Not Quite as Loyal As I Thought I Was…

question-markAs I was doing my usual hunting/stalking of several authors recently, I came across a Facebook post by Kim Harrison where she announced a Barnes and Noble buy one, get one half off sale that featured her newest release, The Drafter. What really surprised me, though, was that Kim said it was a “Last ditch effort to sell this book (which has failed miserably.)” Reading that really caught me off guard, because I don’t think I have ever seen an author be quite that honest. It also got me thinking about a few things, like just how loyal I really am.

Kim’s The Hollows series was quite popular, yet it seems that maybe her fanbase didn’t follow her to her new work. For some reason, I just figured that they would, but then I realized that I don’t always follow that rule myself. There are a couple of authors that I follow, no matter what. Nalini Singh and Ilona Andrews, to be precise. They write, I read. It doesn’t matter what – subject, format, price – I am there. But after that, there are no guarantees. I faithfully read Thea Harrison‘s Elder Races books, but her Game of Shadows books are probably in the next pile I will be giving away still unread. Chloe Neill‘s The Veil is still on Mount TBR. Ditto for Larissa Ione‘s Moonbound Clan Vampires, and even the Fallen Angels series from J.R. Ward hasn’t grabbed me yet…and the Bourbon Kings doesn’t tempt me at all.

Are you surprised that Kim is calling The Drafter a failure? Do you follow an author from one world into the other without question, or are you more hit and miss, like me? What authors do you follow, no matter what?

50 thoughts on “Not Quite as Loyal As I Thought I Was…

  1. Liz says:

    For me, Nalini is a must read for the guild hunter series. Chloe Neill’s The Veil? I am staring at it right now. It’s on a pile and I don’t know if I will bother. I am reading her first series, but I can take it or leave it. I loved Rachel Caine’s new Library series and hated to see the Morganville series end. Julie Kagawa is another author I stick with no matter what she writes. JR Ward, Kresley Cole and Lara Adrian….they aren’t must reads anymore.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, I am circling The Veil, too. I keep shifting it around the pile, but that is about all the action it has seen so far. I like the Chicagoland Vampires books, but not rabid about them (sort of upper middle tier for me. And yes, sadly, I do have author tiers). I have about half of the Morganville books left, and they are in my near-future, but I hadn’t heard anything about the new series. The covers sure are pretty, though. I still don’t mind Ward or Cole, but I ended up dropping Lara Adrian all together. I like that you are a mix of adult and young adult, too. I am more picky on my YA reads lately, but still loving both.

  2. MJ says:

    How interesting that you started this great discussion. My must reads (from this genre) are also Nalini and Ilona, as well as Kresley Cole (IAD), Gena Showalter (LOU and AOD), Sherrilyn Kenyon (Hunter and League), Patricia Briggs, Carrie Vaughn, and JD Tyler (Alpha Pack). I also like JR Rain and Annie Nicholas, though I’m particular about their releases. Interestingly enough, as much as I loved Kelly Armstrong’s “Otherworld” series, I haven’t read anything else that grabbed me. I no longer read her books. I attempted JR Ward’s Fallen Angels series, but it didn’t stick either. I’m too am surprised that Kim Harrison was so bluntly honest, and saying that, I would not read anything from her.

    • kaleigha says:

      I loved the Women of the Otherworld, too, and the Cainsville series is one of my favorites, but I didn’t follow her outside of the PNR/UF stuff – I picked up a YA contemporary mystery and made it about 50 pages before I gave it away. I do have the first book of Kim Harrison’s Hollows series on the TBR, but what is holding me back is that I like a focused love interest. Not a few potentials, not a series of guys, but one love interest. From what I understand, Rachel Morgan only gets to the single love interest a while into the series, and that throws me off. It is the same thing that is messing with my Jane Yellowrock reading. Bruiser? Ricky? Leo? Bugs me, and takes me out of the story.

