Kresley Cole’s Sweet Ruin Update…

Many, many thanks to Kim, who sent over word that the blurb for Kresley Cole‘s next IAD book, Sweet Ruin, had finally been released. I have been checking for info every couple of days, but Kim’s tip paid off. This one is totally out of the blue…

sweet ruinSynopsis…

Mesmerized by a beautiful supernatural creature unlike any he’s ever met, an immortal assassin is caught between desire and duty in this sizzling new novel from Kresley Cole’s #1 New York Times bestselling Immortals After Dark series, which RT Book Reviews declared “should be on your auto-buy list!”

A foundling raised in a world of humans

Growing up, orphaned Josephine didn’t know who or what she was—just that she was “bad,” an outcast with strange powers. Her baby brother Thaddeus was as perfect as she was flawed; protecting him became her entire life. The day he was taken away began Jo’s transition from angry girl…to would-be superhero…to enchanting, ruthless villain.

A lethally sensual enforcer on a mission

A threat to the Møriør has brought archer Rune the Baneblood to the mortal realm to slay the oldest living Valkyrie. Whether by bow or in bed, he never fails to eliminate his target. Yet before he can strike, he encounters a vampiric creature whose beauty conceals a black heart. With one bite, she pierces him with aching pleasure, taking his forbidden blood—and jeopardizing the secrets of his brethren.

A boundless passion that will lead to sweet ruin…

Could this exquisite female be a spy sent by the very Valkyrie he hunts? Rune knows he must not trust Josephine, yet he’s unable to turn her away. Despite his millennia of sexual conquests, he can’t ignore the unfamiliar longing she arouses deep within him. When Jo betrays the identity of the one man she will die to protect, she and Rune become locked in a treacherous battle of wills that pits ultimate loyalty against unbridled lust.

I headed over to Kresley’s Facebook page, and there was a little bit more info available. She said…

Background: I had a choice, either to start buttoning up the series to conclude, or continue on. These books are by far the hardest of any I’ve ever worked on. They take me twice as long, and demand buckets of blood, sweat, and tears. BUT I had this overall vision for the series that I haven’t deviated from and couldn’t shake.
—The Plan: leading up to the Accession, I’ll show Nïx as her enemies see her. We’ll have books from her adversaries’ POVs, including the members of the Møriør. To them, Nïx is a maddened arch villainess (we have been seeing her doing shadier and shadier things for several books). She and her bizarre allies must be stopped (we’ll revisit many of the previous IAD couples).
—Lead couple of this installment: Enter Rune, Møriør assassin, sexual weapon, and arrogant half demon/half fey badass. Only one female can keep up with him—street-smart Josephine (Thaddeus’s biological sister!), who’s a powerful phantom/vampire halfling herself.
—Their mission: assassinate Nïx. And the Ever Knowing One won’t make it easy for them!

I figured for sure it was Furie and Kristoff, or at the very least Munro and his mystery mate, so I was totally surprised by this. Not unhappy, but surprised. I don’t do well with hanging storylines, but then I haven’t been totally thrilled with the last couple of installments either so maybe a change of direction is in order. So, what is your take on this totally new couple? Are you disappointed that there wasn’t any payoff to the Furie and Munro teases in the last books, or are you happy with a new branch of the IAD?

14 thoughts on “Kresley Cole’s Sweet Ruin Update…

  1. April Brookshire (@AprilBrookshire) says:

    It felt like the romance has been darker the last few books, so this is just a natural progression into that darkness. I’ll have to adjust my expectations of the series. If KC needs to go this direction for awhile in order to give us top quality stories, then that’s fine with me, but I’ll hope that one day she’ll return to the sweetness of the Bowen/Mariketa type of romance.

    • kaleigha says:

      And hopefully finish off some dangling storylines. Although we did have to wait several books for her to return to Lucia and Garreth after their story first was introduced.

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t thrown in the towel, but I have to admit there has been a dropping of my interest. If you had told me a couple of years ago that I wouldn’t be ecstatic to get even a sniff of a new book I would’ve thought you were crazy. Now? Eh. Ok. Not doing a countdown or anything.

  2. renpuspita says:

    I want Kristoff and Furie, and since this book is about 2 new characters, I will not bother to buy the hardcover. Just wait paitently for the paperback

  3. I love Thad says:

    I LOVE the whole idea! While I look forward to Nix, Furie, Cara, etc. stories, I’m thrilled KC’s expanding in this way. If she’d closed out the open stories, then the series would be over. This way we get to enjoy past characters in supporting roles while she builds toward even more epic finishes for the ones we’ve been anticipating.

    And I hope this means more of Robert Petkoff’s Texas accent in the audio version.

  4. Crystal says:

    …Well, at least it appears to actually serve a purpose in the series. Still not sure what purpose MacReive served other than make us wait another year for Thronos/Lanthe.

    • I love Thad says:

      I agree, Crystal. MacRieve sort of left me scratching my head. The book seemed as much about connecting Preston Webb to the Veritas faction as it did connecting Chloe and Will to each other.

      Thinking on how Nix likes her halflings…
      With Webb’s Lore blood cocktail (and if he’s somehow redeemable), any future spawn would be unique and powerful.

  5. Janhavi says:

    I don’t know- I’m a bit worried the series is beginning to drag a bit, or at least the overarching plot line is going so slowly that at one book a year it will be another decade before its wrapped up..

  6. Stephanie says:

    I will def read this but I’m not very happy that Cole is introducing new characters considering she’s has a whole honey pot of original characters she can and should write about. It wouldn’t seem so bad if she was churning out two IAD books a year. I’m worried 😦

Leave a Reply

