My Sort-of Pick of the Week

Yes, I know, the title is not the most glowing recommendation for a pick of the week, but there is a reason. For some reason, I am having a bit of a hard time working up my excitement level for the Black Dagger Brotherhood book, The Shadows. But, on the other hand, it is a Black Dagger Brotherhood book, which pretty much makes it a pick of the week. You see the issue? As I have said numerous times before, J.R. Ward‘s BDB books are a solid favorite of mine, but I have to be in the right mood to read one since they are so…full. So many storylines and characters and plots going on at the same time that I have been known to wait months before I get myself psyched up to read one. It is looking like The Shadows might be on Mount TBR for a while, too…

the shadowsSynopsis…

Trez “Latimer” doesn’t really exist. And not just because the identity was created so that a Shadow could function in the underbelly of the human world. Sold by his parents to the Queen of the S’Hsibe as a child, Trez escaped the Territory and has been a pimp and an enforcer in Caldwell, NY for years- all the while on the run from a destiny of sexual servitude. He’s never had anyone he could totally rely on… except for his brother, iAm.

iAm’s sole goal has always been to keep his brother from self-destructing- and he knows he’s failed. It’s not until the Chosen Serena enters Trez’s life that the male begins to turn things around… but by then it’s too late. The pledge to mate the Queen’s daughter comes due and there is nowhere to run, nowhere to hide, and no negotiating.

Trapped between his heart and a fate he never volunteered for, Trez must decide whether to endanger himself and others- or forever leave behind the female he’s in love with. But then an unimaginable tragedy strikes and changes everything. Staring out over an emotional abyss, Trez must find a reason to go on or risk losing himself and his soul forever. And iAm, in the name of brotherly love, is faced with making the ultimate sacrifice…

So, that is my convoluted logic. What is your biggie for this week?

9 thoughts on “My Sort-of Pick of the Week

  1. Emily says:

    I almost agree with you. Well, I guess I actually do agree. But , in my case, The Shadows will be read some time this week, for sure. Normally, I would have been up at midnight waiting for it to download and already have it read before going to bed tonight. But, like you said, there is sooooo much going on with these books. I’ve only read The King once so I really need to refresh my memory with a reread of it first. Most of the prior books I’ve read multiple times, but I read over 300 books in 2014, so I barely remember the secondary story lines from The King. I have to build myself up for two of these intricate BDB books. I completely understand your “convoluted logic”, but I am still hoping to read it this week. Or next. lol.

    • kaleigha says:

      Meh, I say that it might be awhile, but you never know. I have been reading a few pages of one book and jumping to the next for the last month or so, so maybe this one could actually make me focus. Hopefully I won’t need a flow chart to keep track of everything going on (I actually had to write down the plotlines in one book just to keep track one time).

      • Emily says:

        Hmmm, a flow chart might be a good idea for me. Or at least a few notes to help me remember. I think the multiple story lines are why some people have quit reading the series. But, for me, I look at it as getting several books in one. I love everything that’s going on; it’s just hard to keep up with at times. And I really am looking forward to getting into the world of the Shadows, rather than just the sneak peeks from the last couple of books. I love Trez and iAm. I hope neither one gets stuck with the bitch-queen.

  2. Deb says:

    I agree about the BDB books so I think I’ll start with the new Vampires in America “Deception.” Let’s see what trouble Raphael has gotten himself into . . .

  3. Charry says:

    I think for the first time with the BDB, I’m just gonna skip it. I’m not sure if I’m completely out of this series or not, but at this point I’m just too confused to remember who all the characters are and why I should care.

  4. PhoenixFyre says:

    I am in the midst of reading “The Shadows” and I am enjoying it so far. But gals, we have a lot of Rhage in this one. That itself makes it worth it. But for now I will not discuss the book since JR Ward has a ban on it for at least 10 days. But, because of what happens in the book she has put a SPOLIER BLOG up and if you want to read it it is up to you. I guess it explains a “why” when it come to the book.

    https://www.goodreads.com/author_blog_posts/8124484-the-shadows-spoilers-spoilers

    PS: I will give Kaleigh her yearly Big Q & A on Saturday sometime.

  5. kaleigha says:

    Finding out there is a lot of Rhage is a bonus, that’s for sure. It has been so long since he has had more than a passing sentence in a book that I have missed him (one good thing about the new series is that we will get both a new story and an old favorite).

Leave a Reply