      • Iain says:

        I was really into the Hollows for the first 6 books, but was really disappointed when Harrison backed off on the non-traditional love interest that was so heavily invested in early on… I eventually finished the series, but after a long break.

        • kaleigha says:

          That is what is making me hesitate. I get invested in the relationship, or even the potential relationship, then it changes. Throws me way off.

  3. Shira says:

    Hi. This is my first comment, but I’ve been reading your blog for some time and love the character guides and cover reveals.
    I, too, follow Nalini no matter what. Thea Harrison and Patricia Briggs (both of whom I discovered at your site!) also have my loyalty (though I haven’t read the earlier contemporary books by Nalini and Thea). (I actually enjoyed Game of Shadows very much. It had less humor than Elder Races but I liked the historical bits like Gabriel and Raphael being the “princes in the tower.”)
    I thought Jennifer L. Armentrout had it, too, but after reading the later volumes of Lux series and the Dark Elements, and failing to finish Don’t Look Back, I reconsidered.
    The writers grow, too. I think it’s a matter of whether the direction in which they grow matches yours.

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Shira…thanks! Glad you found some great authors here. I haven’t done the earlier contemporary books, either. I know Nalini is re-releasing them, too, but I haven’t gotten there. I do love me some Jennifer L. Armentrout, but I didn’t manage to finish Don’t Look Back, either. In fact, I don’t read anything under her J. Lynn brand, either. New Adult contemporary is one of my absolute least favorite things – I always end up disappointed.

  4. renpuspita says:

    Author release a new book and also part of new series is always a gamble. Idk with Kim Harrison, but I assumed her Hollow fans maybe just love The Hollow series and not give her new book a chance. Who’s knows.

    For me, Nalini Singh still my author to go, but just for Guild Hunter only. Psy-Changeling, I hate the format changing so that’s why I always wait the paperback version. Though, I still set them aside and read another. I’m not ecstatic with her Rock series, simply because rocker/band plot doesn’t interest me much. It a little bit sad to see some of my favorite PNR author jump into conrom/NA bandwagon just because the market said so. That is the reason why I’m still postponed reading Gena Showalter’s newest conrom book. Author like Kresley Cole, Ilona Andrews, G.A.Aiken, I still read their book, but not as enthusiast like before.

    I think, reader taste of reading are evolved, like what I feel. I used to read so many PNR titles until I’m burned out. Now, I choose UF or traditional fantasy, and read romance just a few.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have never, ever been a fan of “celebrity romance” books – rock stars, models, athletes – what have you. They never seem realistic somehow. You can be a vampire and I totally buy it, but not an actor? I am weird. Anyways, if it was anyone other than Nalini, I wouldn’t have given it a second look.

      Not a fan at all of the contemporary new adult romances. At all. Bleargh. I have tried a few, and I can’t think of one I have managed to finish. I avoid those puppies like the plague.

      • Monika says:

        I feel like you, Kal, I never was into celebrity romance, and for the same reason. It is much easier to suspend disbelief in a “fantasy world” than the “real world”. It’s strange, I wouldn’t have given the Rock Kiss series a chance either, if it wasn’t by Nalini, and now, here I am, reading “rock romance” books left and right: because I loved J. T. Geissinger’s Night Prowler series I also picked up book one in her Bad Habit series and it isn’t half bad (though it has some issues) and on a recommendation by Nalini I also tried “Rise” by Karina Bliss and was surprised how much I liked it (it is also kind of a “redemption” story and I seem to be a sucker for those).

        • kaleigha says:

          Yeah, hard to explain how PNR could be more believable than being a star, but there you go. I totally forgot about the Night Prowler books…I know I had some of them, too. Hmm.

