2015 Book Un-Haul…

One of my guilty secrets is that I watch book channels on YouTube. I am trying to better utilize my free time, but I can’t seem to shake the habit of watching bookshelf tours, book reviews and book haul videos. Maybe they make me feel better about my own addiction? Anyways, when they started on the “book unhauls”, I decided that I would do another one, too, since it has been quite a while since I gave the shelves a clean out.

I was quite ruthless this time around, if I do say so myself. Of course, there were a few more that could’ve gone, but they got a stay of execution (with the condition that I actually get them read by this time next year). All told, I managed to give almost 60 books the heave ho to start off the new year. Behold, the unhaul…

image

So, that is how I am starting my new year’s reading plans. How about you? Starting anyone new, or are any of the old ones giving up the ghost on your shelves?

29 thoughts on “2015 Book Un-Haul…

  1. April Wood says:

    Oooh lots of books. 🙂 What did you do with the books you un-hauled? Donate em to the library, gift them to friends, or just chucked em in the trash. 🙂 LOL
    And I see Twilight in there! Oh, I can see why you would want to purge that one!

    • alexandra says:

      No! Don’t throw them away! At least gift them to the secondhand store. One of my favorite things is finding used copies of my favorites for like a dollar or fifty cents.

    • kaleigha says:

      I used to donate to our very small local library, but one librarian always looked at me like I was passing her a bag of garbage or something. I then had to answer a series of questions from her about how old the books were, were they in good shape, that sort of thing (rather than taking a peek in the bag and seeing for herself that most of them were unread).

      Now, I give some of the mass market paperbacks to a friend of mine, and I donate the rest to the salvation army or a local used bookstore. I always hope someone else can get some use out of them.

      I actually am in the process of picking up the white versions of Twilight…never read them, so of course I must have two sets. But I just couldn’t resist the pretty, pretty white versions. Covers are my weakness!

  2. alexandra says:

    I’m actually currently doing the opposite of an un-haul. I read almost exclusively on Kindle but I want to acquire hard copies of my absolute favorites (of which there are, uh, at least 50).

    I did make a ‘shop my kindle’ bookshelf on Goodreads of the ebooks I’ve purchased but have not read. There are about 40 and I want to read at least 100 this year so it’s totally doable. One of my reading goals for 2015 is to get the bulk of those purchases (almost of all of which were free or on sale) read rather than buying other books (exception for new books in ongoing series and anything else I really, really want to read). Yeah, I think I have a problem, too. Note to self: don’t watch book channels on YouTube.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am doing the same thing (can’t have extra room for too long). I always get the hardcover when possible, and if the option for hardcover comes up I replace my original version (Patricia Briggs is done, and I am working on Kenyon as they come out).

      I had four different sizes for Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld series (large mass market, mass market, trade paperback and hardcover), so I got rid of them all and I have almost replaced them all with the pretty, pretty UK versions (paperback, but did I mention pretty?). I am also going to try the Rachel Morgan and Sookie Stackhouse books in the UK versions. And the best part? They are all precisely the same height. It makes my OCD soul so very, very happy.

  3. eilan578 says:

    Links for which Book YouTubers you watch? I’d love to check some of them out!
    I actually picked up 8 books today (both new & used) so I figured it time to get rid of some. Happy to say (after a super quick culling) that I have 22 books to be donated to the local Value Village!

    • kaleigha says:

      I watch Katytastic, Polandbananasbooks, and a couple of others. They do 99% young adult, but they are still fun. I also just do a search for “bookshelf tours” which is surprisingly popular. 22 to get rid of is good…makes room for more!

  4. Tina says:

    I am reading a book at the moment that really doesn’t cut it. And I hate that because I would rather spend my time reading something I enjoy, so I feel like I’ve wasted that time. I am in between books and don’t know what I want to read. How are you doing with the dark hunter series and what are you reading at the moment.

    • kaleigha says:

      Right now I am concentrating on Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld. I read a couple, then grab a random book, then head back to the Otherworld. I just read a YA contemporary called My Life Next Door, but it didn’t do much for me, either. So now I am trying a Katie MacAlister for a break. I didn’t get to the dark hunters yet, but it will be my target series after the Otherworld books.

      When I get one that I just can’t get into, I have the hardest time giving up on them. I will go days without reading at all because I won’t let myself give up, but I have no interest to continue. My goal for this year is to cut my losses and move on sooner, but it is still hard to do.

