New Series Alerts…

It is time once again to check and see which authors have new series starting up this week, and it looks like we have a couple to keep us going. Yasmine Galenorn‘s Flight From Death is the first book of the UF Fly By Night series, and from what I understand it is a sort of spin-off from her Otherworld books.

flight from deathSynopsis…

I’m Shimmer, a blue dragon shifter. Thanks to a mistake, I was exiled from the Dragon Reaches and sentenced to work for Alex Radcliffe, a vampire who owns the Fly by Night Magical Investigations Agency. Now, not only do I have to adapt to Earthside culture, but every time I turn around, somebody’s trying to kill us. And worse, Alex is as gorgeous as he is exasperating. But you know what they say: All’s fair in love and bounty hunting…

When an old friend of Alex contacts him about a haunting at the High Tide Bed & Breakfast in Port Townsend, Washington, we think we’re on a simple ghost hunt. But our investigation quickly transforms into a deadly fight as we uncover an eighty-year-old murder, a cursed house, and a dark force trapping the spirits within. To stop impending disaster we must break the curse and lay the angry spirits to rest.

And this second one is a young adult release from Rachel Caine. Ink and Bone is the first book of The Great Library series, which has been getting much hype.

ink and boneSynopsis…

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When he inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn.…

As  I have whined on and on about before, I am a cover sucker. Pretty? It must be mine. For that reason alone, I really should’ve tried a Yasmine Galenorn book by now, because all of them are pretty consistently well done. But have I? Nope. Not sure why, actually, and to be honest I haven’t heard much said about her books one way or the other. Might be time for a post to find out what readers think of her (doing it that way helped me try out the Jane Yellowrock books). As for Ink and Bone, it isn’t really yelling my name either, but the reviews have been quite positive, so I might break down and buy the e-book so I don’t feel so guilty if I don’t want to continue the series.

Will you be checking out either of these newbies this week?

4 thoughts on “New Series Alerts…

  1. Iain says:

    I, too, would like to hear what your other readers think of Otherworld/Sisters of the Moon… because the top-liked reviews of Witchling on Goodreads are overwhelmingly 1-2 stars for a series that has 17 books and counting.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I noticed that, too. And the few reviews I have seen on blogs have pretty much been all DNF ones, which seemed odd, too.

  2. Ally says:

    I’ve read all of the Otherworld books and I’m meh about the whole series at this point. I’m going to probably finish the last 3 books because well I’ve read all the others. My personal opinion is that there are much much better series out there (Kate Daniels, Jane Yellowrock, Chicagoland Vampires, etc). I don’t find myself going back and re-reading the series and for me that’s the key. But like I said I’ll finish this because I want the ending!!! (it should of finished up several books ago to be honest because the arc is the same as the first book…argh!).

    • kaleigha says:

      Ah, it goes into the pile of those who should’ve known when to pull the plug, which sucks. But you have to see it through to the end.

Leave a Reply

