Alexandra Ivy’s Burned by Darkness

Alexandra Ivy has always been a consistent author for me, and over the years I have really enjoyed her Guardians of Eternity series. I was saddened to find out that she was done traditionally publishing the Guardians books, and it seemed that she was going the Lara Adrian self-pubbed route. That sort of made me a bit nervous, since I don’t like change when it comes to my books. But it looks like what really happened is that she just kicked her writing into high gear. She has a monster to be released list for the rest of 2015 and into 2016, and one of those titles is Burned by Darkness. It is the first book of the Dragons of Eternity series, a spin-off from the Guardians of Eternity series, and it is due out on June 30th.

burned by darknessThe Dragons of Eternity were once creatures of mist and legend. Now they’ve returned to the world, prepared to claim what’s rightfully theirs…

Tayla is desperate for a place to call home. After years on the run, the young imp impulsively buys a teahouse and is determined to build a new life. Unfortunately, she’s barely opened the doors when she’s tracked down by the dragon who purchased her from troll slave-traders. He demands she pay off her debts…in his harem.

Baine has devoted a quarter of a century to tracking down his beautiful concubine. And now that he has her in his grasp, he’s not about to let her go. But it’s soon apparent that he isn’t the only demon hunting her. He must uncover her secrets or risk losing her forever.

Purchase at Amazon.com

I had heard rumors of this one before, but I was surprised to find a listing for it…two months away. There are a couple of issues for me when authors I followed in print releases go self-pubbed – one, they are hard to get ahead of when it comes to keeping track of their new releases. Like this one, they just randomly pop up one day and are out before I know it sometimes. Two – I either have to wait for a print version in Canada, or build up an order through the American Amazon.com and pay a fortune in duty and shipping and exchange. At least I have given up my e-book snobbery and can read it when it comes out, then wait for the print version.

So, looking forward to more Alexandra Ivy? I am anxious to check out her take on the dragons (along with her many, many other upcoming releases, that is).

4 thoughts on “Alexandra Ivy’s Burned by Darkness

  1. cheryl says:

    It sounds very intriguing… I must put this on my tbr list.
    I assume authors go the self-pubbed route because they probably have more control and hopefully more money in their pocket.
    Thanks for the heads-up.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, it would really cut down the whole pre-publication time, that is for sure. I guess that is why she went from a couple of books a year to basically one a month. Which is great, as long as she can keep the quality up.

  2. PhoenixFyre says:

    I am saddened about the end of Cuardian’s of Eternity” but excited by her new venture. I love Dragons and always have since I was a child. It seems that dragons are the big thing in PRN now. As was in the past, vamps and were’s.

    • kaleigha says:

      I really enjoy the dragon stories, too. I do hope there will be more from the Guardians of Eternity world, as long as they are in print format. I probably wouldn’t follow the series if it went to e-book only, but I would keep buying the books.

Leave a Reply

