New Series Alerts…

This week is pretty decent for new series starting up, starting with Kate Baxter‘s new True Vampire series. Book one is called The Last True Vampire.

the last true vampireSynopsis…

Michael Aristov is the last of his kind and his race’s last true king. Pained by his failure to protect his race, he finds no solace in the dark nightclubs of L.A. But when a human woman sets fire to Michael’s senses, he is consumed with lust for her body—even more than her blood…

Claire Thompson has left a dangerous life of crime, only to be drawn into the world of the vampire—a world as dark and twisted as Michael’s soul. As ancient feuds reawaken, Claire must choose to escape the bonds of passion, or be consumed by desire…

Purchase at Amazon.com

Dianne Duvall‘s newbie is an e-book release called A Sorceress of His Own. It is the first book of the Gifted Ones series.

a sorceress of his ownSynopsis…

Since the day Lord Dillon earned his spurs, rumors of his savagery on the battlefield have preceded him into every room, stilling tongues and sparking fear. Weary of battle, he wishes only to find a woman he can wed who will approach him not with fear, but with the tenderness that has been absent from his life for so long. Yet only the wisewoman seems invariably at ease in his presence. Perhaps because she garners the same fear in others that he does himself.

For seven years, Alyssa has been by Lord Dillon’s side, counseling him from the shadows, healing him with her hands, and staving off the worst of his loneliness while his fearsome reputation keeps others at bay. Blessed–or cursed–with gifts that label her a sorceress, she is forced to conceal her youth and the love she harbors for him beneath umbral robes that lead Dillon and his people to believe she is the same aged wisewoman who served his father.

All is revealed, however, and passions flare when an enemy threatens Dillon’s life and Alyssa sacrifices everything to save him. When Dillon discovers that the wisewoman is far from elderly, he is instantly entranced. And, as he and Alyssa work together to defeat an enemy bent on destroying them both, Dillon will risk anything–even the wrath of his king–to be with her.

Purchase at Amazon.com

Next up is Clay and Susan Griffith with their book The Shadow Revolution. It is the first book of the Crown and Key series.

the shadow revolutionSynopsis…

They are the realm’s last, best defense against supernatural evil. But they’re going to need a lot more silver.
 
As fog descends, obscuring the gas lamps of Victorian London, werewolves prowl the shadows of back alleys. But they have infiltrated the inner circles of upper-crust society as well. Only a handful of specially gifted practitioners are equipped to battle the beasts. Among them are the roguish Simon Archer, who conceals his powers as a spell-casting scribe behind the smooth veneer of a dashing playboy; his layabout mentor, Nick Barker, who prefers a good pub to thrilling heroics; and the self-possessed alchemist Kate Anstruther, who is equally at home in a ballroom as she is on a battlefield.

After a lycanthrope targets Kate’s vulnerable younger sister, the three join forces with fierce Scottish monster-hunter Malcolm MacFarlane—but quickly discover they’re dealing with a threat far greater than anything they ever imagined.

Purchase at Amazon.com

And wrapping things up for this week is Lori Handeland and her new book, In the Air Tonight. It is the first book of the Summer of Witches series.

in the air tonightSynopsis…

In the small Wisconsin town of New Bergin, Rachel Larsen has never fit in. She’s adopted and everyone knows it. In a place where strapping Scandinavian farm folk produce children like bunnies, she’s also the only only child. To top it off, her hair is black and her eyes are brown in the land of the blonde and the blue. But what really makes her different are the ghosts. They’re everywhere.

Raye knows better than to admit to being anything out of the ordinary. But things are about to get even more extraordinary when a sexy detective from New Orleans, Bobby Doucet, comes to town to investigate a series of murders. He awakens things in Raye she never knew existed. And shows her the possibility that she has powers beyond her knowledge…

Purchase at Amazon.com

Which of these caught your eye? I will be giving the Lori Handeland story a shot, but in e-format to start with because she is a new-to-me author and I am being strong about my physical TBR pile. How about you?

8 thoughts on “New Series Alerts…

      • dougmeeks says:

        I was whining (yes, there is no other way to describe it) to some of my favorite authors last night about how hard it is to start a new book after a really great one, Ilona Andrews took pity on me and sent me a copy of Magic Shifts to review LOL. I think my dance card for June is filling up fast, I also have the new Shona Husk novel I have to get done before the 18th. Many people do not realize it but the vast majority of these authors are truly very nice people. I will just have to ask forgiveness from Lori Handeland for reviewing hers late but Shards of Hope was freaking unbelievably good. I had meant to get it finished in time to post it here but real life interfered and I barely got it doe before this morning.

        http://www.amazon.com/review/R2MCWS087RR3QM/

        • kaleigha says:

          Ah, the book hangover syndrome where your previous read makes everything else seem lesser by comparison. Wow, an early early Magic Shifts is a total score.

          The vast majority of authors I have had contact with have been both friendly and very gracious, which was a pleasant surprise. I think there is only one I can point to that left me disappointed (I guess I asked an annoying question), but then I no longer go out of my way to highlight any of that author’s work, either. It works out.

  1. S'Ann says:

    Well I am trying to re-read and get my feel back into parnormal series. I was nosing around in new adult for awhile but finally got my feel of them.. So I’m actually trying to re-read and get caught up in my favorite paranormal series again…..Last True Vampire sounds interesting. In the Air tonight sounds pretty good too, but I’m not a fan of ghost stories 😦

    • kaleigha says:

      I toyed with new adult a bit, too, especially since some favorite authors seemed to be starting new series, but I couldn’t get into the angst. Even Jeaniene Frost’s new series couldn’t grab me, which was a shame since I was looking forward to another type of book to read. I have only done one ghost book, and I was a bit meh on it, too.

  2. Kim says:

    I just wanted to tell you that it looks like there is a book description on Amazon about Kresley Coles, Sweet Ruin. I don’t know if its legit or not but I thought it might be interesting to check out.

    • kaleigha says:

      Oooh, thanks. I have been checking every couple of days for one, so I will definitely head over. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

