Hitting a Roadblock…

question markSo, I have hit what for me as a reader is a big pain in the butt. I am chugging along, reading Kelley Armstrong‘s Women of the Otherworld series (which I have really been enjoying), and then I hit a dud. Well, maybe dud is overstating things, but Haunted just isn’t doing it for me. It is the fifth book of the series, with the first two featuring the werewolves Elena and Clayton, and the next two featuring witch Paige Winterbourne. This time around, it is the, uh, ghost? spirit? dearly departed? Eve. So, total change in storyline, not much interaction with any existing characters (since only one can actually see or hear her), and lots of ghost-y stuff. Not feeling it.

Anyways, now the painful part…drag myself through it, or give up and move on? I don’t usually surrender easily, but I have been trying to get through this sucker for close to two weeks now and it just isn’t happening. But to NOT finish means perhaps missing details that will affect the rest of the series.

What do you do when you hit a snag in an otherwise great series? Do you keep reading, or just give up and move on to the next story and hope for better? Has this ever happened to you? If it has, which series?
19 thoughts on “Hitting a Roadblock…

  1. Emily says:

    I usually just push through so I don’t miss anything important to the overall arch. I have a friend who gives up the entire series in this situation, though. Not just skipping to the next book, but saying to hell with the whole thing. Even if it’s a favorite series. I’ve seen her do it at least 3 times and it drives me crazy! Acheron is the whole reason she quit reading the Dark Hunter series and it was one of her favorites. She also loved the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy, but swears to never read it again because she hates the casting in the movie the adaption. She’s nucking futs, for sure. Maybe I’ll start calling her Nix. I forget which book made her give up Immortals After Dark, and then Lover Enshrined ended her love affair with the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. This habit has made me want to strangle my good friend on several occasions. Skip a book, fine, but give up a good series over one dud just seems extreme. I believe in at least one more chance. For myself, I skipped the middle 75% of New Moon because it was too sad when Edward left. And I skipped over one of the Chicagoland Vampire books when Ethan was dead, too. But, in both cases, I went back and read them on my second reading of both series. It was easier to handle when I knew that those heartbreaking situations were temporary. Just go with your gut on whether to read, skip, or quit altogether.

    • kaleigha says:

      Wow, I think throwing in the towel on thew whole thing is a bit harsh, too. I have gone that far when I got a string of I think three or four books in a row that bored me silly, though. It was Christine Warren’s The Others series – loved the first probably 6 or 7 that I read, then there was a bunch that were really painful and I had to admit defeat. I figure I will probably do the skim-through, just because I am too OCD to maybe miss something.

      • Emily says:

        Yeah, 3 is my limit, too. Unless it’s like a 20+ book series and they weren’t consecutive. It’s got to be bad ones all in a row. Can’t expect to love every single book in a series. I’d go with your plan of skimming. Won’t miss anything that way but it minimizes the torture of the bad sections.

        • kaleigha says:

          I think so. Plus, the two weeks I have been circling the bugger have been annoying. I couldn’t make myself read it, but wouldn’t let myself start anything new until it was done. You would swear it was life or death the way I can carry on.

      • Abra says:

        I’m like your friend. I completely give up on a series if I am really disappointed by the latest book. The Dark Hunter series was ruined for me by Styxx and I don’t think I can even reread the ones I liked. There are a few other authors that I simply don’t trust anymore. I very seldom not finish a book, though. Actually throwing out a book is so incredibly rare (I can count on one hand how many times I’ve done it) that I have a ritual tossing of the book ceremony. It’s very solemn.

  2. jaime says:

    Overall I felt like the series was strong. It’s funny how different people react to each book. I loved Haunted because I thought the love story was bitter sweet. I was neutral on a couple of books. I would soldier through because she does throw Clayton and Elena in a couple more books. Love me some Clayton.

    • kaleigha says:

      Ah, Clayton…yes. Yes indeed. I even like the actor who plays him on the show, which is a total bonus. I think this one is just a blip on the radar for me, and I am looking forward to getting back to the regular gang.

  3. Nae says:

    I usually put the book down and intend to go back to it later.

    Overall I liked the series although there were a few books I was neutral on too. IMO you could probably skip Haunted and go on to the next book without missing anything too huge.

    • kaleigha says:

      I had actually heard others say that Haunted was pretty much stand-alone and could be dropped without missing the big picture. Good to get a second opinion, though.

