End it, Already!

american-english-idioms-book-with-wordsI am officially declaring August my “End it, Already”! month. There are a few new releases I am of course dying to get (I am looking at you, Magic Shifts and Deceptions), but for the most part my goal in August is to let go and finally read the final book in some of my series.

See, I have this weird thing. If I don’t read the last book, then the series isn’t really over. Logical? Nope. But I have the strange habit of putting off reading the last book in a series indefinitely. Just one little book, sitting there, and I don’t read it. I believe last time I counted, I had 12 that were ready to wrap up that I had left hanging. To the point that I don’t even remember what happened in the story, and now I will have to do a re-read or skim through of the previous books just to get back in gear.

I have already tackled the Lynburn Legacy by Sarah Rees Brennan, and my re-read of the first two books is almost complete. One down, 11 to work on. Yay?

What strange reading habits do you have that make sense to no one but you? Do you have any books that need to be tackled so you can chalk up another series in the read column? Which ones have you left hanging?

15 thoughts on “End it, Already!

  1. Loverofromance says:

    I can see how that could happen!! If you don’t want a series to end just don’t think about it hehe. I actually love it when I finish a series…as far as reading habits, I kinda need to listen to instrumental or classical music while reading or I can’t focus on the story—is that weird?? Am I the only one that does that? I have always wondered.

    • kaleigha says:

      That’s the thing. I finish one, and I feel like I accomplished something, but then I don’t do it. I have heard of a lot of people actually who need music to read. I can’t myself because I always have to sing along (badly), and then I end up singing some of what I am trying to read, so things get ugly.

  2. Texas Book Lover says:

    I have only done this on series if they were dragging or if have and idea where it was going and I don’t like it…like I still haven’t read the last Sookie book. I was an Erik fan and I just know she goes back to Bill who reminded me of a snake. Yep don’t want to read it. So it just sits on my shelf. That’s been how many years now?

    Series that I love, I read…and usually cry!

    • kaleigha says:

      Ah, Eric. Lovely, lovey Eric (at least Alexander Skarsgard). See? If you don’t read it, she doesn’t end up with Bill. Makes sense to me.

  3. cheryl says:

    One of my quirky reading habits:
    Sometimes the idea that I have to wait all day before I know how the story goes after I read the first few chapters, (work or sleep interrupts)…I sneak a peek at the end. you know, the last two chapters or just the epilogue. I usually go back and read the middle.
    Other times, that sneak is a killer because I don’t like the end and don’t go back to read the whole thing.

    • kaleigha says:

      Oh, crap. I do that all the time. And it never fails that I will take a quick peek ahead and what I read is a major spoiler. Like someone died or the bad guy is revealed. I swear to God, nine times out of ten I kick myself after, but I keep doing it anyways.

  4. Iain says:

    Music: I can read books with or without music… but I like to use it to create a white noise effect if I’m trying to read in the break room at work or while walking around town… Music in one earbud, car noises/TV in the other, and I can ignore distracting noises. I mostly use dubstep, which is a small step above/below instrumental music really, which is why it works so well… very few words, usually just repetitive syllables.

    Search: The Kindle/e-reader search function has been my downfall… especially for confirming/debunking theories about the rest of a book… or finding out what page a pivotal event happens (such as romances, with their obvious plot milestones)

    Walking and reading: This is probably one of the more dangerous things I do. I’ve been doing it at least since college, if not younger when it was mostly library books. My coworkers used to give me a hard time because there are forklifts around me on my breaks sometimes, and there I am walking and reading. In my defense I’ve walked into very few poles… walking around town, the bigger danger is broken sidewalk and blocked off road/sidewalk work. I think I have a “highly developed” peripheral vision sensor for avoiding most obstacles while reading, though; or stopping at the curb when the sidewalk dips down to street level for a pedestrian crossing location. Real danger is low hanging pointy branches; I’ve nearly poked an eye out with those.

    • kaleigha says:

      You have me beat, because I can’t read in public at all. Or, with anyone else in the room. Not sure why, but I have to be completely by myself (or at least hidden behind something).

      • Iain says:

        I will say I’ve become more bold in my public reading with age… both because people leave a 6’4″ adult alone more than a scrawny kid, and the fact that kindles are so much easier to hold/read while walking than a physical book ever was. I can palm a kindle in one hand, even with the rubber/leather protective cover that makes it a bit bulkier.

        IF you shy away from the public angle, I have something a little worse. I get weird looks sometimes after laughing out loud while working alone because I listen to audiobooks at work, too, and I’m more likely to laugh out loud listening to a book than I am reading in public. (I do laugh out loud more in private, though.)

        I find Gail Carriger character names good for suprised laughs… Mrs. Barnaclegoose, Lord Dingleproop, etc.

        • kaleigha says:

          My problem is I have a goofy smile on my face, or my mouth hanging open, or I snicker, and it never fails that someone must ask that brilliant question “Are you reading? Oh, you are. What are you smirking/laughing/gaping at?” and it bugs me (and makes me stop when obviously it was a good part.

          • Iain says:

            I pretty much get the same response, but just go ahead with it. Sometimes I’ll explain a little, but when you’re 6/10/26 books into a series there’s no time to explain it all, so I just gloss over it and move on.

            At a certain point, I think you pass a threshold and get left alone 95% of the time, until there’s a new hire and you have to “break them in.” At least until you get them past the fact you probably read more in a year than they have since English class (at least with my coworkers).

            I think the tradeoff is worth it to avoid watching Househunters-type shows or Baggage with Jerry Springer or sports every day in the break room.

    • kaleigha says:

      Well, I usually justify it as just a peek…but it pretty much always works out to reveal something I wish had been a surprise.

Leave a Reply

