Spotlight on…Christine Feehan

Right now, I am doing the updating for the Sea Haven Character Guide to get caught up (of course) before the release of the fourth book, Earth Bound. As I was nosing around online trying to find out if I actually missed the names of the sixth and seventh brothers (Viktor and Casimir), I found out some info on what is in the works.

Now, to say that Christine has been keeping an insane release schedule would be putting it mildly. After a long couple of years where her “secondary” series – GhostWalkers, Leopard people and Sea Haven books – took a back seat to the Carpathians, it seems she has been on a roll. For the Dark books, this year alone there is a novella in the Edge of Darkness anthology called Dark Crime, and the usual September release, Dark Ghost. Next March is yet another Carpathian story, this time featuring two couples (rumor said there may NOT be any lifemates in this book, but that seems like a fake-out), and the official blurb was just recently released for it. This one will be called Dark Promises

Lovers challenge destiny and risk their lives in the new Carpathian novel by the #1 New York Times bestselling “queen of paranormal romance.”*

Gabrielle has had enough of battles, of wars, of seeing Gary Jansen, the man she loves nearly lose his life when it isn’t even his fight. Once he was a gentle and very human researcher. Now he’s a fearless and lethal Carpathian warrior with the blood of an ancient lineage coursing through his veins—a man Gabrielle still needs and desires and dreams of with every breath she takes. All she wants is a life far away from the Carpathian mountains, far from vampires and the shadows cast by the crumbling monastery that hides so many terrible secrets. But Gabrielle soon learns that promises made in the dark can pierce the heart like a dagger.

And she isn’t the only one in search of answers in the corners of the unknown….

Trixie Joanes has come to the Carpathian mountains in search of her wayward granddaughter, fearing that she has been lured there by something unspeakable. Instead, Trixie has stumbled into the path of a desperate man and a woman in love and on the run. And they’re all fated for the lair of a mysterious ancient with revenge in his soul and the undying power to make bad dreams come true.

I am still not sure about having grandma in a story, but what do I know? And finally for the Dark series, we know that after that will be Tariq’s turn, and it will be called Dark Carousel (of the lost Dark Book. You can find the excerpt of it HERE)

The Ghostwalkers are a long, long time favorite of mine. They were actually the first books I read that got me into reading again after a years-long break, and the ones that hooked me on Paranormal Romance. I do have to admit that the last one left me feeling like I was reading a different series, and I expect that to continue in the next one, Spider Game. It has a release date of January 26th, and the blurb for it recently came out, too…

The Cajun dive in the middle of the godforsaken swamps wasn’t exactly Trap Dawkins’ idea of fun. But the GhostWalker wasn’t there for a good time. He was looking for her. Cayenne. It’s where she found her victims. Poor suckers. Then again, who wouldn’t want to leave a place like this with a woman like her?

It’s not Cayenne’s fault. Locked up, experimented on and never knowing kindness, she was bred this way—with a heart of pure venom. Trap understands her. He survived his own dark past and he shares her desire for getting even. But now Trap’s greatest danger is Cayenne herself. Because what’s inside her is hard to control—especially when it’s aroused by a lover as reckless as Trap.

I didn’t not like Viper Game, it just had such a different tone to it that it didn’t feel Ghostwalkery. I figure Viper Game will continue in the same vein, then hopefully we can get back to the basics. I hope. And maybe even a return to the original teams, if we are really lucky.

For the Leopard series, we finally have Elijah’s story coming our way this November in Wild Cat. And by finally, I mean he has been the character I have been most interested in since the start. But there is at least one more book after Wild Cat, since Leopard’s Fury has recently been announced as the title of the ninth book. No idea on who it will be about, but it must be Joshua’s turn by now. Right?

And then we head back to Sea Haven. There are two more books after next month’s Earth Bound. Fire Bound will feature Lissa and the as-yet unmentioned Casimir, and it should probably be released sometime next year. And it will be followed by Blythe and Viktor, in the as-yet unnamed book probably coming out in 2017. And I figured that would wrap up the Sea Haven stories.

Nope.

Christine has announced that there will actually be more stories set in Sea Haven. The hows and whys haven’t come up yet, whether it will be yet another magical branch or a return to couples we have already seen (or even a fast-forward to the magical kiddies). There hasn’t been any indication as of Air Bound where things would go after the Blythe and Viktor’s story, so that will remain a mystery for a while to come.

