Shards of Hope. It is Mine.

shards of hope arcYes, this comes off as bragging, and probably seems sad to those who get ARC’s all the time, but I still get so excited to find one of these puppies in my mailbox. Nalini Singh has been kind enough to send over a copy of her last three books, with Shards of Hope being the latest. I am just over 200 pages in, and it is really, really good. I like the big, bold stories (Kaleb and Sahara), but I also like the quieter, more personal ones (Ivy and Vasic), and this one seems to fall in the middle.

What can I tell you without spoilers? Hmmm. It is longer than Shield of Winter, with the ARC clocking in at nearly 500 pages. It starts off with a bang, and Aden and Zaira are in trouble from the start. We have to play catch up along with them to figure out what is going on, and who is pulling the strings behind the scenes. Aden is the heart of the Arrows, and his story so far focuses more on the squad than Vasic’s did. Where Aden is calm, focused on the good of his people, and determined to see the Arrows find their way in a world where Silence has fallen, Zaira is a bit of a wild card. And I am not sure I would like to meet her in a dark alley.

On the Changeling side of things, there is a bit of DarkRiver, a bit of SnowDancer, and even a glimpse behind the scenes of the Russian wolf pack. But the star so far has been the RainFire pack, headed by Alpha Remi. I was a bit meh on a new pack being introduced until the remaining SnowDancer changelings had their stories told, but RainFire was a great addition. Now I can’t wait to get more into them. And there is a pack-member of RainFire we have briefly met before in another story, and I can’t tell you why but I was so excited to see them again it made me like RainFire even more.

So, that is how I am spending my evening, with Aden and his Arrows, and one very scary leading lady. How about you?

9 thoughts on “Shards of Hope. It is Mine.

  1. Loverofromance says:

    That is awesome…I hope you enjoy it. I am excited to read this, but I get plenty of ARC so I am fine being patient. That doesn’t mean that I don’t feel a bit or a lot of envy. LOL

  2. Lisa says:

    I am sooooo jealous. However, you do so much for us you deserve to have some fun times too! Savor this for the rest of us as we wait patiently for our pre-ordered copy to emerge.

  3. Shannon says:

    Wow, cannot wait to read it! Congrats for getting your copy early. You deserve it for all the excellent work you do on this site.

  4. alexandra says:

    Just commenting to say I have no comment.

    Also, I have a feeling I’m going to love Zaira. It’s hard to find dark, complicated female characters that are well written, but I have high hopes.

Leave a Reply

