What’s Your Take On…?

question-markI have been blogging for a few years now, and while I don’t really know much about a lot of the self-pubbed authors, I am usually relatively up-to-date on the traditionally published authors. But I realized a while back that one author I never hear much about is Yasmine Galenorn.

She is on the prolific side, with her Otherworld series having just passed the 17 book mark and a couple of new series on the horizon. But what surprises me is how little I see any of her books mentioned, outside of cover reveals (and most of the covers are really great, too). So, what is your take on Yasmine Galenorn? Where does she fall on your author lists? Do the stories live up to the pretty covers, or do they leave you wanting more?

12 thoughts on “What’s Your Take On…?

  1. Jaime mccurley says:

    I read probably 10 of the other world series but kinda lost interest. I did enjoy the books I read of hers.

  2. cheryl says:

    I read some of her early ones and kinda drifted on to other authors.
    I feel like I should apologize for not continuing to read her works… can’t even remember why I wasn’t wowed enough to keep her on my must buy list.
    The only thing I can come up with is her characters in her stories didn’t resonate with me.

  3. Vickie Moore says:

    I’ve read and reviewed all of her Otherworld books. I’ve enjoyed them, but the last several books have kind of missed the mark, at least for me. They have gotten way off track from the original storyline as to the “war” with Shadow Wing. I believe I’ve read where she may be ending that series.

    She has started a new series, Fly by Night Investigations, and I just finished it and really enjoyed it. Her books have LOTS of different types of folks; FAE, sprites, dragons, all kinds of shifters, vampires and a whole host of things I’ve never heard of before. To be honest, it gets a little overwhelming at times.

  4. lisa says:

    Only read the first few but I loved them. I went and purchased all of the rest of Otherworldly series and the Spin Off. I want to read her new one as well. I love the sisters.

  5. Judy says:

    I read her sister/otherworld series through book 6. My local library had them when I went to the bookstore they had what my library had so I just stopped reading them.
    Judy

  6. DebbieF says:

    I love the “type” of books she writes but when I tried a couple they were very much like white bread – nothing offensive, but nothing to keep my interest. My personal opinion.

  7. Jen says:

    I have read a couple of her otherworld series but like others before I lost interest after book 4 or 5. I may consider giving her another try with the new series.

  8. Shannon says:

    I tried some of her books and they were in the OK/good range, not great. They did not WOW me enough to want to read more. Agree that they have a nice cover designer.

  9. Ally says:

    I commented on the other post on the Otherworld series. I did read Fly By Night, it was good, not great. I do think it was better than the last few Otherworld books. She did have an excerpt of a new book in a new series called Autumn Thorns. I very much enjoyed the chapter that was included.

  10. Jean says:

    I’ve been sucked into buying a couple of her books; covers looked cool and story line interested me. Unfortunately, I didn’t really enjoy her books.

  11. kaleigha says:

    So it seems that for the most part, her stuff is falling into the “good” range, which isn’t bad. I figured that from some of the reviews on Goodreads that it would be more harsh than that.

  12. melindeeloo says:

    I gave up on the series after five or so books. I didn’t really like the vampire sister and a third of the books are hers. The witchy sister has three husbands – they were all interesting characters, but three husbands was just too much.

    I just finished her new dragon series starter and it was pretty good.

Leave a Reply