      • Iain says:

        As a dude, contemporary romances are like my deeply guilty pleasure (facilitated mostly by having an e-reader). I haven’t tried Nalini Singh’s yet, but I enjoyed Olivia Cunning’s entries (Sinners on Tour, One Night with Sole Regret, haven’t tried Exodus End yet but will). Haven’t reproduced the success, tho, with other rock romances…

        No models/billionaires really…

        Most athlete romances I’ve read are retired athletes and/or now coach kids, and are generally trying to ride under the celebrity radar.

        If there’s a sub-genre I’ve probably exhausted its foodie romances… Bakers… chefs… restauranteurs… all the food descriptions 😀

        In all this I stick to adult adult… no YA/NA… those usually sneak into my UF/PNR.

        • MJ says:

          I too enjoy Olivia Cunning’s One Night with Sole Regret series. I actually am a fan of contemporary romances which are my guilty pleasure as well. But I am not sure I will try Nalini’s new series. I haven’t yet imagined her writing outside of the Paranormal genre.
          As far as the YA books, the only ones that I have kept up with are Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments, James Patterson’s Teen Detective and Maximum Ride, and everything Rick Riordan.

  5. tomehunter says:

    I’ll read anything from Nalini Singh and Judith McNaught. And I’m also looking forward to the next book from The Others series by Anne Bishop. IAD is still good but there’s no new book yet and it’s still the only one I like from Kresley Cole. I’m now reading some high fantasy stuff. Also currently reading the Tairen Soul series by C. L. Wilson.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yep, looking forward to the next Others book, too. You don’t have long to wait for the next IAD, but I do hope it can re-spark my interest in the series. Kresley listed 8 facts about Sweet Ruin (Sweet Ruin? So completely a young adult title, I swear) over on her facebook page. It does make it sound interesting…

      1. This story will push the Accession forward in a major way
      2. This is the 2nd longest book in the IAD series
      3. I chose to release this story before others because I’m setting up future conflicts (it needed to come before Munro’s, Furie’s, Cara’s, and Thad’s)
      4. AND because I wanted to introduce Orion, a male who will play a huge role in Nïx’s future
      5. AND because I wanted to introduce Darach Lyka, the 1st Lykae and the alpha of his species. (Remember the guy from the Living Book of Lore, the human male who was bitten and rose from the dead as a Lykae? We’ll meet him in Sweet Ruin!)
      6. You’ll see Thaddeus as an adorable little kid (his favorite word is fuggoff)
      7. You’ll travel to new realms. Ruin’s weekender is on Tortua, a pleasure plane, and has a glass floor to view the story beneath it. Ahem
      8. You’ll meet most of the Møriør, who’ve had to deal with Nïx’s diabolical side (we all know she’s done some shady things to her ALLIES—now you’ll see her in action against her ENEMIES. Not for the faint of heart!)

  6. L. says:

    I lost interest in the Women of the Otherworld series a long time ago as well as Chloe Neill’s books (because I stopped re-reading her Chicago books before new one’s came out and then I got lost). I thought the Morganville Vampire series was interesting but something about it bugged me – angsty? too stressful? I gave up on Jennifer Estep too because they felt unrelievedly stressful. I always read Shelly Laurenston’s/G.A.Aiken’s books. I love Ilona Andrews books but unfortunately I’ve put their most recent series on my TBR pile and just don’t see it leaving there. I love Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series but I’m unfortunately not interested in reading her Guildhunters series. I thought her Rock series was a miss until I got halfway through the first book. It picked up for me after that. I’m also enjoying Meghan Ciana Doidge’s Dowser series. As a non-UF change of pace, I’ve been reading Jana DeLeon’s Miss Fortune series and Shaye Archer series.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was doing a Women of the Otherworld marathon while watching the first season of Bitten, and I had a blast. I did like some arcs better than others, to be sure, but I think the show got me more excited for the books. Ilona Andrews’ Burn for Me was a total favorite of mine right from the start, but the wait for the second one is hard. And long.

