Weekly Wrap-Up

booksI was a total, utter failure this week, reading a grand total of zero new books. Nada. I did manage to re-read the very, very short first book of Christine Feehan‘s Drake Sisters series, Magic in the Wind. Keep in mind, that one clocks in at only a little over a hundred pages, so I can barely even count it as a book. But what the re-read did do was really highlight the differences between the “old” Christine Feehan style and the new. I have been joking that Christine is morphing into Lora Leigh, but the tone and the vibe, for want of a better word, between her latter books and the earlier stuff really is different. I can’t say that I disliked the last Ghostwalker or Leopard books, not really, but they just read differently.

So, that was my pretty epic failure of a week. How did yours shape up? What is your take on the “new” Feehan style versus the tried and true stories of old?

11 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up

  1. dougmeeks says:

    When I was moving into paranormal romance and urban fantasy as my main reading genre The Drake Sisters was one of the first series I read and I loved it , it is exceptional BUT the last book was SO much darker and tragic than the others, it was quite a shock. Still excellent but a LOT more realism and a REALLY evil and slimy bad guy.

    • kaleigha says:

      He was a total bastard, and his little brother isn’t shaping up to be much different for the Sisters of the Heart, either. It took the whole Drake gang to bring Stavros down, so I wonder if it will take all of the Prakenskii gang to take down Jr.?

      • dougmeeks says:

        I have been tempted to read the second series but the feedback I got was mixed at best and most said it was a poor imitation of the original series. What do you think?

        • kaleigha says:

          I can say that I have enjoyed the Sisters of the Heart books, but it doesn’t have quite the same feel as the Drakes. The dark and tortured of the last Drake book pretty much continues through the new series since both characters have horrible, abusive pasts in all of the books. And each set of characters lives just seem to get worse. But I find that is another Feehan trend that has come up for her latter books – there pretty much isn’t a happy, well adjusted character in sight anymore. Would I check them out? Sure. But probably not a binge read series unless you want to be majorly depressed after.

  2. Melanie says:

    I also noticed a difference in the writings in the earlier Carpathian books and those written after Dark Demon. I thought it was just me. Almost like they were written by someone else. I have not read the last 2 Leopard and Ghostwalker books so I cannot comment on those series.

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually didn’t notice it much in the Carpathian books (yet), but I have the feeling I will be looking for the change in author voice now. I read all of them in binge-sessions…I would read maybe 5, then stop for a few months, then read another 5, until I had made it through the whole series. And it is one I have never gone back and re-read, either, which is strange.

    • Erin S. Burns says:

      You can count me in as a conspiracy theorist who suspects a ghost writer. Viper Game and Cat’s Lair were so different from previous books I can’t understand how one gets from there to here. I’m hearing good things about Earth Bound though, so I’ve got my fingers crossed.

  3. Becky says:

    I am a Huge fan of Christine Feehan’s. I have enjoyed the Dark series, Leopard, Drake, and Ghostwalker series. I have not been able to really get into the Sister’s of the Heart series. They feel as if they have been written by another person. Even the other series have been touched by this changed writing style. I understand people change and grow. (But it has made me question if she is even writing the stories.) The tone is so different. It’s just hard to see it happening to a beloved author. I still read all her books, but I am selective on what I buy. I read a book almost everyday. I have reread her books countless times, but I don’t anticipate them like I used to.

    On another note, I am a huge fan of Lora Leigh’s. I soak up her Breed novels and was sad when the Elite Ops series was done. I have read all the Bound Hearts, Tempting Seals, and Nauti Boys series. I have NEVER felt Christine Feehan is like Lora Leigh. I really hope that doesn’t occur. Both are great in and of themselves.

    • kaleigha says:

      Christine (and Lora, for that matter) are the guilty pleasure authors for me, but my days of driving two hours to the nearest book store and two hours back on release day have come and gone. I still like them, but not with the rabid anticipation I used to have.

Leave a Reply

