July’s Book of the Month…

Well, June was pretty much a foregone conclusion that Nalini Singh would win, it was just a matter of by how much. This month, I actually had a hard time trying to find 10 to chose from. The upside is that I can continue to whittle down the TBR pile. If you have another pick just click on “Other” and leave your selection in the comments section below. A complete list of July’s releases can be found HERE.

Just a note. Books like Lara Adrian’s Bound to Darkness, Alexandra Ivy’s Stolen and Forgiven, and Elizabeth Hunter’s The Scarlet Deep are only available in print format through Amazon.com, so I can’t offer them as a selection because this giveaway is international. Between not-in-print and e-book only selections, there isn’t much to choose from this week.

As always, the title picked as the book of the month will be offered as the next giveaway item.

12 thoughts on “July’s Book of the Month…

  1. cheryl says:

    I mostly buy e book just to get releases quicker but I am slowly going back to paperback because the increase in price of e books is ridiculous. I don’t know if publishing houses got a racket going of trying to get the public back to print books because of the growth in ebooks. The biggest drawback to e books is you can’t recycle them to friends.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have been buying a few e-books here and there of new series (that way if I don’t like them, I don’t feel the need to continue because I already have the first one on the shelf), but I thought that the prices were nuts. To pay more for an e-book than a paperback is way, way off base.

  2. Erin S. Burns says:

    July is pretty light on exciting releases. As for eBook prices, in such because waiting for large print is worse. But I’ve definitely been utilizing libraries more, residually since I found out I can get a Houston library card, even though I don’t live in Houston.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep, I don’t remember a more bland month for new releases for quite a while. I actually wish the library was an option here, but the only books they have that I would read are ones I donated.

      • Erin S. Burns says:

        Yeah, my local library doesn’t have much selection for ebooks either. But since it turns out that a major library a couple of hours away let’s anyone in the state get a library card from them for free, I’ve been happy as a clam. You might try the bigger libraries in your outside area, I’d imagine Houston isn’t the only place that does this.

  3. Ginger Hamilton says:

    I agree on the e book prices. I have gone back to getting books at the library. I like the convenience of e books and there are several series that I follow. Part of me wants to stay loyal to the authors I follow and I almost feel guilty for not purchasing the next book in a series but my money is going for the non fiction history books, biographies, and poetry I love. I read those over and over and use them for reference. For myself, everything else Is a flash in the pan and like junk food; good while it lasts but not everlasting.

    • kaleigha says:

      Hopefully the publishers will get a clue about e-book prices soon…all the high cost does is encourage piracy, which sucks for everyone.

      • Erin S. Burns says:

        Agreed, and some of them aren’t just a little ridiculous, some are astronomically insane. Check out the kindle prices on some of Jayne Ann Krentz’s pre-2000 published works, they’re edging up on $20.

        • kaleigha says:

          Sometimes I think that it must be a typo when I see that…probably costs a few cents to produce, and a fortune to buy.

  4. Monika says:

    As I live in Switzerland and read mostly in English, I almost only buy e-books nowadays. Ordering English language books via my bookshop used to be very time-consuming and expensive, a wait of 2-4 weeks was normal and then I paid about twice the price printed on the book.
    As to prices of e-books I can understand that when a book appears first as a hardback that then the kindle price will be higher, too and goes down when the paperback edition comes out. I also remember a time (before e-books) when JAK’s out-of-print books (especially the Guinevere Jones series) used to go for $50-$80 for a used copy!

  5. Texas Book Lover says:

    I prefer kindle e-books but usually wait till the prices drops before buying them. That’s why I use the website http://www.ereaderiq.com/ . It will track books and/or authors and tell you when the prices drop and you can also look back and see the price trends since the book was originally listed. I very rarely pay full price for an e-book…although it does try my patience waiting sometimes.

    The downside it is only on Amazon but they usually have the best prices or price match. I have no idea if there is a website like it for the nook.

    • Erin S. Burns says:

      I love ereaderiq. It is letting me replace my physical library with digital at reasonable prices, and of course getting books on my TBR at reasonable prices too. Though sometimes i still find myself over spending because I end up purchasing something I had checked out from the library too.

Leave a Reply

