Weekly Wrap Up…

booksAnother week has flown by, which means it is time to see what we all read this week. I kept to my goal of trying to finally be a big girl and finish off some of the series I have only had one book left on, but of course because I put things off so long I had to do a re-read of the first books, first. I started off with Sarah Rees Brennan‘s The Lynburn Legacy series, which was a surprise young adult favorite of mine. I will be finishing off the third and final book tonight, and I have to admit I will be sad to see this one wrap up. Between the very original premise, the non-standard characters, and the humor, it was definitely no hardship for the re-reads. Much enjoyment was had.

Those three books pretty much took up my week, but I did manage to grab the new Carpathian novella from Christine Feehan that just came out in Edge of Darkness (of course, I didn’t read the other two stories. Um, yet? Maybe? Probably not). This one was actually quite a surprise for a couple of reasons. First off, there was a total change of setting. Instead of the Carpathian mountains (not bad) or the jungle (ugh), this one was very much city based, and a really nice change of pace. It was a short story, yes, but I can say that it manages to open up a whole new direction for the Dark books, and that I liked where it was going.

As a bonus, the focus was turned towards some Carpathians we haven’t seen much from. The triplets play a decent supporting role, and Tariq Asenguard is pretty much front and center. I am not sure if Christine is sticking to the Lost Dark Book storyline for Tariq, but Dark Crime makes me sort of hope that there is a new direction planned for him. And as a total bonus? A side storyline that seemed to be completely dropped way-back-when actually becomes relevant here. I don’t want to say what because of potential spoilers, but it always bugged me that it was hinted at and never followed up on. Oh, there is also another “legendary ancient hunter” introduced by the name of Val Zhestokly. This is totally a Dancing With the Stars name, and every time I read it I snickered like a kid. So sad.

The only downside I can see is the timing for this one. If Tariq or one of the triplets’ stories was up next, it would be great. Instead, we have not one but two books before we get back to this new offshoot of the Dark World. Tariq’s story will be called Dark Carousel, but we will probably have to wait until late 2016/ early 2017 to get it. To me, it would’ve made more sense to hold off a bit before coming out with this one.

Ok, that was my week. How did yours shape up? I assume most of you probably dove into Magic Shifts, but I have to wait until this Tuesday for my turn. You can be sure next week will be an equally long-winded rave about it, though.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. gabrielle says:

    I don’t really comment on blogs and things but I read Dragonbane by Sherrilyn Kenyon, and it was very disappointed and just need somewhere to rant.The last few books of hers read like someone else has wrote them and they’ve become so cheesy and corny that I actually cringed and rolled my eyes so many times they could of got glued to the back of my head. The two main characters Maxis and Seraphina were 2D and considering they dispised one another at the beginning of the book, they seemed to get back together and get their HEA very easily. Seraphina goes from being a completely awful backstabbing cow who betrayed Max, to the ‘love of his life’ in 3 seconds which even for fantasy fiction is too fictional for me, I want it to be a challenge wee the charactrs prove themselves to one another and to the reader. And yet again we had a male lead with a tortured past like every other Kenyon book, and considering I’v been a fan sine I was 14, its getting very old and boring. The characters are flat compared to the complex relationships and the dynamics between characters that JR Ward has created, and although some people haven’t liked her recent books since Phury’s, you can’t deny that the characters are well created. The interesting parts of Dragonbane are the side stories that don’t get much air time. Suffice it to say, you’re not missing anything if you don’t read the bits about the main characters. Skim reading to get the important bits about how the world is changing, won’t deprive you of anything. Some old favourite characters pop back up: Acheron, Styxx, Nick (briefly), Savitar and Thorn as well as the Peltier’s, but they’re whole ‘all for one and one for all’ mentality and suffocating familial love gets on my nerves! There, rant over! 🙂

    • kaleigha says:

      I like a good rant! I haven’t tried any of the Dark-Hunter books as yet, since they are all on Mount TBR (including Dragonbane). But I can totally sympathize, since I had a major bummer over Kresley Cole recently. I don’t know if it was me, or the last few stories slipped, but I was thinking “same old, same old”, too. When you are waiting for a secondary character to show up and make things interesting, that is a bad sign.

