2015…A Look Ahead

Well, we took a look back at the year that was, so now let’s check out what is ahead for 2015.

What new series are you most looking forward to?
  • For this one, I am going to have to go with The Dark Artifices by Cassandra Clare. I love the Shadowhunter world, and the main character of Emma got a great start in City of Heavenly Fire.
Most anticipated new-to-me series for 2015?
  • Yep, I am going to do my damndest this year to tackle Sherrilyn Kenyon‘s Dark-Hunter series. There are a few others that I plan on getting into, too, but this monster is my main goal. Wish me luck?
Highest hopes for a second book in a series?
  • This one was a no-brainer – the as yet untitled second Hidden Legacy book from Ilona Andrews. When the first book makes your best of the year list, you just know the second book will be awesome. It isn’t like Ilona has ever let me down yet, either.
Most anticipated series finale?
  • I am lucky to be able to say that there is only one series wrapping up for me this year, and I am ok with it winding down. It is the Bloodlines series from Richelle Mead. I think I am ok with it ending because I suspect that there will be another series featuring Jill and Eddie down the line.
Top 10 most anticipated books of 2015?
Reading goals for 2015?

I have several, actually. I want to read the Dark-Hunter books, which is a monster goal on its own. I also want to finally finish the last book in a few series that wrapped up recently. My reading goal is going to be to read 120 books this coming year, or 10 books per month. I figure it is more reasonable than the 150 I had planned for this year, anyways.

12 thoughts on “2015…A Look Ahead

  1. PhoenixFyre says:

    Kaleigh,

    You will totally love that Dark-Hunter series. Just remember to have a case of Kleenex when you get to “Dance with the Devil,” “Acheron,” and “Styxx.” You will hate Styxx when you first read about him in both “Night Embrace & Acheron” but when you read his book you will understand why. SK can always get me in my heart when it comes to an emotional read. But you will fall in love with so many characters. And the fact that it involves Greek, Celtic , Native American gods makes it different.

      • PhoenixFyre says:

        You will love it. You will cry, you will get angry and you will laugh. A lot. SK’s books are definitely an emotional roller-coaster. Oh, and very steamy, lol.

        when I first read the series I couldn’t stop. Next thing I knew I read 18 books in no time. Ten I read The Chronicles of Nick. I love that series also. Nick is too hysterical. And that then lead me to The League. Another amazing series. i don’t know how the woman does it but addicted is the word for me. I have reread the all of her series over four times already.

  2. Charry says:

    I’m absolutely obsessed with Shelly Laurenston’s new Call of Crows series that will start with The Unleashed in March 2015. She is a writer that always makes me happy and the excerpt I read suggests this is going to be amazing.

  3. Lidy says:

    My most anticipated books of 2015 are Rock Hard, Shards of Hope and the next GH book by Nalini Singh. Okay, anything she writes is in my anticipated book list. LOL Also, Dragonbane and Defiant by Sherrilyn Kenyon. And the next IAD. And the next Lord of the Underworld – I’ve got this feeling that it’s Cameo’s turn. And a few non-paranormal books.

    Good luck with the Dark-Hunters. Are you going to read the Chronicles of Nick as well? If you like emotional books, “Dance with the Devil”, “Acheron”, “Styxx”, “Night Pleasures”, “Seize the Night” (my poor Val!), “The Guardian” and the short story “Phantom Lover” are tearjerkers. In fact, all of them are in a way. TBH, SK knows how to play with readers’ emotions.

    • PhoenixFyre says:

      I can’t wait for Born of Defiance and Born of Betrayal to come out since we will have two League books this year. Also Dragonbane and “Instinct” (not Defiant). SK changed the name about a year ago back to the “I’s”. I am also looking forward to JR Ward’s “The Shadows” since I love iAm. Such am honorable character. And of course anything by D.B. Reynolds. Her vamps are hot also. But these are my favorite series. Can you tell I am a Sherrilyn Kenyon fanatic, lol. I am rereading Dark-Hunter series again and Zarek’s book is next. It gets to me. But “Seize the Night” (Val’s book) is also very sad as that is when the series changed. My poor Nick. But it is nice to see his sarcastic younger self in CON. I miss his and Acheron and Kyrian’s relationships.

      • Lidy says:

        I’ve never read the League. Shame on me, but 2014 wasn’t my reading year (that damn college!). But I read the excerpts of both books and was like “I want it, my precious.” Maybe this year I’ll be able to binge-read it like it the Dresden Files. Or not. LOL

        I had forgotten about Instinct/Defiant. Can you imagine Nick any more defiant/lippy than he’s now? I confess I like CON-Nick way more… and it’s all because of the way he treated Val, my favorite character. That scene in Night Play when he tells Vane that Bride is precious… *fans self* and when Tabitha talks him into [insert spoiler here] Marla… 😉 I just love him. I began reading the series by the time “Bad Moon Rising” was published, but as I read Talon’s book, Val really intrigued me, so I just skipped all books until I read his (and got lost; WTF is the Destroyer?! Why is it important that this character’s died? and so on) and Ash’s, then made my way back and still don’t regret it. =D

        Back to Nick, I found him way more interesting in CON, and not only because of the series proposal, but merely because of his development. In DH, there were times when I felt like he was a child – an annoying one at that. And CON has a bonus, because Caleb’s the best sidekick ever. In terms of the Sherrilynverse (!), I only wish she’d publish another Dream-Hunter. She said Solin was up next. Grrr.

        Also forgot to add “Peace Talks” and “Winds of Winter” for my anticipated books, though I doubt WOW will be published before 2017. 😦

        • PhoenixFyre says:

          I love Caleb also. But I do like the old Nick in “Night Pleasure.” Kyrian’s book. Then in “Night Embrace” when he’s call’s himself Fido, lol. Fetch ths fetch that…

          It was “Seize the Night” when he changed. Won’t give spoilers since Kaleigh hasn’t read them yet.

          As for “The League,” you will totally love them. One of the main characters, Nykyrian, you will love him. He is a popular character and leader type in the series like Ash is. These books are full of action, steamy and funny but has your typical sadness to them also. A lot of abuses. But love the kick-ass action in them. It is a mixture of Sci-Fi/fantasy/ and PRN.
          If you love Val because of his struggles, you will love Darling/Kere Cruel.

          As for Dream-Hunter, I think she will get back to them maybe after the dragon’s since they are Were-Hunter.

          I just wish we had two Dark-Hunter books a year like before, ugh!

    • kaleigha says:

      Hard to believe Bloodlines will be wrapping up…what do you think the odds are on Eddie and Jill getting their own series, too?

      • tickledtk says:

        I’d be more excited to return to Rose or to have something written about Zemy. Lissa’s life may be interesting too. Lord Knows Sydney and Adrian messed that up in Silver Shadows.

        There’s supposedly some crazy, world changing ending to The Ruby Circle. That’s what I’m most curious about. Whatever that is, could change everything in terms of likely sequels.

Leave a Reply