And as if all of that weren’t enough, there is a rumored new series on the horizon. Yep, I said it. Not only is Sea Haven NOT wrapping up, but there is talk of expanding into a fifth series. FIFTH. SERIES. Holy crap. Ok, this one is supposed to be called The Shadow Walkers, and according to Wikipedia it will feature an “Ancient race of Shadow Walkers from Sicily – GQ style, who live by their own set of rules.” Huh. Didn’t see that one coming. The first book is tentatively called Death Shadow.

That should catch us up on Christine Feehan for the next couple of years, at least. Feehan and Lora Leigh are the two authors firmly in my “guilty pleasure read” category, even though I know pretty much how every story will go and I will laugh at things that just weren’t meant to be funny. I look forward to them every time, even as I am shaking my head as I reading them. Have you stuck by Feehan through the years? Which is your favorite series? Did you expect to see a new series in the works, because I sure didn’t.

16 thoughts on “Spotlight on…Christine Feehan

  1. Loverofromance says:

    I am pretty excited for some up these upcoming releases. Christine Feehan also got me into paranormal romance, but it was Dark Challenge, Its interesting how the Ghostwalker series has changed, the last book I enjoyed, but it was so different from the other books. I am loving the Sea Haven series, each book keeps getting better!! I am so excited for Earth Bound.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, Viper Game read like a totally different series. It wasn’t bad, but just so, so different. Looking forward to Earth Bound, too, especially after reading the first chapter excerpt in the back of the last leopard book.

  2. Sandy S says:

    There is a ‘story’ behind the ‘Trixie Joanes’ character. I am a member on Christine Feehan’s interactive website, and one of her most active members is a woman named Joan aka “Trixie’. Joan is an alpha member on the site and she does tend to express her opinions rather ‘loudly’. Last year, Joan became a grandmother, and gushed about her happiness constantly. Joan is very vocal on the site, and goes head to head with many of the other members. She and CF have an interesting respect for one another as Joan is NOT a big fan of Gabrielle and Gary. In fact, her dislike for this couple, is well known on the site and she has wished these characters an early demise. In response, CF has written Joan aka Trixie into her storylines….lol

    • kaleigha says:

      That is a funny inside joke, actually. I love me my series, too, but sometimes the uber-rabid (and really vocal) fans can rub on my last nerve.

  3. cheryl says:

    I have a few favorites in the Carpathian series: Dark Demon, Dark Slayer and Dark Destiny. However, my absolute favorites are the Ghostwalker series followed by the Sisters stories: Drake Sisters and Sisters of the Heart.
    That is alot of books coming out…. makes me wonder if she has helpers. I think you would need someone to coordinate that much writing.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have heard that her kids help with research and stuff, but the sheer volume and rather dramatic change in tone does make you wonder how much help there is.

  4. Delia says:

    I started reading CF when I encountered her Dark series, loved them. I have read each of her series and my favorites are the Drakes and Sea Haven series. I just love the storylines. I am so excited to hear she has more ideas for the future of Sea Haven. I always thought that there might be other people with magical powers who have not made their way to Sea Haven yet.

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually wouldn’t mind seeing more from Sea Haven, either. I am going to keep an eye out to see if there is any hints of where the new stories will come from.

  5. Erin S. Burns says:

    I’ve been desperately trying to figure out a way to get rid of this hold CF has on me. I don’t think I’ve really LOVED anything since Water Bound. With the number of releases and how strange Viper Game was, it is definitely edging me into the conspiracy theory camp with the rest of the people who believe she has a ghost writer.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have tried to fight it, too, but it just doesn’t help. She might not be my number one author anymore, but I still can’t shake the addiction. Lost cause.

        • kaleigha says:

          Yeah, Cat’s Lair was basically another Breeds book, at least for me. I was surprised to see a totally new couple rather than, say, Elijah get his turn.

  6. snapdragon says:

    I really like her early Dark books especially Dark Fire and Dark Guardian. And I adore the Sea Heaven books and am eagerly waiting for Earth Bound to arrive. Viper game just…sucked to me. Hopefully things will start to improve but i figure after so many books there are bound to be duds in the collection.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am actually figuring Spider Game will read much like Viper Game. Not sure why, but I just have a hunch. Maybe it is just a symptom of the stripper-pole cover making me think that, though.

  7. Monika says:

    so sad, I have given up on CF. She used to be one of my favorite PNR authors, I like all her early books of the different series, but I think the last book I wholeheartedly loved was Dark Slayer…I haven’t finished Viper Game and though I downloaded it, I haven’t even started Cat’s Lair…

Leave a Reply