  5. PhoenixFyre says:

    I actually am collecting Hard Covers from my favorite series so I will donate my duplicates to the Library. My books are always in “New Condition”. Very protective of them.

    • kaleigha says:

      Mine, too. Mismatched covers, or a change in design part way through makes me nuts, so I am also re-buying some books I already have in a different format so they match. Jennifer L. Armentrout is one where there are different sizes and design changes, so I am going to pick up the UK versions of some of hers to level things out. I have to force myself to have some control and not buy them all at once, though.

  6. gingerpeyton521@gmail.com says:

    I am going through my books too. I have 4 bookcases of nonfiction and a 55 gallon container of paperbacks, a mix of mysteries and PNR, on the back porch. I love history, especially Tudor history and poetry and have several Norton anthologies of English and American authors; all hardbacks. And then there are books on both of my desks. Yes, I know I have a problem. I gave 14 boxes of books away this year; more are going soon to the local shelter and overseas to our troops. I should also mention that I have a lot of books on my Nook. I love your posts. Always interesting. 🙂

    Sent from my iPod

    >

    • kaleigha says:

      Thanks, gingerpeyton. Are you like me and it makes you crazy when you have to split your books up or pack some away? I thought about putting some in a bin for storage, but I just couldn’t do it.

    • kaleigha says:

      I gave a few to a friend, but most of them I am donating to the salvation army. Hopefully they can make a buck or two out of them.

  7. Lesley says:

    I really need to sort my bookcases too, I have so many unread books it makes me feel guilty just looking at them, I need to be more ruthless and realistic in 2015 about what I will actually read!

    • kaleigha says:

      I think it was the unread that really bugged me. I just knew that I would never, ever get to some of them, no matter how much I read, so I figured someone else might have better luck than me. I have been really cutting back on my blind-buys, and that has cut back on my TBR additions a lot. Plus, I have been trying new books on e-book format so that if I don’t like them, I don’t feel the need to keep up with the series.

  8. Terri says:

    I was thinking just the other day that I need to get serious about purging my bookshelves…and cupboards. I have several (okay dozens) that can go to the local used bookstore, then whatever they don’t want will go to the Goodwill. I have never been able to toss a book in the garbage…not even if it was total crap and deserved it.

    • kaleigha says:

      I admit, I have thrown the occasional book in the garbage, but man I felt so guilty after that I decided to not go that route again.

  9. Alyssa says:

    I love watching booktube too, especially unhauls and wrap ups, it’s so addictive! My fave booktubers are PolandbananasBOOKS,Peruseproject, Mercysbookishmusings, Littlebookowl, the Readables, and Jean Bookishthoughts.

    • kaleigha says:

      They are some of my favorites, too – I just wish I could find some channels that focused on adult titles as easy as young adult. I have found a few great series that way.

  10. gingerpeyton521@gmail.com says:

    I keep my favorite PNR series all together in a bookcase at the end of the hall. I have to be able to see them. It gets too hot here in the summer and stays between 90-100 degrees until the end of September. Yuma AZ is right on the border with California and Mexico. I don’t loan my books out either because all I do is worry until I get it back. I pick up paperbacks at Goodwill too and some are brand new. I am reading the Dark Hunter series and have half in paperback (Goodwill buys). Did not like the first book but gave the second book a try. What a difference. Each one is better than the last. On book 8 right now. Getting the ones I don’t have from the library but I like them so much I’m going to buy the whole series. I have read Fang’s book three times. I know I will read them again.

    Sent from my iPod

    >

    • kaleigha says:

      Heh…sounds like me. I have all of my books in my bedroom. Seven full bookcases. Well, six full and a backup for when I run out of room. I have to have my stuff all around me, all organized and cleaned. I just finished a cleanup of the shelves after the unhaul – that takes quite a few hours to do, but it is still fun.

      I am heading into the Dark-Hunter books this year, too. I bought them all in paperback, then I have picked up the re-releases in hardcover, too.

  11. Charry says:

    Last spring I was completely ruthless. I got rid of about 1000 books. Most went to the library. Some went to the salvation army. Originally I had books everywhere. Six double stacked bookshelves. Books were all over the floor, stacked up the walls, under beds , and couches. Boxes and boxes in multiple rooms. It was crazy. Now I just have one wall of bookshelves in an office room and another shelf in the guest room. I’m almost completely electronic except for those ones I couldn’t part with like my ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs…mostly hardcover. Also a bunch of childhood favorites. It was tough but very freeing.

Leave a Reply

