Weekly Wrap Up…

booksThis is the post where I try and keep track of what I read, and what I thought about it, since I seem to be blurring a lot of books together in my mind. Getting old blows. Anyways, this was less of a reading week, and more of a re-reading week, but whatever works.

I actually went back and re-read MacRieve by Kresley Cole for some unknown reason. I was walking by my shelves and I just ended up grabbing it. I don’t usually do that, but I was glad I did. I liked it more with this second read. Not enough to have me super-excited for the next Immortals After Dark book, which is a big honkin’ shame, but it was still a bonus. I never, ever thought that the wheels would fall off of my IAD love, but it seems they have. It went from my absolute favorite to being a second-tier series (second tier isn’t bad in my world, but I just never thought it would fall. Ever).

I also plugged along on Mercy Blade by Faith Hunter. I have to admit, I am struggling a bit with this series. I like it, but I have no problem putting a book down and walking away for a week or two. As interesting as they are, they don’t grab and hold my attention for some reason. I suspect it is because the whole Rick/Leo/Bruiser romantic situation distracts me from the story. I like a story with a well-defined pairing, and anything else throws me off (I am looking at you, dreaded young adult love triangle. Die). I will definitely be keeping on with these books, but they are going to take a while.

Also on the re-read list is the first three Drake Sisters books. It has been a while, and I decided to go back and expand the Sisters of the Heart character guide to include all of the books set in Sea Haven, since it looks like that world will not be wrapping up anytime soon. It amazes me how much I had forgotten from these books, but it also made me miss the old Christine Feehan stories. Re-reading the older ones makes the changes in tone and style of the new ones really stand out. They were great stories, not everyone was emotionally scarred, tortured and battered beyond comprehension, and there was a bit more than just sex. Meh, I miss the old days.

So, what did you read this week? Did anything great come your way, or did you find yourself in the dreaded reading slump? Oh, and it is only a few more hours until Kate and Curran. Time should always be measured in terms of release dates, I figure.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. cheryl says:

    I have been doing re-reads as well… waiting for Magic Shifts on Tuesday.
    Funny how some authors you used to love … just fall to the wayside. There are authors that I have grown away from and others that just changed their writing styles.
    Not so much in the paranormal and fantasy realm but some contemporary authors and crime/mystery writers that I spent years reading and no longer read.

  2. Ann says:

    I read “Magic Shifts” yesterday–woot! My library doesn’t hold for release days. 🙂

    As for re-reads, recently did “The Grendel Affair” and now on “Midnight Blue-Light Special”–both fun series.

    I’ve been disappointed in IAD for a while. Everyone was always matched up with someone in their most hated faction, and she would go to absurd lengths to find a way for the heroines to be virgins. “Dark Skye,” where she finally deviated from that, was such an exercise in slut shaming I couldn’t see why anyone would want him.

    • kaleigha says:

      You are so lucky! I have to wait until next Tuesday, which is all kinds of wrong. I was supposed to go away for the night this week, pick up a copy, and read in the luxury of my hotel room, but I had to put it off to next week because of work. Boo.

      Yeah, Dark Skye was a let down, I have to agree. For me, though, I couldn’t stand Lanthe’s treatment of Thronos. Or rather, I should say, I had a problem with their almost hatred of each other. I am not a fan of that much conflict between the main couple. Any resolution just feels forced to me.

      • Ann says:

        I stalk my library for upcoming releases. Occasionally I get them early, but sometimes it’s DAYS after release, and so hard to restrain myself from buying the eBook. This time, I spent a couple months as hold #9 on 8 copies, and did a major happy dance when that bumped to 16 copies last week. 🙂

  3. PhoenixFyre says:

    I just finished reading J.R.Wards “The Bourbon Kings” and even though it is considered ‘contemporary romance’ I totally loved it. I couldn’t put the book down. Obviously it is about a wealthy Bourbon family.

    Tomorrow I will be reading “Dragonbane” and can’t wait. So many surprises and then SK posted this hint about the book:

    Stryker and Kessar return in a BIG way.
    Ancient enemies Kessar and Max square off.
    Learn one secret Illarion has always carried.
    See the very beginning of the Were-Hunters through the eyes of the first who were transformed (yes, they’re still alive).
    Find out what’s up with Apollo and learn how he’s settling in down in Kalosis.
    Something new is brewing at Sanctuary, find out what.
    And find out something VERY interesting about the Malachai.
    Learn more about the dragon species and Amazons, and the Kattalakis clans.
    Some important info on Aimee and Fang

    • kaleigha says:

      I have heard both the really positive and the DNF reviews for The Bourbon Kings, so I am glad you liked it. Nothing sucks more than not finishing a favorite author’s book, especially a hardcover. Ah, Dragonbane. Another one to add to the pile. I ended up tackling the Jane Yellowrock books rather than the Dark-Hunter series, and I am a bit sorry that I did it that way. Oh, well. Now it looks like 2016 will become my own personal year of the Kenyon. I hope.

      • PhoenixFyre says:

        You will love Sherrilyn’s series. Actually, all of them. And next year she will release her trilogy called “Deadman’s Cross” which I am so excited about especially since Thorn will be in it.

        I am still working on her character guide but it is huge since she has a lot of characters in each of her series. But I am enjoying it. what can I say. I am a true SK fan. And in about 3 1/2 hours I hope to be loading Dragonbane on my Kindle. Truly excited.

Leave a Reply

