J.R. Ward New Series News…

Thanks to Pheonix, who sent over news that J.R. Ward has released some info about her long rumored new series. Well, this sounds interesting. It seems that the new series will actually be an off-shoot of the Black Dagger Brotherhood book, but be a throwback to the original PNR style stories like Dark Lover.  The new series will be called Black Dagger Legacy, and the first book will be called Blood Kiss (due out this December). That is the short version…long version in J.R.’s own words…

As much as I LOVE the BDB series where it is now, and as much as I’m psyched to keep writing it and will continue to do so, I miss the good ol’ days.
The issue is that the nature of a series is that it must continue to grow, and change, or it dies. The Black Dagger Brotherhood books started off with the original Brothers, but after their meet-and-greets with their shellans were told, by definition, they had to background it in subsequent books: With a world as big as the BDB one, you have to train your “camera lens” in a controlled manner, or you run the risk of a given story bleeding out for too much extraneous stuff.
(Something I’ve been tagged with doing from time to time, and it’s certainly a fair point.)
So when my boss (my editor) and I were chewing on things last spring, I told her… hey, I got this idea.
I have a lot of ideas. She’s used to this.
I described to her a new series, where the BDB training center is reopened to a new cast of recruits, and THE ORIGINAL BROTHERS teach these FNUGs wassup. In the process of the new recruits falling in love and getting into a sh*t ton of trouble, THE ORIGINAL BROTHERS could be shown with their shellans, their Brothers, their people in the mansion, in a more prominent way than I’m able to do in the BDB books.
Paperback, yo. Not hardcover. Traditional PNR, just like DARK LOVER was in the old days.
Sex. Lot of sex.
As in, you might need your BBQ tongs. Maybe a flame retardant suit.
Maybe a fire truck on standby out in your front yard.
My boss, who’s brilliant, was like, wow, that really doesn’t suck. (Okay, that’s paraphrasing.)
So… we have the first of the Black Dagger Legacy books, BLOOD KISS, coming out this December.
Now, let me say this: the ORIGINAL BROTHERS are still going to show up in the BDB books. Hell, yeah! And from time to time, a BDB book is going to be about them and their mate if there’s a big thing going on in their lives (think THE KING.) I am NOT taking a step away from the Brothers at all- if anything, I’m bringing them further to the forefront with the Black Dagger Legacy books.
But I miss my boys 😦 I want to show you where they’re at. I want to take you back to them- in their new roles as… well, role models and teachers.
Before you ask, yes, they will still be colossal a&&holes- I mean, let’s be clear. Things haven’t changed THAT much. (As an aside, Doc Jess and I were talking the other day, and she was like, I’m so impressed with your ability to be offensive with your heroes. LOLOLOLOL)
This is not to say that the Black Dagger Legacy books will solely be about the Brothers, however. The book will have a lot of the Brothers in them, but the Legacy books will feature a main romance between a couple, and the Brothers will help that along.
eHarmony the BDB way.
Jeez, I gotta be insane for signing up for this. Can you imagine V offering dating advice? “Well, sh*t, just get her some black candles and dog collar, true? Then order her to pop up her ***** **** * * ******* * * * ************** At that point, you’re going to want to inform her, that you’ll tell her when she can beg.”
Great. Really looking forward to this.
*sigh*
Anywho, the first Brother who’s up?
A certain cop. From Boston. Who’s going to have his hands full with the new recruits- two of whom you’ll meet in THE SHADOWS.
A cover reveal is coming soon- but I couldn’t sit on BLOOD KISS any longer!!!!
Gahd, I suck at keeping secrets. But come on now, don’t lie. You’ve missed those leathers, those sh*tkickers… that golf cart… the Pit.
V nakey in the shower.
Don’t lie.
I know I have!
Happy Reading, and thank you for all your support, J.R.
This is interesting, and really smart. I have heard of many who found the early PNR-style books were among their favorite stories, but the switch to a more Urban Fantasy style lost them along the way. Hopefully, this will bring the best of both worlds together and recapture the earlier magic.
Personally, I enjoyed both the earlier and later books, but I read them differently. When the change in focus from one main couple to a huge, multi-arc story started, it threw me a bit, but I quickly picked up the rhythm of the new books. I did miss the romance angle, but I enjoyed a return to the BDB world enough to make up for it. With this new series, we get both.
My only complaint, of course, is that it is back to paperback. Ugh – I just repurchased the original books in hardcover when they were re-released, and now it is back to paperback. Feel my pain! What do you think? Will this draw back some of the readers who dropped the series along the way? Were you hoping for something completely different, a new world and new set of characters, or does more Black Dagger appeal?
12 thoughts on “J.R. Ward New Series News…

