Spotlight on…Thea Harrison

thea harrisonI owe a big thanks to Phyllis Mayes, who sent over some Thea Harrison news.  It looks like Shadow’s End, which is due out December 1st, will be the last traditionally published Elder Races book. The series, however, will continue with a new story arc and at least three more books. Thea is one of a growing list of authors that seem to be leaving big publishing and striking out on their own. According to her Facebook page…

I’m delighted to announce that I’ve committed to writing another three full-length novels in the Elder Races. I’ve developed a new story arc that I’m really excited about, and I can’t wait to share it with readers!

Unfortunately, I was unable to make a contractual match with my publisher Berkley. After deliberating long and hard, I’ve decided that it’s time for me to strike out and self-publish the upcoming new stories.

For the time being, what this means is:

The books will continue to be available through multiple e-book venues.

There will be both print and audiobook versions.

I have a continued commitment to getting my books into as many foreign translations as possible, either on my own or via a publisher.

They’ll continue to be available in libraries. I’ve worked out an agreement with the Nelson Literary Agency to achieve distribution to libraries. (Yay!)

For now, they will NOT be on the shelves in bookstores. Readers will need to buy them online. (While this may certainly change, it is the current reality.)

The really good news is:

I’ll be able to move much more quickly and put out stories in a much more flexible manner than a traditional publisher can. This means I can release more often and tell stories that didn’t fit well within contractual word limits. I’ll also be more involved in creating cover art, which is a personal favorite of mine.

I have to say, this one was even more of a surprise than when Lara Adrian made pretty much the same jump. In Lara’s case, it seems that there hasn’t been much activity on the Midnight Breed front (or at least, not yet), but Thea seems to have a plan for the Elder Races…

I’ll be releasing more information on the upcoming Elder Races stories in the near future, but for now I’ll let you know that I’ll be taking the new story arc across the big puddle to England. The set up for the new direction is in book #9, SHADOW’S END, which releases on December 1st.

Readers will get to fall in love with new characters, keep in touch with old ones, and discover just how much more there is to the Elder Races universe with a much wider story canvass. There will be more world-building, history, magic, and adversaries.

I’m also excited to explore more novellas in the Elder Races, for those story lines that are too delicious not to write yet don’t warrant their own full-length book.

It also looks like there is a new contemporary romantic suspense series on the horizon, as well. Sounds like she will be a busy gal.

Well, what is your take on this? Personally, I am not really a fan. Maybe I just don’t like change, but being in Canada means that most of the time books published this way are way more expensive and harder to get. Plus there is often a switch to a more trade-paperback size which buggers up my shelves (again). Ugh. I wish her well, but I liked things the way they were.

14 thoughts on “Spotlight on…Thea Harrison

  1. cheryl says:

    Sounds like the publisher left her high and dry. There are not that many authors any more that I would spend any amount on to get the next one.
    I read at least 1 to 2 books a week and I am finding myself re-reading more favorites than finding any new authors to follow. I don’t know if the publishers are cutting back helping new authors emerge or just stuck in their ways but it is frustrating as a reader.
    I do most of my book searching online since I have no big bookstores nearby… and I find you either have the big name authors or some of the indie authors that range from bad to if that is the only thing I can find catergories of books.
    Too many years reading and the new Young Adult and Chick Lit stuff is just not for me.
    I wish her well in her new direction and we will see how it comes out.
    I have a favorite author that changed from urban fantasy to contemporary romance… and am still waiting 3 yrs later for her to finish the last book in the previous urban fantasy series.
    She blogs that she is writing it in her spare time. Sigh. I know you have to follow what makes you money but could you at least finish up the story of the one you quit.

    • kaleigha says:

      Ugh, the closest bookstore for me is just under 2 hours away, so browsing is out. Actually, that was one of the reasons that I started the blog – I wanted a way to find new authors. I don’t mind young adult, but I hit a rough patch of them that made me way more picky. I used to pick up anything that caught my eye, but I have paired it way, way back.

  2. Ren says:

    Bad news for me, since I collect all Elder Races in paperback. I feel your pain, K, since I live outside USA and now the US currency is too high against mine, so the price will be escalated. I guess Thea will release it in trade paperback version, therefore make it more than 10$. I want to support my favorite author, but right now, I guess I will satisfied with the e-book version only.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am not thrilled with a change in format, either. I think that is my main peeve, if it does switch to trade size. Also, self-pubbed books are way harder to keep track of for updating on the blog. It seems like self-pubbed books just sort of…pop up, and I end up not getting them listed in the release dates.

      • Iain says:

        I gotta agree, there… generally, indie books are tentatively mentioned in previous book or immediately after, get written, THEN posted on Amazon/etc and quickly release… and there’s a much higher risk of authors getting sidetracked by new ideas without Big Publisher Oversight… all depends on the organization level of the author I guess…

        I’ve been waiting for Infamous #3 by NA Alcorn since its initial release estimate of Summer 2014, and the author has started 2 NEW series since then… Penny Reid on the other hand has tentative release months set for 7 indie releases over the next 3 years and finds time to write other things, too.

        • kaleigha says:

          Ew, the waiting sucks, especially when they move on to something else and you don’t get any updates. I am waiting, and waiting, and WAITING, for the third book in Shana Abe’s Lora Jones series, and there is nada. Just an “its coming”. Meh.

  3. Iain says:

    This doesn’t affect me much… ever since I switched to e-books/Kindle back in 2012/2013, I haven’t looked back… keeps my apartment uncluttered…

    Compared to Cheryl, I’ve been lucky enough that my slower, non-UF/PNR reading when I was younger compared to nonstop reading the last 3 years has left unexplored sub-genres sift through, still… I tend to be more of a no looking back reader… very rarely do I get into a funk where its reread books or just take a break from reading situation…

    For Elder Races plot in particular, I’m excited… always seemed a little weird how all the supernatural royalty is concentrated within North America…

    • kaleigha says:

      The one thing I did like about this was the idea that they will go beyond North America and branch out. It gives the series a whole new direction to go.

  4. Naughtybookjunkie says:

    I’m very worried because while self-publishing has come a long way, sometimes authors need a limitation as not to overload with too much info. I hope it goes well though since I’m obsessed with the series and excited about new characters/location!

    I haven’t been able to read anything of Lara Adrian since Deeper than Midnight, but doesn’t look like I have missed much…

    • kaleigha says:

      I actually didn’t follow Lara Adrian after she went self-pubbed, but I had been thinking of dropping the Midnight Breeds even before that happened. For me, the Elder Races is one I really like, so I will be following along.

  5. Jean says:

    I’m pleased she’s going to continue writing and has a plan in place to move forward. I’ll keep tracking down her work in whatever format it comes out in.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am glad the series isn’t wrapping up, too. I tend to favor the books that feature the Wyr, so a whole new set of them to follow would be welcome.

  6. Shannon says:

    So glad to hear she is going to keep this series going even with the business/publishing challenges. I love her Elder Races series. The new story arc heading to England sounds very intriguing. Also her new romantic suspense will be one I will definitely try. I like that style of book as well. 🙂

    Personally I do not care about the book format. I like ebooks better but also read paperbacks. However I can get them in my hands! LOL

Leave a Reply

