Hidden Legacy Character Guide

Just a quick note to say that I have started a Character Guide for the new Ilona Andrews‘ series, Hidden Legacy (it is easier to start when the series is new than to go back later and try and do 6 or 7 books). I also removed the guide for the Mythos Academy series from Jennifer Estep, because I really just didn’t think anyone, me included, ever actually used it.

Oh, and does anyone think they want a guide for Nalini Singh‘s new Rock Kiss series? I have done her two previous series, so I wouldn’t mind keeping up and adding another, but I am not sure it is something many would actually use. Let me know if you think I should add it, since it wouldn’t take long.

19 thoughts on “Hidden Legacy Character Guide

  1. Judy V says:

    You rock! Thank you for starting the character guide. This is going to be an awesome series and I, for one, will need to keep up with all of the characters. Thank you.😊

  2. Emily says:

    I think the Rock Kiss series deserves a character guide. Come on, it’s Nalini Singh! And I don’t just mean that as Singh being a fan favorite around here. I mean the writing in this series is all her; translation: it is detailed in the world building and intense enough to suck people in even though it’s not paranormal. She makes a new world out of the lifestyle that is very similar to how she creates fantasy worlds. As more people step outside their comfort zone and give the series a chance, they’re going to fall in love with it just like her other 2, and doing the guide now will save you time later on. This isn’t your typical rock star romance.

    • kaleigha says:

      I know it sounds lazy, but it really is “easier” to start when a series is new. It is the same amount of work, but when it is a bunch of books at once it just seems to take so darn looong to finish.

      • Emily says:

        Exactly! I almost always reread an entire series in the weeks before a new release. I’ll have to start checking in with you when I do that to see if you need help with character guides. It’s a very daunting task to try and tackle a series with 20+ books, or heck, even 10 books is cringe worthy to try and catch up with. Speaking of which, are you caught up on the Lord’s of the Underworld? That’s my next reread, with The Darkest Touch coming out soon. And then there’s the final Dark Protector book (Rebecca Zanetti) coming out in December. It’s on my reread list as well.

        • kaleigha says:

          The Lords of the Underworld are actually on my to-do list, which is long, I must admit. I am hoping to finish up the Fever guide before Burned comes out ( I think I finished the second book), and, lord help me, I am going to give the Dark-Hunter series a shot. It will take 2015, and maybe more, but I am going to dive in.

          • Emily says:

            I’ll take notes on Lords of the Underworld as I do my reread in the next couple of weeks and hopefully you can get some use out of them. I bet my Samsung Note tablet has a way to transfer notes as I read and make it easier. As for Dark Hunter; that is my absolute favorite series. Let me know when you want to attempt it and we can share the work. I’d offer to do it all but you need some serious motivation to read that series. You’re missing out! That makes me wonder, though. How would you do a character guide on Acheron? All the books leading up to his reveal more and more about him, but if you put in the guide who and what he actually is, isn’t that a spoiler? I still don’t think we know everything about him. And there’s a lot of characters in the series that are mysteries like Acheron.

            • kaleigha says:

              That sounds good, about the lords. It will be a while until I get to them, but I find if you compare notes with someone else I always notice things I missed. The spoiler thing is tricky, but I put a warning at the beginning of the guide saying they might find some. It is a bit of a balancing act.

          • Dawn says:

            With the Dark Hunters will you also include the Chronicles of Nick? Or does that just make it too overwhelming?

            And have you considered guides for Jane Yellowrock, Dresden Files, or Chicagoland Vampires? All of these have had so many characters or time in between releases that I find myself forgetting who some of them are at times. But with so many other books to read, sometimes I find it difficult to do a re-read of a series even though I really want to!

            Out of curiosity, how would you approach a guide to Bianca d’Arc’s Brotherhood of the Blood/ Tales of the Were/ String of Fate series? They are all considered individual series, but are also intertwined with each other, and the events & characters from one are often referred to in another.

            • kaleigha says:

              When I do the Dark Hunter books, I will also include the Chronicles of Nick, too – but since I haven’t read either of them yet, I will probably figure out as I go whether it will be one big guide, or two separate ones. I do hope to get a Chicagoland one done, too, but that will be a ways down the line. I haven’t read the Bianca d’Arc books, but if there is that much crossover between them, I would probably consider them one extended series.

  3. jessica wimberly says:

    I would love a character guide for the rock kiss thanks so much!! I was going to start on one for the Hidden Legacy but you just saved me from having to do it. I can concentrate on other guides

    • kaleigha says:

      Sounds good. You do the guides, too? I think you are the fourth person that does that, too, so good to know I am not alone in my hobbies sometimes!

  4. Janhavi says:

    Hidden legacy will be great. Nalini Singh… I am not a big fan of Rock Kiss series but she is a huge favourite here. And it doesn’t have the sprawling mass of characters of GH or Psy Changeling… Ok I don’t know, I’m no help. Do it if it’s sorta fun for you, don’t bother if it’s a pain.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, at this point there isn’t a ton of characters, so it is not an immediate necessity. I can probably take my time and squeeze it in here and there.

  5. Monika says:

    I think it would be helpful to have a character guide for the Rock Kiss series, though at the moment the cast still appears very managable. What I really need, though, is a character guide for the Dragon Kin series, since I got completely lost in the new book as it seems that practically all of the characters from previous books had an appearance and with some I was struggling to place them…

    • kaleigha says:

      Good lord, isn’t the Dragon Kin series a monster? There isn’t one name that sticks with me, I swear. I seriously don’t remember anyone. I can’t even tell from a synopsis anymore if I have read the book.

      • Janhavi says:

        Lol! I picked it up based on recommendations here, and is very fun- a different, light hearted feel but I don’t even attempt to really keep track of overall series plot…

        • kaleigha says:

          I quit trying to keep everyone straight, and just go for it now. It is like Lord of the Rings…I tried so hard to keep everyone’s name straight in the first movie that I didn’t like it. I felt like I was studying for a test.

          • Monika says:

            I got a review copy of Light my Fire and I think it featured like all of the previous characters and I had a really difficult time connecting them and keeping them straight. Also, to understand how (and why) some characters act the way they do, you sort of need the background of their own stories…

Leave a Reply