  7. Monika says:

    I agree that the reason is partly that reader tastes evolve over time. When I was a lot younger I even used to read Barbara Cartland. For a long time I was mainly into romance (historical, contemporary, romantic thriller and PNR), but for the last two years or so (ever since I discovered this blog) my tastes turned more towards UF. I like that we follow characters over some time and I also love how the city/landscape is almost like a character, too. The authors I am most loyal to are Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, Nora Roberts, JAK and Sara Paretsky and Donna Leon (my two favorite crime authors). But I don’t think its just my tastes that have changed (after all, I still love to reread the early books of Christine Feehan, Sherrilyn Keynon, Laurell K. Hamilton) but I do feel those authors are not putting out the same quality as they used to. It’s normal that every author now and then has a book you don’t like as much as the others in the series, but as long as the next one is great again, that’s ok. But if the books go downhill steadily, I maybe hang on for 3-5 books, but then the series is dead for me. I still might pick up a book by that author, but it’s not that I go to Netgalley trying to score a review copy, so that I can read it before almost everybody else, because waiting is just torture.
    I am afraid I am fickle that way: if Nalini or Ilona stop providing the quality reads that they have gotten me used to, I am going to ditch them, too, but I don’t see that happening, as Archangel’s Enigma is one of my favorites in the GH series so far and I can’t wait for White Hot.

    • kaleigha says:

      I was like that with Kresley Cole. She was probably my number one writer for years, but then…something changed. I don’t think it was me, because I went into each book completely ready to love it. If anything, my favorites have way more slack than other authors do because just getting my hands on the book makes me happy. But with Kresley, my excitement just sort of dropped off. Its like they don’t have the spark for me that they had, and that is sad. I still have hopes that the next book will grab me again, but then I have been saying that for the last couple of books, too.

  8. Tina says:

    I really like j r ward, but o love Katie Macalister, she has a great sense of humour and storyline is brilliant I am running out of authors and don’t know what to read next. Got on to Kate Douglas. Not bad. Not fussed on stories on one person in a series

  9. Iain says:

    I find my author loyalty slowly growing… when I first started exploring author portfolios, I had some false starts and bad reads, so I generally don’t try genre changes anymore by an author.

    I also don’t consider linked series author loyalty as you mean it… I read Dark-Hunter/Were-Hunter/Dream-Hunter/Hellchaser/Chronicles of Nick by Sherrilyn Kenyon, but they’re really just one big mega-series… same with Patricia Brigg’s Mercy Thomspon/Alpha & Omega… Karen Chance’s Cassandra Palmer/Dorina Basarab… and a few others…

    In the past year, tho, I’ve read The Edge/Innkeeper Chronicles/Hidden Legacy by Ilona Andrews and enjoyed them just as much as or more than Kate Daniels… same with Guild Hunter/Psy-Changeling by Nalini Singh… InCryptid/October Daye/Newsflesh by Seanan McGuire/Mira Grant… Dragon Kin/Pride by Shelly Laurenston/GA Aiken… probably missed a few

    Some authors I’m reading multiple series by, like Diana Rowland’s Kara Gillian and White Trash Zombie series, but not terribly attached to either despite being caught up on one…

    Most other authors I haven’t even considered perusing their other works… I never read JR Ward’s or Gena Showalter’s companion angel series… and I’ve pretty much quit BDB at #9… I quit Morganville Vampires after the Lord of Misfortune plotline ended since it seemed like a good stopping point… same with the Mab plotline in Elemental Assassin, for the longest time, altho I’ve been feebly continuing off and on for a while now…

    I read about 50 pages of The Veil and haven’t returned so that might be a lost cause… I finished Drafter, but if bad sales stall the trilogy out I wouldn’t be too affected…

    I did finally read/listen to Moonbound Clan last month, tho, and REALLY enjoyed it… kinda kicked myself for not reading them sooner… altho people who haven’t read them yet wouldn’t be too pained to wait… apparently she’s hoarding the next 3 books in the series to release back-to-back eventually..