  2. Iain says:

    I can second gabrielle’s sentiments here about Dragonbane.

    Dragonbane was kind of the let down of the week for me, after loving Magic Shifts and enjoying Dark Ascension by ML Brennan. Also read Truth or Beard by Penny Reid and listened to Curtsies & Conspiracies and Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger.

    This week I’m looking forward to Fearless by Elliott James and Sideswiped by Kim Harrison. She had to go and suck me back in with some time travel in her new trilogy. I was hoping to be done with Harrison for awhile, since I didn’t like the later Hollows books as much as the early ones (1-6).

    More about Dragonbane: The female lead was probably the most unlikeable to date in the series. Really no redeeming features here. No big reveal that shows it was all a big misunderstanding; all the reveals just made her look worse and worse. Also, for a 260 page book, the cameos got to be a bit much since they just swallowed page space with recaps of the previous 40 books, not to mention the Lords of Avalon series that’s been absorbed into the larger mythology.

    • kaleigha says:

      I found the unlikeable heroine thing just kills it. Lora Leigh had a couple of chicks that I just wanted to die, which sort of ruins the whole “romance” angle. I didn’t know about the Lords of Avalon tying in to the Dark-Hunters. Ugh, makes it even looooonger.

      • Iain says:

        I haven’t read them, but when you get around to reading the series like you plan to, I don’t think you need to worry about Lords of Avalon until between Styxx and Son of No One. Best to stick to the Greek mythology as long as possible.

  3. Monika says:

    I finally caved in and gave Charley Davidson a whirl. The whole think about the Grim Reaper and her being able to talk to the departed didn’t grap my fancy from the blurbs, but once I started I was hooked and read all eight books in a row. I really like the humour, her relationship with Reyes, the world building, the secondary characters. I think this combination of UF and police procedure is what I really like. The crazyness of it also reminds me a bit Stephanie Plum (with Garrett being an incarnation of Ranger).
    Afterwards I gulped down Magic Shifts and loved it (I didn’t expect anything else). Especially the neighborhood watch theme is quite funny. Looking forward to where Curran is going to take the Guild. Didn’t like Kate almost dying (again). I would like to see a little more detection and less death and mayhem (all the life and death situations all the time can also get a bit old).
    I was thinking about giving Dragonbane a try since I liked the cover and the blurb, but after reading the negative reviews (rants) here, I think I am going to give it a miss. Haven’t read any Dark Hunter books since Acheron (actually stopped a few books before that one, but was intrigued enough with the glimpses of Acheron to pick up his story. I liked it well enough, though the heroine was kind of bland for him).
    Edge of Darkness sounds kind of intriguing, so I think I will tackle that next or maybe JAK’s Siren Call (I do like her Harmony series).
    This also means I am looking (again) for a new series/author to try, since I am up to date on all my favorite series, except the ones I have abandoned (Dark Hunters, Anita Blake, Carpathians)…

    • kaleigha says:

      Charley is a blast, but sometimes she starts to veer a bit into stupid territory. The good news is that she doesn’t stay there long, though. It is hard to find a good series with humor and a great, different storyline, too.

      Magic Shifts was awesome, and the whole Guild angle is great. I did wish for more Derek, though, and that was my only complaint. Dragonbane landed on Mount TBR, and it will probably be there until I croak, but at this point it is just funny.

      I was really excited to get my hands on Smoke on the Water, the third and final book in the Sisters of the Craft series. I was surprised by how much I liked these ones, and the fact that all three came out within like 8 weeks was a total bonus.

  4. snapdragon says:

    I have completely broken down and bought Magic Shifts. I typically hold off until it comes out in PB due to pricing and *library* but I just could not wait anymore. Than I topped it off by going onto audible and getting the first 8 books and I am now listening to Magic Rises. 😛

    I enjoyed Siren’s Call and tried to get into The Bourbon Kings but it was a bit too Dynasty for me right now.

    I have some regular contemporary romances and SciFi arriving from the library to hopefully get me over this.

    I guess sometimes you just have to take a break — but not until I read Magic Shifts.

Leave a Reply

