Vision in Silver Review…

I am still waiting to find out if I have been approved on NetGalley for a copy an early copy of Anne Bishop‘s Vision in Silver (along with a couple of others), but Doug Meeks has already done up his review. I am looking forward to getting back into the world of The Others, but this is one that I am going to have to go back and skim over the previous books to be up to speed before I dive in. It will be available in hardcover format on March 3rd.

vision in silverWhat Doug said…

What do you say about the third book in possibly one of the most original, addictive and exceptionally written series being published?

I will try to limit my use of superlatives but my first thought was that Written in Red was one of the best books in many years, Murder of Crows while being a 5 Star reading experience was missing that elusive “I can’t put this book down” quality.  Vision in Silver has recaptured that feeling that I had while reading Written in Red.

Seldom do many books live up to their own hype; this one did and surpassed it.  You may notice I am not giving a lot of examples because almost anything I can say about this book could be a spoiler other than Meg becomes more a part of the Lakeside Courtyard and is considered by them to be more than human and almost terra indigene.  The fact is that any action against Meg would be considered an attack on The Others which is another comforting thought in this world.  We do get to know more about the world in general and it is amazing just to consider the things that are fact in this world that would be mythology in almost any other novel you ever read.

Good things happen, bad things happen and you find out more about what The Others consider important and you keep wondering how the humans on this planet get so stupid at times.  You should never forget that The Others still are the predominate predators not to mention pretty much the owners of this world, the humans keep forgetting that bit of intelligence.

Bottom Line:  This is going to be one of the Top 5 Urban Fantasy novels of 2015, it is just too good for me to describe without sounding like a slobbering fan and not a reviewer.  To use an old cliché, if you only get one book this year, this is that book!

How excited are you to get your next The Others fix?

14 thoughts on “Vision in Silver Review…

  1. Monika says:

    Actually I am still waiting on my NetGalley approval of Patricia Briggs’ Dead Heat, the new Charles and Anna novel. I think this is one of the books I am most excited about for next month…

    • dougmeeks says:

      Dead Heat will be my next reading, I have to read it and Heartbreak Cove before the end of the month. I grabbed Heartbreak Cove (a contemporary romance) first and am reading it now then Dead Heat will be next.

      • Monika says:

        Lucky you! Though I didn’t expect it I like the Charles & Anna novels at least as much if not more than the Mercy Thompson ones. Heartbreak Cove sounds syrupy sweet; my reading tastes have evolved so that I’m not much into straight romance novels anymore, mostly I read PNR and UF, with the ocassional Romantic Suspense and Erotica thrown in…

  2. cheryl says:

    I can’t wait and have already re-read Written in Red and Murder of Crows.
    I have Dead Heat on pre-order and can’t wait for that one either.
    March 3rd will be awesome book day.

  3. MLTomlin says:

    Before Written in Red’s release, I was interested when I heard that Anne Bishop was writing a new series. I had concerns, would she be able to hit the high notes of her other series. And for myself The Others surpasses the prior series. The plotting for the entire series is so tight. And for myself Pocket Apocalypse by Seanan McGuire along with Visions and Dead Heat make March 3rd a day to start a week of reading (do not disturb).

    • kaleigha says:

      March 3rd was supposed to be the release day for the next Breeds book, two, but that was a couple of push-backs ago. Definitely was going to be a wallet breaker, that’s for sure.

  4. snapdragon says:

    I am so annoyed with my library system right now. I have put in requests and they have fallen into a black pit with no responses and not alot of action by any of the librarians I have spoken with. This book is one of those requests. Along with Ghost Killer by Robin D. Owens and several overs. Hopefully they will jump back on the pogo stick and get hopping. I know I can’t be the only customer being left in the dark.

Leave a Reply