    • kaleigha says:

      I sort of went the opposite way. I have been trying to pare down my author list, and I am way, way more selective about buying for the last year or so. The TBR was such a monster, filled with so many books that I wanted to read but knew I would never get to, that I had to change the way I bought books. I still consider the pile way too big, but now I add very little to it. I manage to read what comes in before it ever hits the pile, and I can usually read one out of the TBR every week, too.

      I wondered about the Moonbound Clan books – there hasn’t been much word about them, and I think that is part of why I didn’t try them out. I like the idea of back-to-back releases, though. I thought it was great with the recent Lori Handeland series…all three came out within a matter of a couple of months, and it was so easy to stay fresh with the details.

      • Iain says:

        I think another aspect I skipped over is that some of those authors I read immediately, and others I catch up on eventually… reading 5-6 books/novellas/shorts a week, for the last 3 years… almost exclusively in the adult UF/PNR/Contemporary genres and sticking to newer books mostly… and it feels like you get to every good book you know of in the genre eventually…

        My TBR pile is mostly digital and maintained on goodreads… just add anything that catches my eye on there and when I’m scrounging for a new book to read outside of my paused series I peruse the list…

      • Emily says:

        The Moonbound Clan- my experience with it was that it was just a really weird premise to accept. Vampires as slaves? How the heck does that happen when they’re supposed to be the super tough supernatural heroes? I did, however, love the setup for the second book at the end of book 1, so I was going to give it another try. Haven’t worked up to it yet, though.

        • Iain says:

          From the get-go it reminded me of Shifters Unbound… which is set in a world where Fae created Shifters, Shifters emancipated, and once humans learned of them a half-Fae half-Human created a magical collar that shocks Shifters when they try to become agressive… Shifters are segregated and the series plot is heading towards their inevitable emancipation/domination…

          Moonbound Clan does that with Vampires… thanks to similar growing anti-vampire technology…

          It all comes down to the usual reasons supernaturals hide their existence… there are always more humans than supernaturals… and at the first sign of trouble, the human response is war/extermination

          • kaleigha says:

            I like the Shifters Unbound series…a little different, but not too “out there”, er, you know, for a book about shifters. Man, I think I am a couple of books behind on this one, too.

            • Iain says:

              Me too, if only because she shot out so many novellas this summer… I feel like this pack of collar-less shifters might finally propel the collar plotline forward some more

  10. PhoenixFyre says:

    I follow ALL of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s series. Dark-Hunter, Chronicles of Nick, and the League. She has NEVER disappointed me with her series and I always look forward to the next book. JR Ward is also a favorite of mine and I read ALL of her series. I love reading multiple POV’s and JR does it fantastically. Lara Adrian I totally enjoy. Jeaniene Frost never disappointed me. Yeah, I miss Bones and Cat. Charlaine Harris ended up being a huge disappointment with Sookie after a while. I also loved Deborah Harkness’s All Souls Trilogy.

    • PhoenixFyre says:

      I forgot to add Christine Feehan’s GhostWalkers series which is fantastic and enjoying the Leopard series.

      For Contemporary romance? For me there is no author as fantastic as Kristen Ashley. She keeps you addicted and waiting for the next book for all of her series. Totally amazing writer. So far none of her books earned less than **** 1/2 stars.

      • kaleigha says:

        I miss Cat and Bones, too, but I still have hopes of an Ian story with them featured, as well. Spade and Mencheres were fine, but Ian is my main guy. Hard to see the Night Huntress world end, that is for sure. I didn’t like Jeanine’s newest series, though – New adult and I don’t like each other. Not sure why, but just can’t do the NA. The Ghostwalkers are one of my top series, but I hope the last book was just a hiccup and not the new direction for the series, because as I have said before it felt more like a Breeds book than a Ghostwalker. I like the Breeds, too, but I missed my old Ghostwalkers.

