2015 Book Unhaul…Part II

On January 2nd I did a post where I focused on my 2015 Unhaul. I tackled my various book shelves, and I was pretty proud of myself for getting rid of around 60 books. Well, turns out that didn’t even make a dent in the pile. To my eternal shame, even after the unhaul I still had 206 books in my TBR pile. Ugh.

So, I figured that it was time for another unhaul, but this time a bit more ruthless than the last one. For this go round, I broke it into three different purges, with about 30 paperbacks being given to friends over the last couple of weeks, and this unhaul I did today…

imageAnd I still can’t take a decent picture to save my life.

Anyways, this batch is another 50 books, so my total unhaul will total about 80 books. And once again, just when I start to feel pretty proud of myself, I realize that I still have 190+ books on Mount TBR. I was hoping to get it down to less than 100, but I still have a ways to go. But at least it is a step in the right direction.

How is your addiction shaping up? Any headway on working your way through the endless mountain of books we all seem to collect, or have you surrendered to the endless TBR pile?

20 thoughts on “2015 Book Unhaul…Part II

  1. dougmeeks says:

    My Kindle saves me from having to post embarrassing pictures 🙂 I did this a couple of years ago or more when I finally converted over to pretty much 100% digital

  2. Emily says:

    That right there, is why I love ebooks. I probably have the same amount of books in my TBR “pile” as you, but because they don’t take up any room, I can remain in denial about my book addiction. And, I still have plenty of room for more!

    • kaleigha says:

      Ah, the sweet denial. I was doing well on the denial front until book cleaning day came up, and I really took a good look around. And individually cleaning and vacuuming the cat hair out of 900 books gave me a lot of time to look, believe me.

  3. kaleigha says:

    I actually have a plan I have been doing for a few weeks now, and it seems to be working. I get the e-book version of a book I am not sure of (new author or new series) and read that first. If I like it, I pick up the print version. If I don’t, I don’t have another dud on the shelf, and I don’t feel the need to keep buying them because the first one is already on the shelf. And, it cuts down on the TBR shelf, because I read them as I get them. Working so far, anyways.

    • Emily says:

      Every journey begins with a first step. Congrats on making that step into this decade. Hahaha! It actually took me a long time to jump on the ebook train, too. Sometimes I do miss the feeling of a real book, but each time I’ve picked one up, I inevitably switch back to my tablet, phone, or iPad. I tend to get wrapped up in a book, and the back lit screen is perfect when I want to pull on all -nighter, but don’t want to disturb my hubby by keeping the lamp on. Not to mention having every book I own with me every where I go. For some odd reason, I do still buy copies of my favorite series for the bookshelf, though. I guess books are my version of decorating. lol.

      • kaleigha says:

        Yep, I fought the good fight, and I know I can’t go full electronic but still it makes it easier to cut the string if I don’t like one. No pressure to keep going, you just delete and pretend it didn’t happen. And I will save money in the long run.

  4. Jennifer @ The Book Nympho says:

    I took two bags of books and audio books (on CD) to my library last week. I’m reading through my print TBR shelf and for review audio CD shelf. As I get a bag full I’m taking to the library for others to enjoy and clearing space in my house.

    • kaleigha says:

      It does feel good to declutter, doesn’t it? I don’t feel so guilty if I know that someone else might enjoy them, but I do wish people would stop looking at me so funny. Everyone I have given books to looks at me like I am nuts, and wants to know why I had so many books if I was just going to end up giving them away. Shut up and take the freebies, people. Jeesh.

  5. PhoenixFyre says:

    I have eBooks mostly also. But I only collect a few authors in hardcover. I have all of Sherrilyn Kenyons series, JR Wards, Lara Adrian, Kerrelyn Sparks, and Christine Feehan and Cassandra Clare. Most are also signed by the author.

    • kaleigha says:

      I don’t have any signed books, but I do get hardcover whenever possible. Unless they are young adult and pulled the whole “change the cover design after the second book” crap. Then I try and get paperback so they match. Buggers.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have to have “a plaaaan” for everything – including tackling the TBR pile. I swear I am one step away from a flow chart to pick the next book I am going to read.

  6. cheryl says:

    I have surrendered to the idea that the endless boxes of books and 3 bookshelves must be gone thru and either given away or given to the library.
    My hoard is from years of keepers and the last four years I have been getting mostly e books… saves room.
    Sadly my hoard is not on my kindle… must re-buy on ebook and that probably isn’t going to happen.
    Makes me wonder how I eventually acquired so many and I live in a small town so garage sale or library.

      • Iain says:

        They DO multiply when you’re not looking. It’s called new books in a series. It’s my form of denial. I KNOW most of the books in my TBR pile aren’t the latest book in their series, but until I get to THAT book, I can at least PRETEND my TBR pile is shrinking and not really still just growing.

        • kaleigha says:

          I am actually not letting myself order the latest book until I am caught up on the series. I feel all caught up, until I start looking around and realize that I am now three books behind in some series. Meh.

  7. snapdragon says:

    I sympathize with your plight. It’s never fun to have to go through books. When I bought my condo and was working on it and packing I ended up donating over 27 paper size boxes of books and I still have 3 bookshelves full of books. But I do so enjoy having a e-reader so I can keep the mess down. If I need a paperback than I get one from the library or grab one off a shelf. You just never know if there will be a power outage and the e-reader is not charged. 🙂

    • kaleigha says:

      I can see the appeal of e-reading now, since you can collect guilt free. I have to keep a pretty tight rein on myself, though, since I get grabby pretty quickly.

Leave a Reply

