Weekly Wrap Up…

booksAnother week has gone by, and I didn’t manage to keep up my previous reading pace (which is a bit of a bummer). I wrapped up Alexandra Ivy‘s When Darkness Ends, and I thought that the series ended on a high note. It had an interesting story (and secondary couple, too), lots of action, and a great lead couple. Going to miss this one, but I hope we will get some cameo appearances in the upcoming Dragons of Eternity series.

I also got caught up on the Women of the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong by finishing up the anthology collection Otherworld Nights. I did struggle a bit through this one, not because it wasn’t good, but because I think the finishing line was in sight and I wanted to move on to a different series. I am ready and waiting for my season 2 of Bitten, though.

And finally, I started a re-read of Nalini Singh‘s Shards of Hope for the character guide. I loved it the first time around, and that hasn’t changed with the re-read. Great new characters, new packs, and a strong romance made me a happy reader. Now we just have to wait how long for the next one? I am going to go out on a limb and say maybe Remy’s story is next?

So, how was your reading week? Do you come across any unexpected treasures, or re-read any great books?

9 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. Charry says:

    I read Shards of Hope, which I actually loved. I had some worries at the beginning but it quickly surpassed expectations.

    I also read the new Michele Bardsley book and Red Angel by Helen Harper. I’m excited about the direction Harper is taking that series. I spent some time trying to read the Mazerunner books in anticipation of the new movie. Still trying.

    • kaleigha says:

      Loved Aden, and his abilities. I do agree with some that Zaira’s rage got brought up a bit much, but l liked her character. And the RainFire pack was a total bonus. Winner.

      I toyed with getting the Mazerunner books, but decided to put it off until I actually watch the darn movie and see how I like things.

  2. Monika says:

    Read When Darkness Ends and really loved it. A few weeks ago you wrote that you like Alexandra Ivy, too, but that you don’t get as excited about her new releases as for instance with Ilona Andrews or Nalini Singh. I think I have to agree with you, nevertheless I really liked all of her books in the Guardians of Eternity Series and think they are quite a bit above average for the genre. Looking forward to the Dragon spin-off and might give ARES Security a try, too, or even look at her Bayou series.
    I devoured Shards of Hope more and less in one sitting and can only say that Nalini once again delivered. The only two little points of critique for me were firstly the implant: it felt a little contrieved to me (there was too little background on how or by who it was engineered) though I of course understand why it was necessary to disable Aden’s and Zaira’s connection to the Psy-Net, but I also didn’t understand what kind of information the Consortium hoped to gain from torturing Aden and how that would have furthered their goals (as opposed to outright killing him). Secondly I loved Remi and the RainFire pack and was a bit disappointed the connection seemed to fizzle out towards the end, but I am sure we haven’t seen the last of them. Also loved the Amplification thing, it’s a very exciting ability, especially the “Matrix-like bullet-stopping-and-reversing”.
    I downloades Cat’s Lair and made the mistake of reading some reviews and they all say it’s nothing but sex, sex, sex with no story whatsoever to hold it together and now I don’t feel like reading it at all. Still haven’t finished Viper Game either… I used to love Feehan and now I can hardly bring myself to read her books anymore, which is so sad. Truth be told I’d rather have no sex than nothing but sex…

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I have a sort of tier-system for authors. Top ones are Nalini and Ilona (and formerly Kresley Cole, who dropped down to tier two). Next down is J.R. Ward, Alexandra ivy, Gena Showalter, and that crew. I guess it is based on excitement level and whether I want to attack the mailperson to get my book from them more quickly.

      Ah, loved Remi, too. And I was so strangely happy to see Finn again all these years later. Actually, I would really like Remi’s book next.

      I have pretty much decided Christine Feehan and Lora Leigh have blended into one author now. It does seem like a real change in tone from her earlier books, though. Getting beaten over the head with sex-scene after sex-scene does get old fast.

  3. Janhavi says:

    I read AND reread Shards of Hope and seriously loved it. It’s threatening to displace heart of obsidian from my ‘favorite of the series’ spot.

  4. snapdragon says:

    I completely binged on M.L. Bushman’s Nightstalker series…such a great storyline. I really don’t care that Bushman is male he can seriously write a great romance/action story.

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t read any male authors in a long time, but I do have a couple on Mount TBR that I thought looked interesting. I am hoping for a good action story.

      • snapdragon says:

        Well there are several action authors that I read —

        John Sandford’s – Lucas Davenport series — Great narrator listening to audio.

        Steve Berry – His Cotton Malone series is a good read

        Clive Cussler — So many series
        — Dirk Pitt, Kurt Austin, Sam and Remy Fargo, Isaac Bell and my ultimate favorite series of his is the Oregon Files re: a ship of mercenaries that have crazy adventures keeping the world safe. I adore Juan Cabrillo.

Leave a Reply

