October’s Book of the Month and Giveaway…

giveaway bannerDarn it, I just realized now that I forgot to add my own personal pick of the month to the list, and that Rick Riordan‘s The Sword of Summer, the first book in the new Magnus Chase series. Oh, well, maybe I will do a separate giveaway later on to make up for it.

Anyways, back to business. Surprisingly, the book of the month this month is Jennifer Estep‘s second Black Blade book, Dark Heart of Magic. I didn’t know what would be chosen, but I didn’t see that one. It is a pretty crap month, for me at least, but at least I can maybe do some more damage to the TBR pile that way. If you would like to win a copy of Dark Heart of Magic, just leave a line in the comments section. Since this is the second book in a series, let me know if you haven’t read the first one and we can substitute that one, instead.

dark heart of magicSynopsis…

Something Wicked This Way Comes…

As a thief, I stick to the shadows as much as possible. But when the head of the Sinclair Family picks me to compete in the Tournament of Blades, there’s no escaping the spotlight—or the danger.

Even though he’s my competition, Devon Sinclair thinks I have the best shot at winning what’s supposed to be a friendly contest. But when the competitors start having mysterious “accidents,” it looks like someone will do anything to win—no matter who they hurt.

As if I didn’t have enough to worry about, mobster Victor Draconi is plotting against Devon and the rest of my friends, and someone’s going around Cloudburst Falls murdering monsters. One thing’s for sure. Sometimes, humans can be more monstrous than anything else…

I liked the first one. I did find the tiny little faerie servants threw me off a bit, but once I got used to them I got back into the story. I think I need a refresher on it before I get this one, too.

19 thoughts on “October’s Book of the Month and Giveaway…

  1. Ashley says:

    Hi! I really enjoyed this author’s previous series and would love to try this one, although I haven’t read the first. Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

    P.S. I just wanted to say you have an awesome blog! I recently came across it and now check it daily.

  2. donna says:

    I just recently added Cold Burn of Magic to my wish list for this month to read. I love Jennifer Estep and looking forward to this new series. Thanks for your generous heart. I love everything about your website and can’t imagine the time you expend with all the guides, keeping up with all the series and giving so much insight into what to expect.

  3. cheryl says:

    I will cross my fingers and hope. I really liked the first one in the series.
    I was quite surprised and tried it out even though it is more young adult than I usually read. Thanks for the contest.

  4. barbed1951 says:

    I voted for this one, I love anything Jennifer Estep writes. I haven’t read the first one yet, but have it on the top of my TBR. 😀

Leave a Reply