      • Iain says:

        I’m pretty sure the only other book she makes a big appearance in is, obviously, Jaime’s book.

        Find a book spoiler somewhere and get the character developments quick and move on if you need to.

        • kaleigha says:

          That sounds about right…I have been doing a quick skim through, and while it is getting a bit more interesting I think that ship has sailed for me. Now, I am just hunting for stuff that might affect future stories.

  4. Sandy says:

    I have read the entire series and Haunted is one of the weaker storylines BUT..it is also the building of Eve and Savannah’s resolution in the final 3 books of the series.

    Don’t stop reading the series . Book 6 Broken focuses on the werewolves and book 7 features Jeremy and a love interest that remains throughout the series.

    Books 8 (Personal Demon) is another difficult read but brings int the Cortez Cabal which will affect Eve and Savannah in the final 3 books of the series. Book 9 Living With The Dead is, in my opinion, the worst book and doesn’t add anything to the series , in fact I am still stumped as to its purpose in the series.

    Book 10 Frostbitten brings back the werewolves. And books 11, 12 and 13 focus on Savannah , the Cartels and the end of the world. There is limited werewolf participation in the final 3 books

    If you get the chance …read Men of the Otherworld which focuses on Jeremy, Clay and Malcolm’s backstory.

    Also read Tales of the Otherworld which tells Clay and Elena’s tale- how they met and what happened.

    Hope this helps.

    • kaleigha says:

      Thanks, Sandy. I am quite addicted to the series, but to be honest I was a bit hesitant to see what storylines were coming up past the one I am reading. I am one of those un-lucky people who innocently want to find out what is coming up, and get completely spoiled. You know, the first line in the blurb is something like “Now that Bob is dead and Bill is arrested for his murder…” Argh! If it helps build the later storylines, I will give it a skim through for interesting parts. I just picked up Tales of the Otherworld, since I of course must own/read all connected novellas, but I can’t find Men of the Otherworld in the format I have been buying the books (UK strange sized paperbacks, which are really pretty all together). My hunt continues.

      • Redbutterfly says:

        Adding my two cents… If you really like this series you should read the YA series: Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising, they’re related to the Otherworld series. I loved Darkest Powers but didn’t love Darkness Rising, I liked it but it wasn’t as good as the 1st one.

        Like you I’m also reading the Otherworld series, right now I only read books 1 and 2, when I have more time I’m planning to read the rest ^_~

        • kaleigha says:

          I actually didn’t know that the YA books were connected to the Otherworld books…thanks! I have three or four of them, since I am trying to work my way through Kelley’s back titles, but I will move them up the list now.

  5. Sandy says:

    The book Depository has a paper copy of MEN OF THE OTHERWORLD for under $9 if you are so inclined.

    TALES OF THE OTHERWORLD has 2 stories of interest ..Clay and Elena’s backstory as well as Eve and Kristoff’s backstory. There are several more short stories in the book as well that gives some background on certain characters that have appeared throughout the series and will appear again.

    And don’t forget there are several novellas HIDDEN, (Clay, Elena and wolves)ANGELIC (Eve which will connect with the final storyline) BRAZEN ( Nick’s story-very disappointing but should be read after the series is through) Amityville Horrible (Jamie). And FORBIDDEN (new werewolf),COUNTERFEIT MAGIC (Paige and Savannah) as well as 2-3 more novellas releasing in November and December.

    The novellas I mention are NOT in the anthologies. TALES and MEN of the Otherworld are anthologies with 5-7 novellas each.

    • kaleigha says:

      I lied. I didn’t get tales of the otherworld, it was Otherworld Nights, the first of three new novella collections (Otherworld Secrets, the second book, will be out in August). I am going to pick up the other two, and between the three books should have a lot of the short stories covered. I hope.

  6. Kemelia says:

    Get on through it . If you are going to read the full series, there is information that is used in later books, about eves daughter, and eve later. Don’t want to give it away it’s all about her “promotion

  7. Jennifer @ The Book Nympho says:

    I’ve had this happen to me. If it’s a PNR series I will skip to the book since usually in a PNR series each book is a different couple. If it’s a UF series I’ll skim through the book since most UF series have an over all story arc and I don’t want to miss important details for the over all “big picture”.

Leave a Reply