  11. Naughtybookjunkie says:

    I used to be loyal to Lora Leigh/Lara Adrian/Lynsay Sands/Sherrilyn Kenyon/Christine Feehan/J.R. Ward and until recently Thea Harrison. The minute I would finish a book I was searching for the smallest tid bit about the next story. As soon as the books were live in Amazon I would pre-order if it was coming on eBook first, or B&N for paperback/hardback because I could pick it up at my local store.
    Now I follow some series because I’m attached to characters or want to see how it will end. So I read the books when not in the mood for anything specific, too bored or need to clear up space.

    There are some authors like Lauren Dane, that I’m still loyal to because their writing doesn’t make me cringe or have to play a game just to get through all the errors. The only problem is that I’m no longer interested in reading the contemporary genre as much as I used to. Same problem for Robyn Carr.

    Now Nalini Singh or Shelly Laurenston are my comfort reads. I don’t even care to read the blurbs, I’m just buying. Any information is gold and I have lost count of how many times I have re-read their series! If I stumble upon a bad book, these are the only authors that can clear my brain.

  12. kaleigha says:

    Ah, I have that OCD/greedy thing going on in spades. Hunting down any bit of info, stalking the blogs (even Facebook, which I can’t stand), checking Goodreads and Amazon all the time. Completely guilt of that one, but the list of authors that I am stalkery on has dwindled a bit, thank god.

  13. Brenda says:

    I’m in the same boat. I still love NSingh (but only psy-changlings), GShowalter/LIone/JWard are losing me.
    KCole is still a favorite across her genre board but now I think Kristan Higgins’ contemporaries has got her beat as my #1 (I just laugh and cry every single time I read her books). Also, historical authors like Sarah MacLean are gaining ground as my must haves over my paranormals.
    Every YA I’ve started lately – The Ascenders, Miss Peregrin’s Home/Peculiar, Gone, Darkest Minds, 5th Wave – have been “eh”.
    I’ll give some of y’all suggestions above a go though! *crossing fingers*

  14. Stephanie says:

    I’m shocked that there are hardly any Larissa Ione fans in this batch. I’m loyal to her but unfortunately I couldn’t get into her Moon Clan series. I plan on trying again soon though. But I’m a huge Nalini fan also, love her Guild Series. Kresley was my top spot author but the interest is falling fast. I think MacRieve was the falling point for me. I’m ashamed to say that I still read Lora Leigh Breeds series also, her latest books have been epic fail but I still read them. I think I’m so invested in this mess I can’t get out. I haven’t read Thea Harrison Dragon series. I’ve heard theres alot of humor in it, so I’m gonna check them out.

  15. cheryl says:

    My loyalty to authors depends on the series… as an example I loved the Amy Lane “little goddess” series and it had every type of otherworld/fae character you could ever want… a bit more bedroom antics in the stories but I could skip if necessary and it took me a while to get used to the chapters being a different pov for all the characters. I have to say once you finished book one … you had to have book 2. Fast forward to author changing publishers and story lines and poof went the original series. I tried some of her others and they are well written but I just am not into only m/m stories… makes me sad that she left that original series and basically wish I wouldn’t have read the last book in it.
    Jennifer Estep is a favorite author but I haven’t read her last two books in the Assassin series books… just me, I think, the stories just weren’t holding my attention anymore.
    I will wait forever for the next Anne Bishop book in theseries. The Others…. it is that good!
    The Jane Yellowrock series written by Faith Hunter is just as good as Bishop. However, her first trilogy was good but I think a stepping stone to Jane Yellowrock stories but I do own it in those horrible sized trade paperbacks.It did,however, make me try the Jane Yellowrock series.
    Eileen Wilks, Catherine Coulter, J.T. Ellison, Kay Hooper will always be in my buy list but I have narrowed down my get it now no matter what it costs list.
    I have learned my lesson and any major genre change I get from my library and check it out before I buy it. I read, as a rule, about 1 to 2 books a week … I listen to more than I read lately but I get more reading done while doing chores, anyway… the point is .. it is really hard to find a new favorite author who doesn’t change genre’s and tries to follow the latest selling trend.
    So I guess the final verdict is I am not that loyal because I like certain stories/plots more than others and have basically given up on contemporary romance and am starting to drift toward UF more, along with my PNR addiction.

