Weekly Wrap Up…

booksThat time again. After what was admittedly a totally hellish work week, and the demands of my other time consuming hobby, I still managed to get a couple of books read. Yay me.

Anyways, I am still working my way through Kelley Armstrong‘s young adult Darkest Powers series, and I finished the second book, The Awakening. I am liking them just as much as the adult Women of the Otherworld books, which surprised me greatly. They are a fast read, too, which means I can blow through them pretty fast. Looking forward to getting into the last one. Of course, I must re-buy all of them in the British paperback version so they will be the same height as the Women of the Otherworld books. Of course.

I am going to try and get the Jane Yellowrock series by Faith Hunter caught up before the spin-off series starts up in October (?), so I thought I would read Blood Cross. I found that the first book of the series wasn’t bad, but it didn’t grab me and make me immediately reach for the next one. I ended up enjoying Blood Cross quite a bit more, probably because the world has been established and there is some movement on the romantic front for Jane. I also enjoyed the spotlight on best friend Molly and her family, so that was a bonus. Do I think it will get to a, say, Mercy Thompson level for me? No. But I still think it will be a solid, interesting read.

And finally, I am almost done a re-read of Christine Feehan‘s Air Bound, needed so I can get the damn character guide up to date before the next book comes out in July. I was surprised by the details of the series I had forgotten, but the inconsistencies in either my memory or the books themselves means that the correct birth order of the brothers is making me nuts. I have it listed one way from the previous books, but this one says something else. Meh.

Anyways, that was my adventures in reading. How did yours shape up? What did you love, or not love so much? Where does Jane Yellowrock fall on your reading scale?

4 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. dougmeeks says:

    Well Faith Hunter is gonna jerk you around a bit more until Dark Heir when she “seems” to settle things on the romantic front (but author’s tend to like to mess things up)

Leave a Reply

