New Series Alerts…

There is just one new series to take a peek at this week, and it comes from author Laura Anne Gilman. Silver on the Road is the first book of The Devil’s West series.

silver on the road

Isobelle, upon her sixteenth birthday, makes the choice to work for the devil in his territory west of the Mississippi. But this is not the devil you know. This is a being who deals fairly with immense—but not unlimited—power, who offers opportunities to people who want to make a deal, and they always get what they deserve. But his land is a wild west that needs a human touch, and that’s where Izzy comes in. Inadvertently trained by him to see the clues in and manipulations of human desire, Izzy is raised to be his left hand and travel circuit through the territory. As we all know, where there is magic there is chaos…and death.

Purchase at Amazon.com

October isn’t a huge month for me – in fact, I don’t think there are any new series I will be checking out all month. I guess that is a good thing, right?

3 thoughts on “New Series Alerts…

  1. Iain says:

    I think I might check this out… I’ve been dipping my toe into some new-to-me subgenres recently…

    Dieselpunk (Grimnoir)… I love Seanan McGuires Weird West prequel shorts to the InCryptid series

    • kaleigha says:

      Anytime I have strayed outside of my comfort zone in the last few months I have been disappointed. Hope you have better luck, though.

  2. Iain says:

    The more I read the blurb the more I realize young woman apprenticed to mysterious older man is a genre stereotype… and after reading the wonderful Uprooted by Naomi Novik a few months back I dunno how this can hold up next to it regardless…

Leave a Reply

