Weekly Wrap Up…

booksFirst, I am totally going to pat myself on the back. I have only added one new book to my TBR pile in the last month. ONE. Along with not adding to it, I have continued to weed some out that I just know I am never going to get to and donated them. AND, I have been actively reading from said TBR pile for the last few weeks. What does all that mean? I have finally, FINALLY, gotten down to less than 200 books on the TBR pile (190 to be exact). That is down from the almost 300 mark, which was a bit embarrassing. The goal is to have it below 150 by the end of the year.

Anyways, this week’s reading. I started things off with the new one from Lori Handeland (a new-to-me author). In the Air Tonight is the first book of her Sisters of the Craft series, and all in all I liked it. It was fast paced, there was a good flow to the story, and I am a sucker for the whole separated at birth thing. I will definitely be picking up the next one when it comes out later this month.

I also read my first Kelley Armstrong young adult novel, The Summoning. It is set in the same world as her Women of the Otherworld series, but this time around it focuses on a young necromancer who has no idea what she is, or that vampires, werewolves and sorcerers actually exist until she is sent to a home for troubled teens. I flew through this one, and found myself liking it just as much as the adult books.

And finally I thought that since I am having so much fun keeping an eye on the goings-on for the upcoming Shadowhunters show based on Cassandra Clare‘s Mortal Instruments series, I might as well get caught up and read The Bane Chronicles. Eh, I can take it or leave it, to be honest. Some stories are pretty good, others seemed a bit pointless. Magnus himself isn’t quite enough to hold my interest, so I tend to like the stories that more heavily involve other characters I already know, like Tessa or Raphael. I am still glad I got it, but you don’t miss much if you skip it, either.

Ok, that was me. What did you read this week? Winners or losers? Unexpected surprises? How it your TBR battle raging on?

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. dougmeeks says:

    I am finishing up the last book of the Lori Handeland trilogy and really liking it, the 2nd book as with most trilogies was the weakest but they have all been great reading IMHO.

    • kaleigha says:

      Good to know… I was hoping that the next two wouldn’t drop off, and I am glad they are coming out so quickly so that I can keep the storyline fresh in my head.

  2. cheryl says:

    I am trying to wear book shades so that the shiniest of new releases don’t tempt me.
    I have this bad habit of looking at my TBR pile and say meh … this new, different plot or up and coming author must be better than what I haven’t read yet.
    The sad truth is I will never eliminate my unread stack of books… I even manage to have a e-book stack along with my paperback hoard.
    You know if the e-reader dies I still have something to fall back on.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was horrible for grabbing every young adult new series that had a pretty cover for a while…it was a bit sad, but I put the shades on too. It helped a lot.

  3. Monika says:

    I have just the opposite problem: after having finished Shards of Hope everything else seems anticlimactic. I am at a point were I have nothing to read (except the two Feehans I just can’t bring myself to tackle). Since I like Alexandra Ivy’s Guardians of Eternity I tried Bayou Heat, but they are too short, too superficial, too little fleshed out for me. So basically I am looking for recommendations, preferably for a gritty UF series with a kick-ass heroine, a strong (maybe slightly shady) hero or even anti-hero. I don’t like YA. At the moment I am torn between giving Rachel Morgan, Elemental Assassin or Charley Davidson a try…

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t tried Rachel Morgan or Elemental Assassin yet, since they are still on the TBR, but I like Charley Davidson. Not sure you would find it gritty, but it it is fun. I just finished my Shards re-read, and I enjoyed it even more the second time around.

Leave a Reply

