Blurb Triple Play – Blood Kiss, Shadow Kiss and White Hot

As much as I love covers, I also get excited to finally see the official back cover blurb of a book. I figured I would round up three that caught my eye and post them for other nerds like me, starting with a brief one from the upcoming second book in Ilona Andrews‘ Hidden Legacy series, White Hot, which will be out on October 27th.

Nevada Baylor and Connor Rogan are back in the fight against corruption and the dark forces of Houston’s elite. Once again, they’ve been drawn together to fight a common enemy, but something is growing between them, too. Something that’s becoming more difficult to ignore with every heated touch and meaningful glance. But with new foes rising from all sides and danger ever present, they’ll have to work that much harder to protect one another – and any future they might have together.

Way back in Lord’s Fall, I believe, I figured Graydon’s mate was going to be Beluviel. Looks like I was right, and Thea Harrison‘s Shadow’s End will be their story. It has a release date of December 1st.

For Beluviel, consort to the Elven High Lord, and Graydon, gryphon and First Sentinel of the Wyr, even the slightest desire for each other is forbidden. But two hundred years ago, after a desperate play to save Beluviel’s stepson left them indebted to the cruel Djinn Malphas, they found their fates inexorably linked together—and the hunger between them growing too strong to ignore…

Two centuries later, with their debt to Malphas coming due, Beluviel and Graydon realize that, if they are to stand any chance of saving their souls, they must once again work together—this time more closely than ever before. But every moment they spend with each other brings them nearer to losing something even more vital—their hearts…

And finally, when J.R. Ward recently announced her new series would in fact basically be a continuation of the original Black Dagger Brotherhood stories, most people were quite excited, including me. The first book of the Black Dagger Legacy will be called Blood Kiss, and it too will be out on December 1st.

Paradise, blooded daughter of the king’s First Advisor, is ready to break free from the restrictive life of an aristocratic female. Her strategy? Join the Black Dagger Brotherhood’s training center program and learn to fight for herself, think for herself…be herself. It’s a good plan, until everything goes wrong. The schooling is unfathomably difficult, the other recruits feel more like enemies than allies, and it’s very clear that the Brother in charge, Butch O’Neal, a.k.a. the Dhestroyer, is having serious problems in his own life.

And that’s before she falls in love with a fellow classmate. Craeg, a common civilian, is nothing her father would ever want for her, but everything she could ask for in a male. As an act of violence threatens to tear apart the entire program, and the erotic pull between them grows irresistible, Paradise is tested in ways she never anticipated–and left wondering whether she’s strong enough to claim her own power…on the field, and off.

So, that is it for this batch. Not much news on the White Hot front, but I don’t care. That sucker is at the top of my wish list, and staying there. I wasn’t a big fan of the idea of Beluviel and Graydon as a couple, for some odd reason, but since Graydon is my favorite I still have high hopes. And I am excited to return to the “Old School” BDB world, too, so all in all things are looking good. Which of these has you most excited?

12 thoughts on “Blurb Triple Play – Blood Kiss, Shadow Kiss and White Hot

  1. Cassandra B. says:

    Love the blurbs! Also excited for White Hot. Loved the first one and very excited to read the second.

    The Elder Races was a favorite series of mine, but I really did not like the last one (Night’s Honor). I didn’t connect with it at all and not sure how I feel about the upcoming one (Midnight’s Kiss) either. I didn’t see Graydon and Beluviel coming and I am not super excited about it. I will probably still read it, but not excited about it.

    Interesting blurb for Blood Kiss. While I no longer read BDB, I think I will definitely be giving this a try.

    • kaleigha says:

      I didn’t find Night’s Honor felt like it belonged to the Elder Races series, if that makes any sense. I guess it just felt disconnected from the rest of the books. There was a scene in Lord’s Fall where Graydon carries Beluviel out of somewhere, and my first thought was “I hope they don’t end up paired up”. And yup.

  2. Terri says:

    White Hot is my first pick, for sure. Lost my way in the Elder series, and the BDB went off the rails for me a few books back. Still, the idea of reading a story that feels like the “old days” of the Brotherhood? Well, that appeals, for sure.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am thinking that a less complicated BDB world story will be a treat. Trying to psych myself up for The Shadows at the end of this month, but I have to be in a particular mindset for it. So detailed that I really have to pay attention to not miss anything.

  3. Lisa says:

    Take me back to the old BDB world… The Shadows just did not light my fire. Thanks for giving me something to look forward to.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, not getting me revved up, either. Less so than other BDB books, too, for some strange reason. Looking forward to Blood Kiss, though.

  4. snapdragon says:

    All are on my radar but White Hot is on my personal “I can’t wait and I want to read the book NOW” meter.

    • kaleigha says:

      God, mine too. I was freakishly excited to get the first book, not even knowing anything about it, but my love for White Hot is a bit stalkery.

Leave a Reply

