Psy-Changeling and Charley Davidson Blurbs…

So, I spent the last 12 hours adding titles to the new release pages, updating all of the covers and blurbs on them, and double-checking all of the new release dates (which are all correct, according to Amazon, as of today). Imagine my surprise when I decided to pull my head up and find info on both the next Psy-Changeling book, and the eighth Charley Davidson book. Beauty.

First up, Nalini Singh has announced the title of Aden’s book will be Shards of Hope, and…and…the blurb…

Awakening wounded in a darkened cell, their psychic abilities blocked, Aden and Zaira know they must escape. But when the lethal soldiers break free from their mysterious prison, they find themselves in a harsh, inhospitable landscape far from civilization. Their only hope for survival is to make it to the hidden home of a predatory changeling pack that doesn’t welcome outsiders.

And they must survive. A shadowy enemy has put a target on the back of the Arrow squad, an enemy that cannot be permitted to succeed in its deadly campaign. Aden will cross any line to keep his people safe for this new future, where even an assassin might have hope of a life beyond blood and death and pain. Zaira has no such hope. She knows she’s too damaged to return from the abyss. Her driving goal is to protect Aden, protect the only person who has ever come back for her no matter what.

This time, even Aden’s passionate determination may not be enough—because the emotionless chill of Silence existed for a reason. For the violent, and the insane, and the irreparably broken…like Zaira.

Dammit, I don’t remember Zaira! Calm myself, this is why I am an OCD nerd who made a character guide. Yes. According to, well, me…

Zaira – Psy

  • first appearance in Tangle of Need
  • defected Arrow
  • born in Jordan
  • raised in an Arrow training facility in Turkey
  • believed to be lost in action 5 years ago
  • presumed dead
  • leading the Psy defectors in Venice
  • continues to struggle being outside Silence
  • late 20’s
  • petite
  • softly curved, icy coal black eyes

Yes. Niiice. I was hoping to get into the defected Arrows more (like the Forgotten). Amazon.uk lists the next Psy/Changeling book as a June 4th release, but no other official word, as yet.

And, as an added bonus, is anyone interested in checking out the maybe-spoilery blurb for Darynda JonesEighth Grave After Dark? Spoilers if you are not up to date…final warning…

With twelve hellhounds after her, pregnant Charley Davidson takes refuge at the only place she thinks they can’t get to her: the grounds of an abandoned convent. But after months of being cooped up there,  Charley is ready to pop. Both metaphorically and literally since she is now roughly the size of a beached whale. Fortunately, a new case has captured her attention, one that involves a murder on the very grounds the team has taken shelter upon. A decades-old murder of the newly-vowed nun she keeps seeing in the shadows is almost enough to pull her out of her doldrums.

Charley’s been forbidden to step foot off the sacred grounds. While the angry hellhounds can’t traverse the consecrated soil, they can lurk just beyond its borders. They have the entire team on edge, especially Reyes. And if Charley didn’t know better, she would swear Reyes is getting sick. He grows hotter with every moment that passes, his heat scorching across her skin every time he’s near, but naturally he swears he’s fine.

While the team searches for clues on the Twelve, Charley just wants answers and is powerless to get them. But the mass of friends they’ve accrued helps. They convince her even more that everyone in her recent life has somehow been drawn to her, as though they were a part of a bigger picture all along. But the good feelings don’t last for long because Charley is about to get the surprise of her crazy, mixed-up, supernatural life….

Eighth Grave After Dark has a release date of May 19th.

So, did anyone else get a pleasant surprise from Aden’s heroine? I had swore for quite a while it would be Alice, but that theory was shot down a while ago so I had no clue. Either way, let the countdown begin.

25 thoughts on “Psy-Changeling and Charley Davidson Blurbs…

  1. Cassandra B. says:

    Exciting! Thanks for posting the blurbs!! I don’t read Charley Davidson yet, but it is on my watchlist. Super excited about Aden. I didn’t see Zaira coming, but it makes sense. It will be interesting to see how two Psy deep in Silence will bond. I had some hopes for Silver (I think that is right, Caleb’s assistant), but it didn’t seem likely. I, too, thought of Alice and was bummed when Nalini shot that down a while ago. But Zaira seems like she has a lot of potential. The storyline also says really neat. I wonder if they are captured by Pure Psy? It also sounds like we might met new changelings. Psy-Changeling is at the top of my series list, but I didn’t love Shield of Winter. This new book sounds great.

