Weekly Wrap Up…

booksI planned on making the Weekly Wrap up post a regular feature for posting either Saturday or Sunday, since usually the weekends are really busy for me and very little seems to happen to post. Well, I made it one week and totally spazzed out and forgot. I think that is a new record for me.

Anyways, this past week was pretty decent for me. I got back into Kelley Armstrong‘s Women of the Otherworld series after quite a long break, and finished up Clay and Elena’s arc with Frostbitten. I know there are many more stories left in the world, but it was the last full book featuring the two who started it all, and I was quite happy with how it ended up. Since I was still in an Armstrong mood, I started up Savannah’s first book, Waking the Witch, which is story 11 in the series, and begins the final arc of the series. I like it so far, and I am looking forward to seeing how Savannah and Adam’s story plays out.

Another very pleasant surprise was Thea Harrison‘s latest Elder Races book, Midnight’s Kiss. I was really underwhelmed by the last book, probably because I wasn’t a fan of the main character, Tess. Added to that was that it read more like a stand-alone than most of the other books, and I wasn’t a huge fan. That sort of colored my views heading into Midnight’s Kiss, but it ended up being a great read. The best part for me was that I ended up loving Melly, which was a real surprise. Heroines and I don’t always have the best relationship, but Melly was smart, funny, and completely relatable, and she made the book for me. It totally got me back in the swing of the series again, too.

The only downside for me was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. The reviews for this one have been glowing, but I just can’t seem to get into it. I put it down about a week ago, and haven’t picked it back up since. I am determined to give it another shot, so hopefully I will get involved and love it like everyone else seems to. Maybe I was just in a mood.

So, that is my week. How was yours? Did you start any new series, or finish up any old ones?

9 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. Charry says:

    I read the last book of the recruit series by Elizabeth Kelly. It was ok. It’s one of those off series that I was recommended on Amazon based on some other books that I read. I read the Thea Harrison book as well. It wasn’t my favorite. Gotta say, not a big fan of the “we’ve been captured let’s escape and have sex along the way”. I find that very confusing. But that writing was good as usual. I also finished Oracle by Michelle West. I love her books but they are crazy long and you’ve gotta be completely invested to tackle them. All in all, not a bad week.

    • kaleigha says:

      Sometimes you have to really be in the right mood to tackle the long ones…I have to get into the right mindset before I start.

  2. Leah says:

    I really, really liked A Court of Thorns and Roses, but it did take me a bit to get into it. I would definitely recommend giving it another go! The first half is fairly slow, but then the second half just takes off!

      • Leah says:

        It did take me a while to connect to Feyre, she was so hard and closed off in the beginning, but she does get better!

        • Charry says:

          I’m currently reading this one. I find it surprisingly interesting. I’m usually not a fan of obvious variations to famous fairytales. So I was prepared to get in a chapter or two and then have to toss it aside. But I like the author so I decided to give it a try. I’m really happy I did. Still reading, but enjoying.

          • kaleigha says:

            Good…the reviews have been really positive, so I am thinking that I just bailed out a bit before it hit the swing of things. Going to have to go back after Eighth Grave and dive in again.

            • Charry says:

              How’s Eighth Grave? Usually I’m up at midnight waiting for books in that series to drop. This year I felt….meh. I’m not sure why.

Leave a Reply

