contemporary stuff as well as her historicals (particularly the ones set in the Regency period) and also her PNR stuff. For readers new to her I also would recommend the Lost Colony series (though Cassandra is right, they are all stand-alones), the St. Helens trilogy or the Gift series (though that one is quite light on the paranormal elements). I think from the above I would take out the Curtain list, since – as Cassandra pointed out – St. Helens and Harmony have nothing to do with each other (except the curtain reference). The Ghost Hunter series is also good.
    I think where it all started to go wrong for me was with the Arcane Society arc, because the stories are set in three different worlds, contemporary, historical and beyond the curtain and within those there are links you are supposed to get with usually three novels going together (one from each “period”), though she seems to expand on that (because why are there 4 books in the Looking Glass trilogy?). Also, the names have become a big jumble in my head, with all the Joneses and Winters running around in different periods, not to mention all the dust bunnies, which I can also no longer keep apart. When I look at my book shelf I see that I actually have practically all her books, even the new ones, but sadly I cannot recollect what they were about at all or who the protagonists were, whereas Simon Traherne and Emily Faringdon (Scandal), Annie Lyncroft and Oliver Rain (Wildest Hearts), and Verity Ames and Jonas Quarrel (Gift series) still stand out in my mind. I guess I will just re-read some of the “old classics”, luckily there are quite enough around as she is such a prolific writer.

    • kaleigha says:

      You think I could loose the Curtain thing? That would be a bit simpler, and simpler is good (I actually typed gooder. Lord).

      • Cassandra B. says:

        Yeah, I think you could lose the Curtain section if you want. I doubt many readers actually see a true connection. I believe it might be a GR invention more than anything.

        I think there is some awareness that her series have gotten out of hand with the cross-references between time periods. There was a comment in her newsletter a while back. I think she is going to try and keep her three pen names separate now.

        While it is a confusing, I have never minded it and I am a bit bummed that cross-references are likely a thing of the past. I really enjoyed reading a series that connected family and story elements that stretched over three different time periods. But there is a lot to re-read 🙂 While JAK’s website is neat, she doesn’t post much beyond what her next released book will be, so it is not clear what direction everything is headed.

      • Monika says:

        I just saw that JAK has a “Curtain section” on her own website. I am bit confused as to why she has the St. Helen’s books listed as #7, #9, and #10, because there is really no connection between the two worlds and the St. Helen’s trilogy was actually finished in the late 90s, before she started with the Harmony books (or more accurately, before they were published)…
        @Cassandra B. : it’s not so much the cross-references that bother me, but – even though I like JAK’s alpha heroes and feisty heroines – the protagonists lately just have started to blur into each other…

  5. Charry says:

    Thanks! She writes A Lot. She’s old school and will potentially release two or three books a year…one from each pen name. It makes it hard to keep track of her work if you aren’t vigilant. Plus she’s been writing forever!

    • kaleigha says:

      And the mix of genres can throw things off, too, from what I understand…historical, paranormal, contemporary…brain hurts.

  6. Emily says:

    This is exactly why, as interesting as some of the books sound, I haven’t touched any of them. It’s crazy! Looks like you figured it out, though. Good job!

      • Emily says:

        Me too. I realized I actually have one of her single contemporary titles on my bookshelf. I did a big purge of a ton of books a few months back, so the fact that I kept this one tells me it’s good. I only remember bits and pieces, but now it’s got me curious about her other books. This one is a JAK book called All Night Long and it’s similar to a Nora Roberts book with the murder/mystery aspect. Now that you’ve sorted out the different series, I can seriously add a couple of them to my TBR list instead of keeping them in the “maybe, someday” area in my brain. lol.

  7. Tina says:

    There’s a great website, FictFact, that gives you the order of book series. It’s really helpful for complicated series like this one.

    • kaleigha says:

      I never think of FictFact, even though I joined up when it first started. I think it is because I feel like I am stealing someone else’s work if I copy it here, as strange as that sounds.

  8. Dawn says:

    Personally, I would narrow it down and only keep the lists if they aren’t a part of another. So since Dreamlight is a part of the overall Arcane, I would get rid of that separate list (you do make a note of its sub series as it is in the larger arcane list), and so on. (This is actually how you sort of listed the Demonica/Lords of deliverance books by Larissa Ione as well.) Since Ghost Hunter and Curtain seem to describe overall elements of the books, and not the series themselves, I would also eliminate them. Doing this would eliminate some of the double listings, narrow it down, and make IT seem a bit less overwhelming.

    I had the same issue when I went back to do a re-read after so many of the Arcane Society and harmony books came out. I don’t remember how long it took me, sitting with them all around me on the floor, looking at pub. dates & trying to figure out what the order was! (And of course I can’t find that old list now!)

    Another website that might help is fantasticfiction.co.uk — and of course Wikipedia! Both have lists of the series, but unfortunately they’re separated by what name she wrote them under. I understand her original reasoning — one name for each genre — but I wish she would just streamline it now!

    • kaleigha says:

      That could work, too…the double listings for the Demonica/Lords thing was a good comparison, although on a smaller scale. Part of what is hindering me, too, is the fact that I haven’t read any of them myself, so I am not “in” on what goes where or what matches up. Kind of at a disadvantage that way.

Leave a Reply

