Weekly Wrap Up…

booksIt is time once again to check out what we all have been reading this week. I was a week behind, but I got my hands on Magic Shifts from Ilona Andrews, and it was well worth the wait. I am pretty sure I have said in many, many other posts that I was really happy with this one. I liked the whole Guild direction, the changing dynamics of some of the main players, and the hints of what is to come. If I had one small complaint, it would be that I missed seeing more of the supporting characters – Derek, Ascanio, Andrea, Raphael – they were there, but not to the degree that they usually are, and I did miss them. It was a very Kate-and-Curran centric story, and that is ok, too.

My other biggie for this past week was the third and final book in the Sisters of the Craft series from Lori Handeland. Smoke on the Water saw the three sisters reunited, come into their powers, and take on the big bad. It was a really nice wrap-up for a series that I found to be a very pleasant surprise. And the very best part? The whole trilogy was released over the course of something like 8 weeks, so details stayed fresh and enthusiasm stayed high. It was great. This was my introduction to Lori Handeland’s work, and I am looking forward to trying more.

Aaaand, I have continued my “end it, already” quest to finish up some one-book-left series that I just couldn’t seem to bring myself to let go of. I am about half-way through Blood of Olympus, which is the final book in Rick Riordan‘s Heroes of Olympus series. I know, I know. I didn’t read Harry Potter, but I am a total Percy Jackson fan (and way, way too old for them, but moving on). The problem is that I am totally, completely lost. I couldn’t justify a re-read of the previous four monster-length books, so I thought that I should be able to handle a kiddie book without a week-long recap, right? Nope. I had totally forgotten the whole storyline up to this point, I keep having to google things mentioned in the book, and I barely remembered who half of the characters are. Being beaten by a kids book knocks you down a peg or two, to be sure.

Ok, your turn. What did you try out this week? Anything surprisingly good (or bad), or anything you would recommend?

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. Iain says:

    Like I mentioned last week, I read Fearless (Pax Arcana #3) by Elliott James and Sideswiped by Kim Harrison this week.

    Really liked Fearless… and really like how the author has fun with the chaptering and extras. There’s a chapter in the first book with like 10 words in it… and the recap intro to Fearless is written as a screenplay for a TV show’s Previously On clip (with montages and voiceovers using clips from previous books/shorts).

    Liked Sideswiped enough to check out the Peri Reed Chronicles when they come out.

    Also read Lingus by Mariata Zapata, and listened to The Iron Duke and Heart of Steel by Meljean Brook. I really enjoy listening to steampunk on audio.

    No more new releases his month I don’t think. Planning to read another Iron Druid Chronicles book this week (Tricked, #4), and then we’ll see from there.

    • kaleigha says:

      God, I so could’ve used a recap for the Heroes of Olympus series that it isn’t even funny. I do have the Meljean Brooks series on the TBR pile, and I have heard nothing but good things about them.

      • Iain says:

        I read some complaints about Iron Duke before reading… how the romance treads close to rape at one point, but I thought it was handled well, and the backstory helped explain the miscommunication well enough.

        Heart of Steel was lighter in that regard. I really saw the Indiana Jones / Pirates of the Caribbean comparison once I started/finished.

        Any time I want to get back into a series I’ve forgotten details about I just try to find a wiki/etc with plot summaries… faster than rereading the whole book.

        • kaleigha says:

          I have been hunting down some summaries, too. I usually don’t mind a re-read, but sometimes those suckers are just too darn long.

  2. Debs Malcolm says:

    I finally caught up on the Elder Races books – now ready for the next release. I know Night’s Honor got some bad reviews, but I really liked it: more than Midnight’s Kiss. Now moving back to Charlie Davidson – just about to start Fifth Grave…. I usually end up reading these late in to the night!

    • kaleigha says:

      I can’t say I hated Night’s Honor, but I think for me it just didn’t fell like part of the rest of the series. It was too bad, because I liked Xavier a lot. Charley is fun…and totally makes you stay up for “just one more chapter” all night.

Leave a Reply

