Reader Reaction – Dark Skye

dark skyeAs we get ready to pick the book of the month for September, I thought we might take a look back at this month’s book, Dark Skye. Kresley Cole‘s 14th Immortals After Dark book was released on August 5th, and I figure we have all dove in already.

I didn’t make any secret of the fact that I was underwhelmed by it, but I still can’t figure out why. I didn’t dislike it, nothing like that, but I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t like the backstory of Thronos and Lanthe – well, I liked when they were children together, but I didn’t like how Thronos suffered in the centuries after. That really took me out of the story, and I ended up not liking Lanthe much because of it.

If I am going to be completely honest, I didn’t have much excitement going into it. I don’t know if I was having a premonition that I wasn’t going to be too excited by the book, or my lack of interest made me not enjoy the book as much, but it wasn’t meant to be. I had no problem putting the book down, and it ended up taking me almost a week to read. Unheard of for me.

What did you think of the long-awaited Thronos and Lanthe book? Were you happy with it, or did it leave you wanting more?

15 thoughts on “Reader Reaction – Dark Skye

  1. Terri says:

    I actually liked it, maybe because it was so much better than the last two IADs. I felt so bad for Thronos thru most of the book, and think Lanthe could have/should have done more groveling, but overall…a good read, to me.

  2. emma says:

    I really wanted to love it, but it took me forever to finish it because it just wasn’t that engaging of a read for me. I didn’t dislike it, but definitely there was very little excitement for me. That being said, this is still one of my favorite series and I will read the next book.

  3. dougmeeks says:

    I have not read it yet but almost everyone I have talked to about it thought it was a 3 Star effort and not up to comparison with the other books in the series.

    • Cassandra B. says:

      I have gotten the same impression. I am a bit concerned that KC wrote in her newsletter that she thinks it is best IAD to date. Obviously, authors want to put their best foot forward and encourage people to buy their work. But still I am a bit worried about the future of IAD.

  4. Cassandra B. says:

    My interest in IAD hit the skids with MacReive’s book. I never got over reading the prologue before the book came out and realizing that MacReive began having sex at nine. The horror of this abuse was just too much for me. I did read the book but I didn’t like it. Besides my issues with MacReive’s childhood, I really hated how quickly he turned on his mate. I got his reasons and I believe it made sense, but I didn’t like reading about it.

    So, I wasn’t in the most receptive frame of mind for Dark Skye. I enjoyed it, but I didn’t love it and it has not renewed my love for IAD. I had no real problems with Lanthe, her backstory made sense to me and explained her actions. I also think it is neat that KC often flips the traditional female and male roles in romance (ie Thronos is a virgin and Lanthe experienced).

    My issues are more that I am wearing thin on the hate/love dynamic KC so often uses. Also, the short time frame, I think, is starting to hurt the series. For most of the series, the overlapping timelines and multiple layers were a draw and really interesting. Now I almost feel like the series is failing to move forward. So much has happened, but as there is no big picture (rather we keep getting bits and pieces through the different books that are all happening very close together in time), it almost feels like nothing is happening. I think that for the series to remain fresh KC is going to need to change it up a little.

    • alexandra says:

      I agree. MacRieve was extremely underwhelming. Chloe was a decent heroine but the overall plot was boring. I appreciate KC’s effort exploring a dark issue. MacRieve’s sexual habits and treatment of Chloe was understandable (even though I absolutely hated it). But I think if KC wanted to use his rape (since that’s exactly what it was – and at such an incredibly young age) as part of his past she needed to follow through with more closure. It felt like she dropped the ball there.

      On Dark Skye: I honestly think readers had to wait a bit too long for this book, and that killed excitement rather than build it. The overlapping timeline worked well at first (think Cadeon and Rydstrom or the Wroths). However now there seems to be a stagnation in KC’s overall plan for the series – whatever that may be. With at least a year between installments and several characters readers really want to see books for I think that hurts the series more than anything.

  5. Lydia says:

    As I said previously I just thought it was OK. didn’t hate it but also didn’t love it. I disliked Lanthe throughout the book. I’ll still buy the next one though.

  6. Priscilla Shay says:

    I have the previous two IAD books, but I haven’t read them. I was looking forward to Dark Skye and I did enjoy it. It may be because I’ve been out of the IAD world for a while. (I definitely enjoyed the Nix bits and think we’re getting closer to a Nix book!)

    • Cassandra B. says:

      I am a little worried about a Nix book. How can you have a heroine that can’t tell reality from the future? I know she is wicked smart, but she comes off so crazy. It is fun to read as a side character, but I am just not sure how it will come off as a lead. But whatever issue I may have with some of the books, KC is definitely a talented author, so I am sure she knows what she is doing and has a plan. I did like Lothaire and there were definitely some character obstacles to overcome 🙂

      • Priscilla Shay says:

        I’m curious about the Nix character because she’s not a romantic character in my head. I’m wondering how KC is going to swing it. I mean, Lothaire was more of a romantic character in my head than Nix is.

  7. whatmelreads says:

    Kresley is my favorite, but I have been dragging my feet to read this one! I have never been very excited to read Lanthe & Thronos’s story, but I can’t put my finger on why. Maybe I’m a little scared I’ll be bummed? Nothing can compare to Lothaire, for me.

  8. kaleigha says:

    I am in a way glad I wasn’t alone in my feeling let down by this one (well, it sucks, but at least I wasn’t just being bitchy, which is a relief). Here’s looking forward to the next one and a return to the glory days.

    The only way I can actually see Nix working is if her HEA quiets the voices in her head and mutes the visions, and that would make the Ascension a bit tricky. Maybe if she does actually become a Goddess, it would make her less whacky. But then less wacky Nix isn’t really Nix. It is a hard one to get a handle on.

  9. Monika says:

    I haven’t read Dark Skye as somehow I can’t get into this series. I read Myst and Nikolai’s story and that just didn’t make me want to continue. Reading reader reactions here on Dark Skye isn’t helping any either. I did immensely enjoy “The Professional”, though, which is kind of a contemporary erotic suspense novel 😉 . I can hardly believe the two stories have been written by the same author…

  10. alexandra says:

    I’m not one of the readers who had a lukewarm reaction. I actually enjoyed it a lot (I mean, it wasn’t out-of-this world amazing but just as good as other favorites from the series like Cadeon and Holly’s book). The enemies to lover dynamic Cassandra mentioned does get old, but one of the reasons I liked Dark Skye was the camaraderie between Lanthe and Thronos after they worked through some of their issues. Like Terri, it did seem like Lanthe didn’t need to grovel much after how she treated Thronos (yet another way KC ‘flips roles’ by having the heroine cause harm to the hero) but Thronos’ ability to forgive was really endearing.

    I think KC always does a good job balancing the similarities and contrasts between her leads and felt it was really evident in this story. I loved how Lanthe stayed true to herself. There was a lot of slut shaming in this book, and the religious undertones of Thronos’ culture really stood out. Some readers didn’t enjoy the slut shaming aspect but IRL I know men who are that dedicated to their ‘morality’ and I can’t imagine them ever being as flexible as Thronos was. Yes. He was a total ass about it at first but I honestly thought KC handled it perfectly.

    I also really liked all the world changing in Dark Skye (especially since it was via portal). My only quibble about that is that it felt a bit unfinished since so little time was spent in each place. The ending, too, seemed somewhat rushed. I suspect (or rather hope) we will see more from the Vrekeners in later installments. Nix did tell Lanthe and Thronos they have important roles to play…

Leave a Reply