    • kaleigha says:

      For some reason, I am thinking the Russian wolf pack for the Changelings. Snow Dancer and Dark River have both been “Psyed” enough that Aden could be relatively certain of, if not a warm welcome, then at least not getting his head ripped off at first glance.

      • Cassandra B. says:

        I actually had the same thought about the Russian pack. I think the blurb may just be trying to be mysterious because Snow Dancer would make a lot of sense to the storylines we have left hanging. But you are right, I think Aden would be wary of SD, but surely at this point there is some trust?

  2. Janhavi says:

    I avoided Charley blurb since its a spoiler. I *did* see Zaira coming, hee hee. At least, I was really hoping it was her and thought it was very likely. After SoW I really wanted Zaira so now I am very excited. Well, from the blurb the changeling pack could well be just Snow Dancer. I mainly think that because I feel this whole Arrow-enemy *has* to be associated with Ming. And Ming’s storyline must be wrapped up in this book since the story arc is ending, but that means that Sienna must also be involved— so the changeling pack is probably Snow Dancer. its a theory, anyway.

    • Cassandra B. says:

      Snow Dancer makes complete sense, not sure why I jumped to new group. I guess they are so much of the world to me that if it was them, they would be named, but a blurb would be vague. Also, Nalini has said that this book wraps up this story arc (I think I remember that), so it does seem unlikely that the Ming storyline would be left hanging after this book.

      • Janhavi says:

        The publishers seem to like mysterious blurbs- like the Ghost! lol. But I could be wrong, Selena Duncan’s pack in Moscow seems plausible too. Add Ming/Sienna just enter the story some other way.

  3. dougmeeks says:

    AARRRGGGGG! I am reading 7th Grave and No Body as we speak and I wish I had not read this 😦 I know I was warned but all I wanted was a peek 🙂 It is spoilerish in the larger sense but then again I stopped reading after about the first two sentences.

    • Emily says:

      I know you’re going to write a review for all of us poor people that have to wait ’til it comes out. Right? And FYI, I’m totally OK with a “spoilerish” review. 😉

    • kaleigha says:

      The spoiler is a slippery slope. I always want to just, you know, get a hint of what’s going on, and for some reason I always seem to drop in on the one sentence that gives everything away. The last time I read the blurb for the next book in a series I was reading, it started with something like “Now that X is dead and the something destroyed…” I was not amused.

  4. Emily says:

    Did you have to put both these blurbs in the same post? It’s more than my poor heart can handle to get exciting news on 2 series in my top 10 favorites. It’s kind of like Christmas, but better. And Charley better not let anything happen to Reyes. Maybe his illness has something to do with his being the son of Satan and living in a convent. Something about that just doesn’t mesh. lol.

  5. Monika says:

    I haven’t read Charley Davidson so far, either. I’m very excited about Aden’s story, although I wouldn’t have been able to place Zaira, either. From the blurb I don’t think it can be one of the well-known packs such as SnowDancer or DarkRiver, because I agree that Aden would be welcomed by both of them as he has certainly earned their trust. He has ties to SnowDancer thru Judd and Lauren and he saved Dorian’s life… I’m not sure about BlackEdge, my first thought was one of the little known packs, I seem to remember there was one (not sure whether it was RainFire or SilverBlade), somewhere in the North of North-America, quite remote and inaccessible; that would also chime with the “harsh, inhospital landscape”…

  6. Monika says:

    OK, had another look at the Character Guide and I was thinking of the RainFire Leopard Pack. It’s not in the North, but in the Smoky Mountains… I don’t know: would that qualify as a harsh, inhospital landscape?

    • kaleigha says:

      I imagine it could be, dependent on weather and such. I like that idea – we had heard about Alpha Remi before, and it would be a good way to introduce him and his pack.

      • Janhavi says:

        Plus Nalini has repeatedly said that (Remi’s book) will be one of the books in the ‘Season 2’ Psy-Changeling arc, so yes, this could be a great way to integrate it into the series.

Leave a Reply

