My Mind. The Pain.

insaneSo, I am diving into updating the character guide for The Breeds. Usually it takes me a while to do it, mostly because I have to brace myself to tackle the endless issues that come with it. The errors and changes in backstory make me nuts, since I have to basically re-edit the entire thing every time a new book comes out. Physical descriptions change within books, histories are altered, that sort of thing. But Bengal’s Quest takes the pain to a Whole. New. Level.

Potential Spoilers…Beware

There is Claire Martinez. There is Fawn Corrigan. And now there is Cat/Catarina. I have one biography for Fawn as Claire. One for Fawn, since she was really a different character. Now there is Cat, who basically is a whole new character, and to top it off, there is the real Claire Martinez. Sort of. Not quite sure how to even begin to tackle that one. And Judd? He was Klah Hunter, but somehow became Cullen Maverick. I think. And he went from light brown hair and brown eyes to black hair and green eyes. I hate it when that happens. Keegan just became Keenan, too. And his eyes changed color.

Oh, and for the screw up hall of fame award, I present to you Lincoln Martinez. Formerly the son of Terran Martinez and brother to Chelsea and Isabelle Martinez. Now? Son of Raymond and Maria Martinez and brother of Claire/Fawn/Cat/Catarina/Claire. There. Top that one. Changing of eye color? I can let that one slip by. Changing of family? Eh, harder to handle.

My plan is to try and condense, get rid of some of the conflicting information, and simplify some of the multiple-names for the same characters under one biography. Not sure it will work, but it can’t be much more confusing than it is already.

23 thoughts on “My Mind. The Pain.

  1. Debs Malcolm says:

    And this is exactly why I stopped reading Lora Leigh’s books. As much as I adore the series, to me the blatant inconsistencies are ridiculous and show sheer laziness – if Lora can’t be bothered to keep her stories straight and edit her books correctly, then I can’t be bothered to buy and read them.

    • kaleigha says:

      It does boggle the mind. I probably wouldn’t notice so much if I weren’t doing character guides, but I make notes as I am reading and when they just don’t match up with previous books it makes me nuts. And is a pain to adjust. The only two whom I have ever found this problem with are Lora Leigh and recently Christine Feehan, thank God, or I would be annoyed all the time.

      • Debs Malcolm says:

        Oh no! Not Christine as well! I am reading the Carpathian series again (as I stopped about 10 books in a few years ago and never caught up) – please don’t tell me these are going to go downhill as well! Ugh!!!

        • kaleigha says:

          They are smaller errors, things like changes in name spelling (rather than complete name changes, like Lora Leigh). They aren’t quite as glaring as Lora’s issues, though. Thank God.

  2. rosa says:

    I have a question, what is the author excuse? someone has asked her why this happened? I stop reading this series after the continues nonsenses in the history, and I know many people have do the same.

    • kaleigha says:

      Lea Ellen (she is a book editor) said that, surprisingly, many authors don’t have a guide, or a master list of details, and just go by memory. If you take how many books and series Lora Leigh puts out, I don’t see how anyone could keep those things straight. It can drive people away, no matter how much they love the world.

      • Naughtybookjunkie says:

        Can’t they copy yours at least? I never notice those things usually, but lately I have to open your page and keep looking up names while I’m reading which is VERY distracting. Honestly if you have these many books and popularity, shouldn’t you at least hire someone to do this for you, maybe check that it’s accurate PRIOR to release?πŸ™Ž

        Thank you for all the effort without you I would be crazy with OCD!πŸ’ž

        • kaleigha says:

          Hehe…thanks. It drives me nuts when I can’t remember a name/connection/character. It takes me out of the whole story trying to remember.

  3. Loverofromance says:

    I didn’t even realize that Lora Leigh had these issues, I have seen it a little in Feehan but its been small ones that it’s not a huge deal for me. I know there are many books in the Breeds series but you would think a author could keep her stories straight right?

    • kaleigha says:

      Lora Leigh’s issues are much larger, and much more frequent. I have had to learn to read each book as almost stand alone, so that I don’t get insane about the changes in backstory. When I do the more critical read for the guide, though, things get hairy. The little issues in Feehan usually don’t affect backstory that much, which makes things a bit easier.

  4. L. says:

    This is the last Breeds book I will read. It was awful. I couldn’t keep the characters straight and when I tried to at least treat it like a standalone, I noticed how much back story I needed to care about the characters. This book was like the last drop of juice from an way over-squeezed lemon & not even the pits were left. Too much effort to get one tiny bit of enjoyment. She needs to close up shop and stop insulting her readers further.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have heard others say they gave up, too. It has gotten to be a bit of an organizational mess, I have to admit. Kresley Cole and Nalini Singh have huge, involved series, but they are so well organized they have never seemed to get out of control. At this point, Lora would have to really have to be quite ruthless to get it organized.

