Burn For Me Review

I don’t think anyone who stumbles across this blog has missed the fact that I am super looking forward to Ilona AndrewsBurn For Me. Ever since I heard that there was a new series in the works from them, I have been excited, and the brief teasers and snippets that have been released have justified that excitement. Well, while we have just under two weeks to wait, Doug Meeks got his hands on an early copy and was kind enough to share his review.

burn for meWhat Doug said…

Ok, let me start by just saying it was freaking awesome, if you are surprised by this this must be your first novel by Ilona Andrews (or you are terribly slow)

This is a world similar to our own but different due to magical powers being discovered during the 1700/1800 period which has changed the course of the world drastically in places and less so in others. The magical world is broken up into “Houses” which kind of divide up almost any chunk of real estate (in this case it is Houston).

Nevada Baylor runs her own private investigations company and prides herself on having some honor and client loyalty, a trait not as in demand as you might think which is part of the reason her company is mortgaged to the hilt to one of the “houses” which plays into the plot in them being able to assign her a case she is most likely to fail if not die in the process. The person they want her to bring in is a magical person with pyromaniac tendencies and he is powerful.

Enter Mad Rogan, scourge of Mexico (they will tell you why) and arrogant and self centered as they come because he is one of the most powerful magical beings on the planet, I won’t bore you with how they get together (read the book) but they are NOT a match made in heaven or any place else but their evolving relationship is entertaining beyond belief. I wondered several times if I should go back and read book 1 of Kate Daniels and see if Curran was this bad when they first met.

The crux of the plot (outside of any romance or lack thereof between Nevada and Mad Rogan) is that her assigned target for capture can set almost anything on fire and has plans to do exactly that a LOT more and they have to stop him somehow. Throw in some near death experiences (USUALLY a good ice breaker for a romance) and some magical discoveries, this is an exciting story that never really allows you to get bored other than possibly the reader being more forgiving of Mad Rogan than Nevada is, although it should be mentioned she has valid reasons. (Suspecting him of government sanctioned mass murder ranks high on the list)

This is a story you are never quite sure where it is going and trying to guess will only make your head hurt. Excellent job of hiding some things until the epilogue, imagine my surprise, very nice touch. Never saw it coming at all.

Bottom Line: Exceptional story, multi-layered plot, intriguing characters that you really want to see more of, add all that to some nice little perks for veterans and you have a story that is hard to beat with enough similarity to our own world to make you feel at home just a bit (well a small bit minus the magic). 5 Stars, highly recommended which is actually more than I think I gave the first Kate Daniels book (but to be fair she had a horrible job of building a totally new world we had never seen). So go buy this book as soon as you can, no cliffhangers either I should mention.

Who else is on board for this one? It is my most anticipated read for the rest of the year, and most of the reviews I am allowing myself to peek at are overwhelmingly positive. Did I mention less than two weeks now?

19 thoughts on “Burn For Me Review

  1. dougmeeks says:

    The last page caught me by surprise , it was not a cliff hanger, it was the answer to a big question that was not answered in the whole book and she answered it on the last page!!! I gotta say I was like WTF??

  2. Janhavi says:

    Thanks Doug, for the non spoilery review. I am much looking forward to this, but since Archangel’s shadows is releasing same day I am picking that one to read first. My guess is that the audio for this will also be excellent.

  3. Catherine says:

    Now I know I’ll love it! I have bought every book Doug has recommended (eg. The Lycan Hunter ) and have enjoyed everyone.Some of them were already on my to buy list, of course, but then I knew I could take a punt on an author new to me if Doug had recommended it. Thanks for many happy reads.

  4. cheryl says:

    I have had this book on preorder since the day it came out. I can’t wait and thanks to Doug’s review I will be counting the days until is comes out.

  5. Monika says:

    Just finished it. As I love the Kate Daniels series I was a bit anxious as it’s always hard to measure up (especially to yourself). Boy, I could not have been more wrong, I not only like this book, but I love it. I also feel Doug might have slightly mislead us with regard to the Romance department, it’s true, theirs is not a match made in Heaven, and they don’t actually (technically) have sex, but they set sparks off each other and almost burn down the pages.
    My only question is how am I going to get my hands on an ARC of the second book in the Hidden Legacy series, because I CAN’T wait. Though book one did NOT end on a cliffhanger, the end was very unexpected nonetheless, and the sneak peek of book two has left me wanting more, right away.

    • dougmeeks says:

      LOL, I can only review what actually happened 🙂 While I am sure there is a great romance in the future, it was only barely started in this novel and I really wish I had time to go back and see if this is not following a line similar to Curran and Kate.

  6. peeeeaches says:

    I lalaloved this book……I did not want it to end! One I the better books I have read in a while. So stoked for the next one!!!!! I loved te chemistry it is fun to read when they dont immediately go into romance and sex but build up to it!

Leave a Reply