  1. Cassandra B. says:

    I am actually really excited about this news. I enjoyed Dark Lover a lot and hung on on the first several books, but by Phury’s I was DONE. But I like the BDB world (other the Lesser POVs, always thought that was wasted space) and will be adding this to my wanna-try list. Thanks for the info!

  2. cheryl says:

    This is tempting and I, too, gave up after Phury’s story. I actually had the paperback version and threw it a few feet out of annoyance… rarely do that because I treasure my books. That one, arghh.
    I shall have to give this a try if it is like the first few books.

    • PhoenixFyre says:

      Cheryl and Cassandra,

      JR was upset by the way that book came out. I think she will redeem Phury in this new series. Yes, Phury’s book wasn’t great but then you had Rehvenge, John, Qhuinn and Blay’s books which were worth it. Don’t ever let one book sour your taste in a series. All authors have at least one-three books that will sour and then all of the sudden the series gets great again. Even my other favorite author Sherrilyn Kenyon has been through this with Retribution and Time Untime and looked what happened. Then Styxx came out and was the best ever.

      I care about the authors that learn from their weaknesses and acknowledge them and do something about it and JR is one of them and so is SK. Quality is important to them when they give us their amazing stories in worlds that we can temporarily live in. That is what I look forward to.

      • Cassandra B. says:

        I appreciate that you are a fan of J.R. and of the BDB, but it is not for everyone. While I enjoy the characters and the world, after Dark Lover the style was not for me anymore. Phury’s book just sealed it for me. I dropped in again on John Matthew’s book and another later book, but again the style isn’t for me and I couldn’t get into the story. If I abandoned a series just because I didn’t like one book, I would have left Lora Leigh’s Breeds series years ago.

        It is great that J.R. cares about the quality of her books and it is exciting that she is trying different things. An element I did very much enjoy in the BDB was the relationships between the brothers and it will be fun to be see that in the new series.

        • kaleigha says:

          The BDB stories got so huge and had so many different storylines and arcs going that it took some effort to keep track of. I actually wrote the plotlines going on in one book and I think it was something like 11, which was wild. I still like the latter books, but I usually ended up liking the background stories more than the main couple’s, which was strange.

  3. PhoenixFyre says:

    So far she has over 15,000 fans that are excited to get back to the Original Brothers. We do have to remember there is a war going on and the Lessers are increasing in size while we only have nine Brothers and two soldiers (John and Blay). Too have the academy open up again to me is going to be a hoot. To see these sarcastic personalities teaching and training will be fun. And we are getting a new romance per book in which some of the Brothers will help with? That is going to be so hysterical. As JR said, can you see Rhage giving dating advice? Or even Vishous giving dating advice. I am laughing hard on that one.

    I personally am very excited about it and obviously so is her 15,000 fans on FB from around the world.

    Yeah, Kaleigh, it sucks about the paperback but then who knows…maybe they will go hardcover eventually like some of the others have. I would also love to see Lassiter teach a class. That would be so out there, hehehe.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am so ready for Lassiter’s story, too. He is like the William (LoTU) of the Brothers. He isn’t the same, and no one quite knows what to make of him. Here’s hoping his story comes up soon, too.

  4. Terri says:

    I loved the early books so this new series sounds good to me. And I don’t mind paperback. I spent too much money when BDB went hardback just to find I didn’t like the story.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I just got those suckers re-bought in hardcover, too. Could be worse, I guess…could’ve been e-book only, which would have made me nuts.

  5. snapdragon says:

    I am on board for this! I read the later books but the first several books are my fave’s! I can’t wait to find out how the boys are going to handle all the anxiety and drama of basically highschool. 🙂

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep, so many have said the same thing – loved the first few, but lost interest after the style change. Hopefully this works to bring the original readers back.

Leave a Reply

