Pick of the Week…and a Big, Big Thanks.

Let’s start off with the the thanks part. Way back when I originally started Wicked Scribes, I set it up basically for myself. I wanted something online to play around with, and something that would let me keep track of the books I had, the ones I wanted to get, and the ones that might look interesting. When I actually got my second follower (I think I accidentally followed myself as the first subscriber), I couldn’t believe it. I never thought there were many people who would be as interested in this weird little niche as me. Turns out I was wrong.

So, this past week, we hit 1000+ followers, which I think is amazing for a small little blog that started out as my own online organizer. Many, many thanks to those that have taken the time to subscribe, the time to comment, or even just the time to stop by and check things out. It makes the long hours I can sometimes put into it worthwhile.

On to the pick of the week. I know I am probably going to roll my eyes until I give myself a headache, and cringe more than once (ok, way more than once). I will rail against timeline inconsistencies and changes in backstory and appearance (dammit! He had green eyes in the last book!), but my pick of the week is still Lora Leigh‘s Bengal’s Quest. I mean, come on! It isn’t a Breeds story unless you snicker inappropriately at least a few times.

Bengal's QuestSynopsis…

He was a shadow, ever shifting and insinuating, able to blend in everywhere and anywhere. The elusive ideal conceived and created by the Genetics Council, he went by just as many names as he had identities—the last one being Gideon.

Now calling himself Graeme, he hides in plain sight, terrifyingly close to his goal. A rogue Bengal Breed, he has loyalties to no one but himself. And he has a need for vengeance that surges hot and swift through his veins.

Graeme plans to exact an extreme and ruthless vendetta against those who wronged him—Breed and human alike. All will suffer his wrath: those who created him, those who pretended to love him, and those who betrayed him.

That includes the one at the center of it all: a seductive, enigmatic woman helpless against the man whose desire is just as desperate as his need to destroy.

And he’s on her scent…

My copy just arrived today, in all its hardcover glory. It is prettier in person, thank god, since the picture of the cover is nothing to rave about. But it is finally Gideon’s story, so hopefully we can wrap up that whole beaten into the ground Amber angle and get back to Breed stories that don’t have Jonas lurking around every corner. I loved Jonas, but he has gotten on my nerves the last few books. And I hope for more on that new dude introduced in the last book…Rhyzan? Something like that. I still bet he is Cassie’s mate.

What is your pick of the week? Are you still on the Breeds train, or did you jump off a while back like I know a lot of people did? I feel like we are getting five Breed books a year now, what with Christine Feehan seeming to morph into Lora Leigh in my mind, but this one still stays a guilty pleasure for me.

9 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…and a Big, Big Thanks.

  1. Lisa says:

    Me too!!! (Guilty pleasure-yes!). And I love your blog. Don’t know how you do all you do, but it puts you right at the top of my list.

    • kaleigha says:

      Feehan and Leigh are both my guilty pleasure. And even though I know exactly what I am getting, sometimes word for word, I keep going back for more.

  2. alexandra says:

    Um, no. Thank YOU. I love this blog. I don’t remember being a subscriber but if you see your blog hits numbers going up it’s probably because I pop in a couple times every day to see if there is a new post 🙂

    Keep doing like you do!

  3. Loverofromance says:

    Congrats on 1000 followers!! That is so awesome! I have just loved your blog since I discovered it a few years back. You are always on top of paranormal and fantasy releases, I have no idea how you do it lol I am so excited to read it, I bought it today, so I hope to get to it soon hopefully over the next few days. Love what Leigh has done with this series.

  4. Emily says:

    Congrats on over 1,000 followers! Honestly, I would have expected more, though. You’re site is total awesomeness, and some really big authors have mentioned it. I’m pretty sure that’s how I found it. I guess I’m thinking of visitors, which is different than followers. I suppose only us obsessive types decide to follow after finding out you know everything! LOL.

    I’m looking forward to Bengal’s Quest, but haven’t started it yet. I feel like I need to refresh my memory of what happened in the last book first. I’m ready for the Amber storyline to be over as well. I love Jonas but you really can get too much of a good thing. At one time, Lora Leigh had on her site that the series only had a couple of books left. Do you know if that’s still true? I want books for Dane, Cassie, and Dog before it ends, though.

    • kaleigha says:

      Thanks, Emily! I just finished Bengal’s Quest, and it is a bit better on the editing front (still got a few, but not as painful as some previous books). What did bug me a bit was that there was a, maybe different spin is the best way to put it, on Claire’s backstory. Or should I say Claire/Cat formerly Fawn.

      Well, apparently there is only an end to this arc, but then a new one will start up. I am not sure if it will involve the European breeds which have been mentioned a couple of times, or something else. I am with you, though – I will riot without Dane, Cassie and Dog. And the new dude, Rhyzan, if he isn’t Cassie’s mate (which I think he is).

Leave a Reply

