The Shadowhunters

I was totally surprised by the speed things are moving on the upcoming series, The Shadowhunters, which is based on The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. The show itself was announced last month (I think), and pretty much all of the casting has been announced in the last couple of weeks…and filming begins on Monday. This Monday. Compare that to the long rumored Sherrilyn Kenyon projects that are supposedly heading to tv and theaters, and you can see what I mean. Yep, chugging right along.

I didn’t make much secret of my disappointment in the City of Bones movie. I went into it with huge expectations, but I found it cheesy, which was really a shame since I was completely prepared to love it. When I found out that there was going to be a series, I was a bit surprised, but this is growing on me more and more. And just to get you interested, a few photos are starting to make their way around…

This first one is a behind-the-scenes training shot with Luke, Jace and Simon…

screen-shot-2015-05-16-at-3-37-57-pmAnd this next one might be a little wonky-angled, but it is the first shot of Clary and Jace…

cfeuh3yueaazqjs-e1432158538101Call me shallow, but one of the things that bugged me about the City of Bones movie was how terribly frail Jamie Campbell Bower was. Sweet, and excited to be in the movie, but just so very thin and frail. Totally can’t say the same about Dominic Sherwood, since he looks like he could actually throw a punch and not snap in half. I don’t care about whether Kat McNamara’s hair is red enough or if Luke is black or if every feature lines up with the book version, but I do want a tough guy to at least look like a tough guy.

Oh, and on a related note, there have been all new covers popping up for both the re-release of The Mortal Instruments (both for North America and the UK) and The Infernal Devices series. Behold…

The UK repackage:

uk coversThe North American repackage:

the mortal instrumentsAnd the Infernal Devices:

infernal-devicesPretty? Yes. But this had better not herald a change in the overall design for the upcoming books, namely Lady Midnight. The Shadowhunter books are most beautiful covers on my shelves, and I will be seriously grieved if there is a design change for the new series. And by grieved, I do mean pissed. Royally.

That is about it for the Shadowhunter world. What is your take on the show, the cast, and and the new covers?

9 thoughts on “The Shadowhunters

  1. Josephine says:

    I am totally with you about the disappointment that was the movie and casting of Jace. Could not figure out what the draw was about him. I was just going to pass on the upcoming series, but you have me slightly intrigued. Maybe I’ll give the pilot a chance…

    • kaleigha says:

      I watched the original Jace on Youtube and he seemed like a sweetheart, but it did not translate well to film. Bad writing didn’t help, either.

  2. Isabel says:

    It was hard for me watch the film until the end, because seriously – Jace! And everything in the movie felt like over-the-top and left me cold completely.

    • kaleigha says:

      I tried a re-watch on blu-ray, but I got to the midnight flower kissing scene, when Demi Lovato or someone started belting out a totally random tune, and I was done. The eye rolling almost left me damaged.

  3. Sandy S says:

    Jamie Campbell Bower didn’t do it for me in the original movie. The storyline tells of an ‘angelic and beautiful ‘ boy with strength, muscles etc and Jamie was not the likeness I imagined while reading the series. Most of the new TV cast appears more to my liking but we have to remember this is a made for TV series and the producers are NOT going to use ‘film’ stars etc so the casting was bound to be completely different in appearance and type. My only concern is the actor portraying Luke. NO offense to the actor but it may be a stretch to get fans of the book to accept an ‘African/British/American’ actor to portray a character that was not black (to my knowledge) in the series. Artistic license sometimes is an issue for people when the producers go way off script…or in the case of the TV series BITTEN….do NOT follow the series at all….

    • kaleigha says:

      I have to admit, I don’t mind that Luke is black, but what might find tricky to get over is that it is the Old Spice Guy playing him. I mean, he will always be Old Spice Guy to me.

        • kaleigha says:

          Usually I couldn’t pick a commercial actor out of a lineup, but this poor fella is the one exception. Him and the dude from those e-harmony commercials, but that one is just because he reminds me of a perv.

Leave a Reply

