Nalini Singh’s Rock Hard…

When word came down earlier this year that Nalini Singh had somehow, secretly, started writing a third series, I was completely shocked. Happy, but shocked. I almost passed it up, however, because stories where one or both of the characters are famous are never my favorite thing (as I said before, I find them too far fetched. Vampires? Sure. Celebrities? Not “real”). But, because it was Nalini, I read Rock Addiction and ended up really enjoying it.

Now, I know some people loved Rock Addiction, and some…not so much. But no matter what side of the fence you fell on, I think pretty much everyone can agree that Charlie and T-Rex pretty much stole the show. I was a bit bummed when I thought that maybe Charlie and T-Rex would have to wait until the rest of the band had their books, but not only are they up next, but Nalini has released the official blurb for their book, Rock Hard (Heh, nice).

In New York Times Bestselling author Nalini Singh’s newest contemporary romance, passion ignites between a gorgeous, sinfully sexy man who built himself up from nothing and a shy woman who has a terrible secret in her past…

Wealthy businessman Gabriel Bishop rules the boardroom with the same determination and ruthlessness that made him a rock star on the rugby field. He knows what he wants, and he’ll go after it no-holds-barred.

And what he wants is Charlotte Baird.

Charlotte knows she’s a mouse. Emotionally scarred and painfully shy, she just wants to do her job and remain as invisible as possible. But the new CEO—a brilliant, broad-shouldered T-Rex of a man who growls and storms through the office, leaving carnage in his wake—clearly has other plans. Plans that may be equal parts business and bedroom.

If Charlotte intends to survive this battle of wits and hearts, the mouse will have to learn to wrangle the T-Rex. Game on.

Now, it just looks like we will have to wait until next March to get it. Or, if you are like me and must torture yourself, there is a small excerpt over on Nalini’s blog

14 thoughts on “Nalini Singh’s Rock Hard…

  1. alixnoelle says:

    I am totally with you, I am really excited for Charlie and T-Rex’s book and so very happy we don’t have to wait “too” long for it!!

  2. Monika says:

    Kaleigha, I have the same reservations about stories involving celebrities as you. Vampires and Shapeshifters totally make sense in their universe, but celebrities are in the same universe as us, so they seem less “real”. Since I don’t know squat about rugby and any of its stars, Gabriel being a former rugby star bothers me less. I love the rock series, too, even though I think that from Nalini’s three series this one is the weakest, but that is still an endorsement.
    I just went over to Nalini’s blog to torture myself some and the excerpt is way too short…

    • kaleigha says:

      I have no clue about rugby, either, and at least he is retired from actively playing, so that helps, too. I was really glad that the excerpt seems to go back to the beginning of their story, rather than just take off where Rock Addiction left off. I want to see the scene where she tries to brain him with the stapler from their point of view.

  3. alexandra says:

    I didn’t make my dislike of Rock Addiction a secret and never bothered to pick up Rock Courtship but I am back on board for Rock Hard. I, too, tortured myself by reading the excerpt. I’m really looking forward to this one and will probably preorder as soon as it’s available. Since Gabriel is a former rugby player I’m really hoping for a shirtless cover.

    • Janhavi says:

      I didn’t like rock addiction either, but much much preferred rock courtship, you may somewhat like it. Looking forward to this one. (With moderate anticipation. Not with the mark the day on the calendar approach I have to shards of hope :D)

      • alexandra says:

        Tell me about it! I didn’t expect Aden to be paired with Zaira and then that amazing cover…and after the awesomeness of Archangel’s Shadows I’m seriously beginning to wonder how these books keep getting better and better. I’m really looking forward to closing the loop on some of those long running Psy-Changeling story lines so we can get to exploring other parts of that story universe.

  4. Emily says:

    Is March release a guess, or do we have an actual release date? I need to mark my calendar. I totally love this new series!

      • Dawn says:

        But it’s still in March! When Rock courtship came out I was hoping maybe this series would be rolled out more quickly. I hate the wait!

        And I wish Amazon would get updated — I still can’t find it listed as a preorder, even though there’s a link from GoodReads.

        • kaleigha says:

          I actually sneered a bit when I saw March, too. But then I realized that it is almost December (shudder), so really it is only three months or so, so not bad at all. But when you say it, it seems so far away.

      • snapdragon says:

        Right there with both of you…I just had to go and read the snippet. Gah! Now I’m just wondering what he’s going to say to Charlie while she’s taking a sip of coffee. I just picture her spitting it out all over him and his desk.

Leave a Reply

