Pick of the Week…

This is one of those interesting weeks, where my pick of the week is not actually the book I am most excited for. Strange, I know, but it works like this. Nalini Singh‘s next Guild Hunter book, Archangel’s Enigma, comes out today, and that is a total win. But, it is already going to be the book of the month for September, and I have already read it (thanks to a most gracious ARC copy). I then thought about Kim Harrison‘s The Drafter, but since I am on the fence about that one, it was out of the running. That left perennial stand-by Christine Feehan and her latest Carpathian book, Dark Ghost, as my pick of the week. I know that doesn’t sound like the most glowing recommendation, but her books have a special place in my reading heart. I roll my eyes, snicker way more than I should, pick apart every plot hole and error, and devour them anyways. It is a sickness, I think.

feehan dark ghostSynopsis…

He wasn’t civilized or tame. He had his own code and he lived by it.

Monk. Bounty hunter. Vampire slayer. Andre Boroi has spent centuries battling the undead, holding out against the dark with honor. But now, gravely wounded by master vampire Costin Popescu, Andre will be easy to track—his spilled blood marking the killing trail for Popescu and his hungry band of underlings. Andre’s only chance is to disappear into the gray mist of the Carpathians. To wait. To hope.

She had a healing touch and a scent that was his lifeblood.

In the mountains in search of a precious crystal, geologist Teagan Joanes suddenly finds herself hunted by those she once trusted. Then she comes across the warrior—wounded, wanting and irresistible. Andre has been craving her for an eternity: his lifemate. Her warmth envelops him. Her scent pulsates. And with every beat of her heart, Teagan surrenders to a passion she can’t possibly comprehend.

Now they are bound by destiny, but is it enough to keep them safe from a stalking, relentless darkness that threatens to swallow them alive?

I know a lot of people have drifted away from the Carpathian books in the last few years, but for those who still chug along, how excited are you for Andre’s story? He has never been a standout character for me, or maybe all of the ancients are starting to blur together for me at this point. I mean, really. How many “the most dangerous of them all” can there really be? Are you looking forward to checking back into series, or are you giving this one a pass?

20 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…

  1. Loverofromance says:

    I am planning on reading this one. I don’t really remember much about Andre, and sometimes they all tend to seem alike but its been fun seeing how the series has progressed. Although my favorites of the series will be the first books. I am probably going to wait till I can get this through my library though. Looking forward to seeing what you think of this one.

  2. Tavia says:

    I’m with you K regarding C. Feehan. Can’t get enough. I am reading Nalini Singh as we speak. I got the MP3 CD last week and am enjoying every minute of it. Got the book on kindle today. Tavia

  3. Monika says:

    Read Naasir’s story in one sitting. I think it’s my favorite “Raphael’s Seven” story so far. Also loved how the backstory developed. What I particularly liked was that Naasir was so Other, much more so than any of the Changelings…
    Since I am glutton for punishment I am probably going to buy Dark Ghost and it will end up on my growing Feehan DNF pile (which already contains Dark Predator, Dark Blood, Viper Game, Cat’s Lair, Edge of Darkness)… I pains me a great deal as for many years the Carpathians and Ghostwalkers were among my favorite series and I was looking forward to each new release. I am not sure whether her writing has changed or my tastes, but I have just become so disgusted with the forced matings, the Alpha guys and the heroines that are supposed to be so strong but let themselves be treated like doormats by their man, especially Pepper, who is supposed to be this incredible fighter, but each time Wyatt goes postal with jealousy she takes the fault upon herself. And the last couple in Edge of Darkness – whose names I have already forgotten – they had no connection at all before he bound her to him with the ritual words and that’s when I stopped reading. I wish I could roll my eyes or snicker, but the uppermost feeling they engender in me is a profound sense of disgust (sorry for the rant)

    • kaleigha says:

      Loved me the Naasir, I have to admit. He was fun, which isn’t something that always happens with the seven.

      I haven’t ever not finished a Feehan book, or at least not that I can remember, even with the change of tone some of the latter books have had. I did like the newish direction of Edge of Darkness, though, more so than the main couple. I liked things moving out of the jungle or the Carpathian mountains and into a city setting.

  4. nightowlinil says:

    Yeah, I’m still a fan of the Dark series. I don’t recall who Andre is. I believe I have some books in this series in my TBR pile. I think I just wanted to have more than one of the books to read in a year’s time, and have been collecting the paperbacks as they come out.

    • kaleigha says:

      I remember Andre being around a bit, usually guarding Mikhail, but I don’t remember a lot being mentioned about him. It would be kind of fun to do a marathon and get caught up on who is who.

  5. nightowlinil says:

    Just an FYI – When I leave a post, the time stamp is one hour ahead of my time (which is Central) (I know you live in Canada). Isn’t there a way to have the time read the same as the person posting? Maybe there’s not, just wondering.

    Lea Ellen {night owl in IL}

    • kaleigha says:

      I think it must’ve been something about the whole time change. I noticed it before, and then it seemed to straighten itself out.

  6. Becky Williams says:

    I do read Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series I don’t read her Archangel series. I just can’t get into the angel thing no matter the author (It’s just me). But Christine Feehan’s Dark Series is a sweet indulgence of mine. I have the whole series.

  7. Darchelle McKesson says:

    Andre the Ghost is an Ancient Carpathian that was first introduced to the series in Dark Curse. He has appeared in several books, most recently in the Lycan trilogy. Dark Ghost and the next installment Dark Promises, is quite special to many that are members of Christine’s online community. Over the years, there have been many, many, MANY passionate and fun discussions on Christine’s book walls. These 2 books are a tribute to her members and in particular to Joan “Grandma Trixie* Colbert, who keeps us laughing and thoroughly entertained. Grandma Trixie is the grandmother of the heroine in Dark Ghost and will be a prime character in Dark Promises.

    Christine Feehan has been and continues to be a favorite author of mine. With 27 books and counting, Christine’s Dark series as well as the other series still top the NY Times bestseller lists. I think that’s a pretty big indicator that many are still big fans of her work. With the Carpathians, Christine was one of the first authors to romanticize vampires over a decade ago. Within the industry she was crowned the “Queen” of paranormal romance and still reigns supreme today. I have enjoyed many years of entertainment and look forward to many more. She has my utmost respect and admiration!

    • kaleigha says:

      That thing about the grandma throws me off a bit. I saw a couple of posts from the “real” Trixie on Christine’s site, and they were…interesting, too. Actually, Christine was the author that got be back into reading after a long hiatus, so I figure they will always have a special place on my shelves.

  8. Naughtybookjunkie says:

    Honestly if I hadn’t re-read the series a few months ago, I would probably not be interested but I’m curious to see where the series is going. Of course I’ll have some shots ready for the ridiculous/repetitive/errors parts….This is my new way to cope with some authors with whom I can’t break the cord.🙌

    • kaleigha says:

      Man, you did a re-read?!? How did you pull that off? I so need to try one for a character guide, but there are just too darn many books in it.

Leave a Reply

