From Page to Screen…TV Style…Part II

the-mortal-instruments-tv-showA couple of posts ago, I asked what you all had thought about a recent crop of TV shows based on some series like Bitten and Outlander. Well, just today, I found an article over at The Hollywood Reporter that says there will soon be another one to add to the list…and it is one that I never saw coming – The Mortal Instruments.

The City of Bones movie was not a success, no matter how much I wished it had been. Even though the second movie was supposedly only postponed, continued silence on it made me think that the whole project was dead. It turns out that there were plans to take it in a different direction – to the small screen, instead. Constantin Films has brought on Ed Decter (writer-producer of shows such as Helix, Unforgettable, and In Plain Sight) as show-runner, with production set to begin early next year.

According to Constantin film and TV head Martin Moszkowicz –

“There was so much from the book that we had to leave out of the Mortal Instruments film. In the series we’ll be able to go deeper and explore this world in greater detail and depth.”

On the question of casting, from what I understand it has been confirmed that none of the actors who appeared in the movie will be making the jump to the tv show. I must say, that makes me happy. I am usually not one of those who actually gets too picky on the specifics of casting, but as much as I tried I just didn’t buy Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace. I can only applaud his devotion to the role, and the class he showed to all of those who got really personal about how he wasn’t “good looking enough” to play Jace, but for me he just didn’t quite fit. And the dour, rather humorless writing really didn’t do him any favors, either.

So, what do you think? I am quite liking this development, but with cautious optimism. If handled well, it could be one hell of a show – but that is a big if. Either way, I will be first in line to see how this one plays out. Now we just need word on the Dark-Hunters series from Sherrilyn Kenyon and the Fever tv adaptation from Karen Marie Moning to really get me excited.

2 thoughts on “From Page to Screen…TV Style…Part II

  1. PhoenixFyre says:

    Karen Marie Moning was with JR ward at her book signing for Immortal this past Saturday. And this question was asked of her:

    KMM Q: Are you going to sell the options to the books?

    A: The options have expired, and I’m actually happy about that, because I would prefer to see it as a TV series.

Leave a Reply

