50 Shades and the D.U.F.F. Trailers

Two totally, TOTALLY different adaptation trailers have been making the rounds for the last few days, so I thought we could take a peek at them. The first one is for the epic 50 Shades of Grey. Epic as in probably going to be an epic disaster, or at least a trainwreck. But I have to admit, this trailer isn’t bad…and I love the music they have been using so far.

And this second one gives me a totally She’s All That vibe, but still looks like it could be fun. The DUFF is based on the book by Kody Keplinger’s book about the Designated Ugly Fat Friend…

Will you be checking either of these out? I have to admit, you wouldn’t catch me watching 50 Shades at the theater unless I went in disguise, but I might, and I mean might, catch it on video. And I think the DUFF looks like a good time – won’t be running to the theater on opening night, either, but it could be a fun flick to catch. Any new adaptations you are looking forward to?

7 thoughts on “50 Shades and the D.U.F.F. Trailers

  1. snapdragon says:

    The 50 shades story/movie does not interest me. I will not be watching. I have no idea what the heck D.U.F.F. is so (maybe?).

  2. Alyssa says:

    I’m really disappointed in The DUFF trailer, it doesn’t look anything like the book. The MC in the book didn’t beg the love interest for help to look hot. She didn’t need a guy to fix her and she didn’t tart herself up for guys either, she stayed the way she was. Ugh, it looks like another trite teen movie.

  3. PhoenixFyre says:

    I still wish that Charlie Hunnam played Christian Grey. Now that is a man that is totally HOt and worth spending my $$$ on. It is s shame they couldn’t wait to do the production till his contract was up with SONA. especially since he was their first chioce.

  4. alexandra says:

    I haven’t read either book and am not interested in seeing FSoG. The actress cast as the female leads looks like she promises to be as expressionless as Kristen Stewart in Twilight. I have a soft spot for teen movies (ahem the original High School Musical, Bring It On, The Princess Diaries, John Tucker Must Die and Pitch Perfect to name a few). Oh and 27 Dresses even though it’s not a teen movie. Can you tell I like romance? So I’ll probably see DUFF.

    I too, have never heard that acronym used but it does concern me that it will turn into yet another thing tactless teenagers who lack empathy will use to put girls down. I’m sure the Today show will do a feature at some point…

  5. kaleigha says:

    I think maybe, maybe if it had been Charlie Hunnam I might’ve worked up some interest for 50 Shades, but even then it would be iffy.

  6. Cassandra B. says:

    I have not read either book, so I have no real opinion on book vs movie version. I will pass on FSoG. I might see on DVD or digital later because I am mildly curious how the film handles all the sex. I actually enjoyed the DUFF trailer because it reminds me of She’s All That. But that lead isn’t heavy at all. From what I saw on Twitter, I think in the book the character is actually plus-size. I wish the film had been brave enough to cast a plus-size actress (although I do like the actress who is playing the lead). If you can ignore what the movie is telling us women are “suppose” to look like, it looks like it be funny.

Leave a Reply

