Reading Wrap Up…

booksIt has been a while since I have done one of these posts, mostly because I found I didn’t have much to say. A good portion of my reading was re-reading books to get caught up on the character guides, like finishing off the Drake Sisters series, for example. I have to say, I really enjoyed diving back into that world, and I was surprised by how many links to the more recent Sisters of the Heart series I had forgotten. I have a theory that somehow Jackson Deveau’s biker gang past will somehow tie into the whole Evan Shackler-Gratsos scumbag situation, for example. It will be interesting to see how Christine Feehan will expand the world past the current series, since the current one will be wrapping up in the next couple of books.

I am also still trying to work my way through the Jane Yellowrock series from Faith Hunter. It is still giving me a bit of grief, and I still can’t tell you why. The only thing I can think of is that there is no strictly defined love interest (as of Raven Cursed, that is), and it is throwing me off. It has everything else I like in a series, but I have to force myself to pick up the books and I struggle to keep interested for the first 2/3’s, but I usually breeze through the action-packed endings. Even so, I am determined to keep at it.

Brighter Than the Sun was a surprise. I liked it, but I was for some reason surprised by just how dark it was. Any Charley Davidson fans of course know that Reyes had a brutal childhood, but to see it played out was hard and caught me a bit off guard. I guess that I am so used to Darynda Jones writing Charley with snark and humor that I assumed Reyes would be written the same way. He wasn’t, and he shouldn’t have been, because that just isn’t him. You don’t need to read this novella to keep up with the series, but it was a great way to see what makes Reyes tick.

Finally, I pulled a Rick Riordan mini-marathon and read his Kane Chronicles trilogy. It was…ok. It didn’t engage me like either the Percy Jackson books or the Heroes of Olympus series, but it was still a decent read. As of right now, I am almost half way through the new Magnus Chase series, too. I did decide to maybe drop the kiddie books, though. Young adult is one thing, but I think that the middle grade stuff is pushing it.

What did you read and love recently? Any standouts, either good or bad?

16 thoughts on “Reading Wrap Up…

  1. Erin S. Burns says:

    I’ve been rereading que a bit too lately. Some for a new release that I needed to get my head in, and the rest for comfort. Though I did just finish Aiken’s Feel the Burn, which I enjoyed tremendously.

  2. Iain says:

    My reading has been all over the place lately… started a lot of books I haven’t finished yet… in the middle of a half dozen audiobooks I keep jumping between…

    I did finish Guild Hunter (sad to be out of books to read there)… started a few new series (Cassandra Palmer = like/paused… Raven Investigation = disliked/quit… Baba Yaga/Wickedly = liked/oops PNR…)… I really thought the Baba Yaga books were UF and followed a single Baba Yaga… probably because all the novellas are about the book 1 characters

    Did some new release catch-up… (Base Instincts, Lion Eyes, Devoted in Death)… Lion Eyes was a bit weak, but otherwise liked…

    In the middle of some good audiobook trilogies… (Grimnoir = really good 1930s, House Immortal = I liked the 1st book best but will listen to 3rd when released)

    Even got some YA in… (Crushed by Eliza Crewe in the Soul-Eater trilogy… I really feel like I would have turned evil in this one in a similar situation… all the Templar-prejudice)

    But with all my false-starts recently, what I’ve really read a lot has been a ton of contemporary/fluff-romance… my fallback/palate cleanse genre… 2 Neighbor from Hell books… the beginning of Lauren Dane’s Ink & Chrome series… most of Lauren Drewry’s Friend First series (I feel like I should have found this author sooner… her book blurbs literally mention Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis and I’ve read 49 of their books combined)

    Darynda Jones actually made a WARNING blog post about Brighter than the Sun… don’t let the name fool you, it’s the darkest story in the series so far…

    I, too, have had some difficult to articulate problems with Faith Hunter… over the past year I’ve read the 1st book and listened to the next 2… but never back-to-back… I always need a break, and I can’t quite say why… part of it is the romance angle… not nearly as much happens in that department as you’d think considering the time spent on it and the opinions expressed…

    • kaleigha says:

      The Faith Hunter thing is weird…no way I could marathon, either. And I usually take a break in the middle of the book because something else catches my attention. I always go back and finish, but I don’t have any driving need to do so. Good to know I am not on my own with that.

