November Wrap Up…

This might be a couple of days early, but since things have been so quiet around lately I thought maybe we could take a look back at the month that was.

Personally, November was a truly meh month. There were a couple of highlights, but I spent a good portion of it trying to drag myself through one book. I was too stubborn to give up on it, and too uninterested to keep going. Tricky.

Haunted – This fifth book in the Women of the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong wasn’t bad. Not really. I just found myself unable to get into it. I don’t think I am  big on the whole ghost thing, I guess, since I found it rather dull. Maybe part of it was because there was so little interaction with the other characters that it read like a stand alone, too. It didn’t have the same feel as the other books for me, and while that isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it just didn’t work for me here. Now it is time to dive back in and get caught up on the novellas.

Night Shift – To be fair, I am judging this one based on only reading half of the stories (yet), but I thought the Ilona Andrews and Nalini Singh novellas in the Night Shift anthology were awesome. I don’t think I could pick a favorite between the two, but secretly I will admit that I was thrilled to finally see a softer side of Jim. This collection ended up being the highlight of my month.

And, other than a couple of random e-books that I don’t even remember the titles of, that was pretty much my pathetic reading for November. I am still waiting for my copy of Gena Showalter‘s The Darkest Touch and G.A. Aiken‘s new one, Light My Fire, but hopefully they will could towards a great December.

How did your November reading fare? Any standouts, either good or bad, surprises or excitements?

 

5 thoughts on “November Wrap Up…

  1. Tiger Lily says:

    In the Night Shift anthology I liked the Andrews and Shearin stories best. Good writing, great characters and interesting plot.

    • kaleigha says:

      I think I am going to try the Shearin story. I don’t really want to dive into a new series right now, but I have heard good things about it.

  2. Alyssa says:

    I loved the Jim/Dali story in Night Shift, it was so fun. I wasn’t a fan of Nalini’s story though, I found Bastien’s romance really clichéd.
    Haunted was probably my least fave in the WotW series too, like you I didn’t much like the ghost angle. The rest of the series is pretty solid though, I really loved the Savannah books at the end 🙂

  3. Charry says:

    I loved all of the stories in Night Shift. Interestingly the Shearin story was one of my favorites. Completely unexpected. The story was discussed briefly in the full length novel that is the first in the series but I’d forgotten. It was a fun read.

  4. snapdragon says:

    I finished the Jean Johnson Their’s not to Reason Why series with the book “Damnation.” It was a wonderful series and I’ll admit I cried A LOT the last quarter of the book. It was inspiring and crushing at the same time. I really hope she jumps off of this series and pushes forward about 300 years and does another series with the descendants from the first series.

    I am finishing “the Book of Life” on audio. I adore the writing in the books and the narrator does a outstanding job on bringing everyone to life.

    I finished “Blood Magick” by Nora Roberts it was a decent story but I would not by the series…it just did not hit the correct notes for me.

    “Garden Spells” by sarah addisen allen is a re-read with lots of humor and whimsy and enjoyed to book. The continuation book is coming out later in Dec. so I wanted a refresher read.

    “Touched by an Alien” Gini Koch – i laughed through quite a lot of the book and am really going to enjoy this series.

    “A Witch With No Name” Kim Harrison – Enjoyed the book and liked how the series ended.

Leave a Reply

