Weekly Wrap Up…

booksGood Lord, this seemed like one long, long sucker of a week (my weekends begin on Sunday nights). I didn’t get a ton read, but I have been pretty good about my August goal of wrapping up a few one-book-left series.

It took quite a while, but I managed to get back into the swing of Rick Riordan‘s Heroes of Olympus series and finish off Blood of Olympus. I had totally lost track of the storyline heading into this one, and I have to admit that there were quite a few things mentioned from previous books that I didn’t remember at all. Even so, it was a fun read, and hopefully now I am ready for the start of the new Norse mythology series featuring Magnus Chase when it begins in October.

I also tackled a couple of books from favorite authors, with varying results. First up was Deceptions from Kelley Armstrong, which is the third book of her Cainsville series. This was one of my most anticipated books for the year, and I wasn’t disappointed. A lot questions are answered, which I wasn’t expecting this early on (there are two more books to come, after all). There are also some developments on the romantic front, and as much as I have come to dread the whole love triangle thing, for some reason I don’t mind it here. The only problem I have with it is that I just can’t tell which way it will go…Ricky or Gabriel? I preferred Gabriel going into this one, but Ricky has really grown on me. I guess I will just have to wait until next August to find out, since that is when Betrayals is scheduled for release.

My second book didn’t work out quite as well for me. In trying to branch out, I decided to pick up the young adult contemporary thriller, Don’t Look Back, from Jennifer L. Armentrout. Unfortunately, I just couldn’t get into it. It seemed like an interesting story, but it just didn’t grab me at all. It has actually become one of my very rare Did Not Finish books, and I will be adding it to the donation pile. To be perfectly fair, though, I usually have trouble when I stray away from the PNR/UF genre, especially in terms of young adult or new adult. I know better, but I still try something different every now and then with disappointing results. I guess I should learn that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

What did you read this week? Did you start up any new series worth sharing, or did you manage to whittle down the TBR pile at all?

7 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. Iain says:

    This week I read Tricked by Kevin Hearne, as well as a bunch of his short stories (Grimoire of the Lamb, Two Ravens One Crow, Chapel Perilous, Demon Barker of Wheat Street)… Kulti, and Under Locke by Mariana Zapata… listened to Riveted, and The Kraken King by Meljean Brook… and started reading Angel’s Blood by Nalini Singh.

    That’s 2 authors off my TBR pile, and Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter re-added thanks in part to all the talk on here recently (I was in the middle of Psy-Changeling backlog last time I considered and then whittled down my TBR pile). Might still physically read some Iron Seas short stories later.

    I, too, have trouble getting into love triangle books… main reason I haven’t read The Wird Sisters series by Cece Robson, despite liking the prequel… as well as, the Shadow Reader trilogy by Sandy Williams…

    Usually when I get into a YA/NA book and/or a love triangle book, it’s one where the romance/angst is in the background vs the foreground… like Rosamund Hodge’s fairytale retellings. The one in Mercy Thompson series wasn’t too bad either.

    If I ever catch up on the Iron Druid Chronicles, and want me some more Norse/Greek mythology, I might give Rick Riordan a try… I’ve seen some covers and the movie trailer before I think.

    • kaleigha says:

      I hope you like the Guild Hunter books. The Psy/Changelings were always my top series, but I have to admit that the Guild Hunter books crawled their way up my list to the top, too.

      I read the print versions of the Wird Sisters series, but dropped off when they switched to e-book only. I thought it was ok – decent storyline, but I never quite connected to the characters (and the main chick constantly mentioning her “inner golden tigress” got old fast).

      Rick Riordan’s books are fun, and I liked the mythology end quite a bit. Even though it is a middle grade series, I enjoyed it.

      • Iain says:

        I still read the occasional middle-grade series… last two I can really think of that I started because my younger brother had the early ones were… Keys to the Kingdom by Garth Nix, about a House at the center of the universe ruled by the days of the week until the MC is chosen to take over by the Creator’s Will and Testament.

        And The Pendragon Adventure, about Travelers who protect a 10-world multiverse from a protector gone rogue, told as journals to the kid’s friends who later get sucked into the story.

        Those ended several years ago now, though.

        Angel’s Blood really reminds me of Slave to Sensation… I kinda wish more time was spent hunting the evil, murdering, bad guy… but I like the book anyway (talking about both books here).

  2. snapdragon says:

    I read a few Susan Mallory books and I finished book 3 of the Green Rider series. I have started “the Scribe” by Elizabeth Hunter and am enjoying it so far. There were a few other books I read but they are not popping into my head at the moment.

    • kaleigha says:

      You went through a pile this week…I struggled to read two. I have only heard good things about Elizabeth Hunter, and I am moving her up my TBR listing.

  3. Iain says:

    I’ve paused on her Elemental Mysteries series after book 2, but really like her shapeshifter series Cambio Springs (if she could just write more of them :P, but she spreads her time between series).

    Still haven’t gotten around to this year’s Fool’s Gold books… might wait for the Christmas year-ender in October.

  4. cheryl says:

    I was on a mission to find something different. Needed a break from my usual reads and found 2 romantic suspense and one pnr..
    Hour of Need by Melinda Leigh- rom suspense
    Minutes to Kill by Melinda Leigh- rom suspense
    Stalked by Flames by Susan Ilene- 1st bk about dragons-
    All pretty good reads and am currently reading the newest release :
    Lies Ripped Open by Steve McHugh
    He has a wonderful series and reminds me of a less angsty version of
    Jim Butchers’ main character Harry Dresden.

Leave a Reply

