Review: Seventh Grave and No Body

Thanks once again to Doug Meeks, who sent over his review of another much anticipated October release – Seventh Grave and No Body by Darynda Jones. Now, anyone who has read Sixth Grave On The Edge knows that it ended with quite the unexpected development. To those who have not read it yet…PROCEED NO FURTHER! Warning!

spoiler bannerseventh graveWhat Doug said…

WARNING!!!!! If you have NOT read Sixth Grave on the Edge then STOP reading, this will be a spoiler that you don’t want to read.

Now that I have your attention I should mention that you do not want to read the synopsis of book 8 either until you finish this book

OK, on the last page of Sixth Grave on the Edge we find out that our favorite Grim Reaper Charley is pregnant (which kinda came as a surprise to everyone), in this book keep herself and the baby alive have become a primary mission for Reyes(and Charley to a somewhat lesser extent it seems at times). 12 hellhounds have been released from Hell and they want Charley, Reyes does not know how to kill them (and neither does anyone else), add to this plot, Charley’s Dad is missing, add to that people who are writing suicide notes but leaving no body (hence the title). It is a real party for Charley and crew.

While Reyes would like nothing better than to lock her in her apartment with him as 24 hour guard, Charley is having none of it because she will go crazy if she even tries. Unfortunately, it does lead to some moments of TSTL for Charley which does not really help her cause.

A newswoman is getting a bit too close to Reyes for her comfort and jealously looks bad on almost anyone, Charley is no exception. Reyes wants her to stay away from the newswoman because he feels something is “not right” about her but when it comes to scummy reporters how do you tell.

I can tell you that I laugh more at this book than the last one which I thought was hilarious, the beauty is that Darynda Jones manages to do this without taking the edge off of the serious parts of this book, takes a clever touch to accomplish that piece of writing.

There are several surprises in this book, a couple are held to the last chapter, you will have a few questions that obviously are not going to get answered until next book.

The overarching story is for all practical purposes being serialized and while i have no problem with that it DOES mean that you cannot even read the synopsis for future books or you WILL get some spoilers that should be discovered while reading the book.

Bottom Line: This is a 5 Star novel, I will subtract a half a star just because I already knew a big spoiler just from reading the synopsis for the next book Eighth Grave After Dark. Still you gotta get this but again, books 6-7-8 look like they HAVE to be read in order or you will not be able to appreciate them as much as previous novels (which still should be read in order but was not a 100% requirement). There are a couple of quick plots that Charley takes care of that add to the entertainment level of this book. So 4.5 Stars and highly recommended.

I just ordered my copy, so I have a bit of a wait…and I just remembered that I still need to update the character guide for the previous book, too. Crap.

5 thoughts on “Review: Seventh Grave and No Body

  1. Shooken says:

    Ahhhh can’t wait till I read this book !! I didn’t realise it was out !! BUT AWESOME !!! Though when I found out she was pregnant, I kinda rolled my eyes…… lol I knew it was coming, I found that part a little predictable !

  2. Janhavi says:

    Well, I am definitely glad I avoided the 8th book blurb then. I picked up this series earlier this year when 6th Grave was the book of the month here at Wicked Scribes. I figure all your collective judgement was worth following and I was right 😀 Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