  3. Monika says:

    Loved Devoted in Death; I thought it had just the right pace, enjoyed all the recurring characters and also the new ones. The mystery part was solid, you could feel the urgency, maybe a little too much time spent on the psychology of the perpetrators. The only thing that got a bit on my nerves is that Eve forgot once again to warn Roark that she was bringing a strange man home (all perfectly innocent), but understandably upsetting for Roark, but that is Eve for you.
    I discovered that Laurann Dohner had new book in the New Species series out (she is one of my guilty pleasures). Numbers is actually two stories in one book; I really liked that they did not follow the usual pattern. Although sometimes the naivety of some of the characters makes me cringe it is also refreshing.
    I am a big fan of the Jane Yellowrock series. In principle I don’t mind if there isn’t a strong/steady love interest, but Jane thinking about it all the time and not getting any was starting to get tedious. Things are about to change in Broken Soul (@ Kal: if you like check out my review: https://www.amazon.com/review/R1X4WPAPTU7QTI/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm ).
    I was looking thru the book recommendations on Nalini’s blog and stumbled over Rise by Karina Bliss. Seriously, folks, I don’t much like rock romances (or any celebrity romance for that matter), but I liked Rise despite myself, it was certainly above average.
    At the moment I am immersed in Feel the Burn and loving it. Aiken’s Dragon Kin series (in my opinion her best series) is just so wacky and unconventional. But I would recommend to everybody to start with the first book to get the overarching story line. I do have a hard time to remember all the characters: for the life of me I cannot remember whether Brannie already had her story (and a mate) or if she and Aiden are set up to be the protagonists in the next novel.
    I am on the second book of Richelle Mead’s Succubus series and although it isn’t bad (and has in fact some good moments) somehow it feels just a bit too tepid and can’t really hold my attention.
    I tried Cynthia Eden’s Bite the Dust, the first book in her new Blood and Moonlight series and though it was ok too, this series won’t make it to my first tier (or even the second one), more like to the “an-ok-read-if-you-have-run-out-of-everything-else-tier”.
    I haven’t tackled Brighter Than The Sun yet, mostly because I am not a big fan of changing viewpoint within the same series and I wasn’t sure whether that Darynda Jones would manage to pull it off, but after reading the comments here I feel encouraged.

    • kaleigha says:

      God, the In Death series is one I do plan on reading, but the sheer number of books makes me cringe. I have the first three, and I know I will probably really enjoy them, but…but…numbers! Ah, Broken Soul, you say? Just a few more to go, then.

      You are so, so not alone on the Dragon Kin confusion. I kept wondering about Brannie, too. I thought she had her story, but it didn’t read like it and I was too lazy to go check. And the brothers all have blurred together for me, except big blue Eihbear.

      I haven’t tackled a Cynthia Eden book in forever. It is like she got lost in the shuffle for me. I still have three of her angel series books to read, too.

      • Monika says:

        I have finished with Feel the Burn, and though I enjoyed it immensely, it left me with another question: what happened to the mating “mark/tattoo”?! I thought that was a dragon thing, or was it only a Southlander thing? I kept waiting for Kachka to give Gaius grief over the mating mark, but it never happened… I think I have to go back and re-read the other stories…

          • Iain says:

            I think emphasis on the mating mark has dropped off since Keita and Ragnar’s book… Also, I could have sworn Branwen and Aiden already has a book, but guess not… apparently seeing people speculate they’d get the NEXT book for the last TWO books has messed with my head…

      • Iain says:

        In Death is probably my favorite audiobook series… I read the first 4 books in the series on my Kindle, but I was solving the cases WAAY too early…

        I gave it another go on audio at work, and it made all the difference… I love Peabody on audio… most of the others too… really starts to feel like watching a crime show without the visual…

  4. hotiedethknt says:

    I highly recommend the Other Series by Anne Bishop if you have not read or listen to that series yet. I love how Anne can take a character that most would consider weak and naive into a non physical Alpha in Meg. I am having trouble trying to put into words how I would describe Meg and how she is so different then the other female heroes in this type of genre.
    Another great series if you have not read it yet Sarah Maas (YA) Throne of Glass series, also for a more adult series by Maas is A Court of Thorns and Roses (Young Adult).
    Then of course their is always Ilona Andrews Kate Daniels series which never gets old.
    My favorite Richelle Meade series is her Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series. I also really enjoyed the Eugenie Markham Dark Swan series but that has a controversial ending that upset a lot of the readers.

    • kaleigha says:

      The Others is a great series. Very different, which is so hard to find nowadays. I don’t know how I would describe Meg, either, to be honest. She is completely different than most other heroines, though.

      I really liked A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I will so need a re-read before the second book comes out (title just revealed – A Court of Mist and Fury). But, please God, no love triangle. Throne of Glass languishes along with a million other books on Mount TBR. Sigh.

  5. Gabrielle says:

    Can’t wait to read Brighter than the Sun, but for some reason here in England, it doesn’t come out until the 5th November, which sucks 😦

    • kaleigha says:

      The late release date is weird, since it is in e-format. Waiting longer sucks when everyone else already has it. You are a good person, though, since a lot would’ve gone down the dark path and pirated it.

Leave a Reply