  16. Emily says:

    I will read anything by Nalini Singh, Sherrilyn Kenyon, or J.R. Ward. Why? Because I have yet to be disappointed. That’s not to say that I have loved EVERY SINGLE book, but it seems like no matter what series or genre ,they are always at the top of their game. I fell in love with Psy/Changlings, but Rock Kiss is pretty great, too. I loved the Black Dagger Brotherhood and Fallen Angels series, but Bourbon Kings still blew my mind. I love my Dark Hunters more than life itself, but the futuristic world of the League series is the best adrenaline rush ever. I think what sets these authors (and some others) apart is the fact that they don’t seem to set any limits for themselves, and definitely aren’t afraid to try new things.

    • PhoenixFyre says:

      I agree with you 100%. Sherrilyn Kenyon and JR Ward keep me on a roller-coaster ride. And no one can turn your emotions like Sherrilyn Kenyon. I love that she answers questions on both Goodreads and her FB page and has such a sense of humor. JR is hysterical also especially at her Q&A’s.

  17. Ashley says:

    J.R. Ward used to be an author I read religiously but her black dagger brotherhood series has been flagging. Her Fallen Angel series is worth the read if you read the while series back to back. Too much time between books will take away from a lot of the story.

    • kaleigha says:

      That is what I am thinking – I might pull a marathon, or a couple of mini marathons, and just tackle the Fallen Angels books in one big pile. I find I get more involved that way.

  18. Iain says:

    All this talk about author loyalty really has me thinking how many series I still read that are starting to flag in their longevity… Dark-hunter comes to mind, as well as Lords of the Underworld, personally… and a lot of people have mentioned Black Dagger Brotherhood (I stopped at 9), Kresley Cole, and Christine Feehan…

    It’s interesting how some authors/series stay strong year after year, and others start to wilt a little… I’ve enjoyed all but 1-2 books in the Psy-Changeling, Chicagoland Vampires, Pride/Magnus Pack, Argeneau Vampire, and Demonica series… among others… and the authors have managed to bounce back despite perceived or accepted missteps along the way…

    • kaleigha says:

      As much as I hate to see it, sometimes a series should just wrap up. Something like Nalini’s Psy/Changelings or Lora Leigh’s the Breeds could conceivably go on forever. There are so, so many characters that need their stories told, and new characters are strategically added as the series goes on. But when an author has to start scrambling to add new characters at the 11th hour to keep the series going, it starts to show.

  19. Andrea says:

    I’ve never commented here before, but I REALLY appreciate your character guides.

    I have a smaller set of writers I read (darn work, it cuts into my reading!), but Nalini is always #1. I’d also add Meljean Brook, and I just devoured Thea Harrison’s Eldar series, haven’t tried the news one yet. Lisa Shearin has 2 series going that aren’t as different as Guild Hunter and Psy Changling, but the’re clever and funny. Bec McMaster has a nice paranormal/ steampunk series going which I quite enjoyed.

    Regarding JR Ward, while I still read the Black Dagger Brotherhood I gave up on the Fallen Angels (part way through the 3rd book) and am not tempted by the Bourbon dudes. Her earlier works, some written as Jessica Bird are actually not bad, less convoluted and contrived, and she has a few characters in there she should go back to IMHO and write (2 O’Banyon brothers), rather than the dark road she seems to be going down.

    Keep up the excellent guides, and thanks for all the work that goes into them,

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Andrea…thanks! Glad you took the time to post, too. I have Meljean Brook on my TBR, and I am looking forward to it. Meh, the Bourbon dudes don’t draw me, either (I usually get disappointed when I step into that genre, so not going there). Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