  5. Emily says:

    I would approach the “Claire” character as the original girl who died and her spirit was placed in “Cat/Fawn”. I never did figure out why Cat was briefly called Fawn, though. Was that just a tribal name they gave her when she showed up on the reservation? Despite all that, I did still enjoy Bengal’s Quest. Oh, and I also agree that Earth Bound was more like the original writing by Feehan. I honestly think she has a ghostwriter that’s writing some of her books, but this last one actually sounded like Feehan.

    • kaleigha says:

      That is what I am thinking. I will do Claire as one character (because you know she is coming back), and Cat as another character. I am going to combine Graeme and Gideon under just Gideon, Judd and Cullen under Cullen.

      I don’t want to say ghostwriter, truly I don’t I want to. But it does make you wonder. It would explain the little errors and the changes in voice that we are seeing lately.

      • Emily says:

        Oh, I know. I hate to say it, too. I’ve been reading Feehan since the beginning, and she was my favorite author for a long time (until I discovered Nalini Singh and Sherrilyn Kenyon), so I would be super disappointed if she was letting someone else write for her. Even if it was a family member, as I’ve heard. I’m still upset over Viper Game, though. I had such high hopes for my Ghostwalkers! 😦

        • kaleigha says:

          I hadn’t heard the family member angle, but it would make sense. Viper Game? I didn’t mind it, but it wasn’t a Ghostwalker book for me. At all.

          • Emily says:

            Yeah, a few people from her online community have brought up the family member writing for her. Just gossip as far as I know, but it does make me wonder. The main problem I had with Viper Game is the character of Wyatt. His personality was completely different, nothing like he was portrayed in Night Game. I liked the book, but I’ve never just liked a Ghostwalker book before. I have always loved them and reread them a million times. I’m sure I’ll reread this one, too, but it just really didn’t live up to the series for me. I have extremely high expectations with that series, and like you said, it wasn’t a Ghostwalker book. At all.

            • kaleigha says:

              Wyatt was completely different, his backstory was completely changed, the whole works. Ghostwalkers is my favorite of her series, and one of my favorite series, so I do really hope things get back on track.

  6. cheryl says:

    I gave up on Lora Leigh … unless I get one of hers from the library or some kind of sale.
    She just frustrated me on the more smex than story. I just finished the Earth Bound by Feehan and it was better but still not up to the expectations.
    Don’t even get me going on Viper Game… silent clenching of teeth.
    A tangent of the topic… favorite authors.
    My go to, auto-buy, can’t wait for it list of authors… keeps getting smaller.
    Ilona Andrews, Faith Hunter, Patricia Briggs, Catherine Coulter, Gini Koch, Steve McHugh, Darynda Jones and Eileen Wilks.
    I couldn’t have even broken down the amount of authors I used to follow… now less than ten.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have always had “levels” for authors, and my top tier has dwindled, too. If you had told me a couple of years ago that Kresley Cole wouldn’t be number one, I would’ve laughed at you. Now, it is pretty much just Nalini and Ilona tied for number one spot, with a few coming in a close second.

  7. cheryl says:

    Geez, I can’t believe I forgot Nalini Singh. Yep I have every Psy-Changling book she has written. Some authors I have had for multiple years… others, like Steve McHugh are new and treasured… as well as Wen Spencer (Elfhome series) being new and treasured as shiny to me and hopeful long term story tellers and I also forgot an author I have read since I was in my teens Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb.

  8. nightowlinil says:

    Going from what Kaleigha mentioned on July 15, 2015 @ 1:31 pm, I also think that authors of long series most likely never expected to have so many books in a series (and still going) and didn’t keep a style guide/book bible for each book, thinking that they could/would remember details in the previous books.

    I can tell you that this is a mistake for any author (and/or editor) to make. When the 2nd book onward is being edited, the editor needs to have that first book’s style guide to go by and refer back to. It doesn’t matter if there is a different editor for each book – the editor(s) should still have ALL of the previous style guides. I get the feeling that different editors have edited her books (they had to have since this BREED series has gone through three publishers) who may not have read some, or any, of the prior books in the series, and therefore would not catch mistakes such as different names (or spellings), having different relatives, having a different backgrounds, etc. And the thing is, Ms. Leigh doesn’t have time to go back and read the previous books in each series in order to now create a style guide/book bible. The author, not just the editor/publisher, needs to have a computer copy of each book’s style guides in order to make sure that the current editor has the correct info.

    This is where your (Kaleigha’s) character guides for her book series could really help Ms. Leigh out (as well as other authors).

    She (or the publisher{s}) could go back to correct errors in the e-books, but not in the print books [until a reprint occurs anyway].

    • kaleigha says:

      I was really surprised when Darynda Jones said she actually refers to the guide I did for the Charley Davidson series. I sort of thought she might be joking, but if she can get some use out of it, too, I am glad.

Leave a Reply

