Cover Lover – The Darkest Torment

Today is cover reveal day for Gena Showalter‘s next Lords of the Underworld book, The Darkest Torment. It is the first of the series to be released in hardcover, and it is due out on May 31st.

the darkest tormentDriven to his death by the demon of Distrust, Baden spent centuries in purgatory. Now he’s back, but at what cost? Bound to the king of the underworld, an even darker force, he’s unable to withstand the touch of another…and he’s quickly devolving into a heartless assassin with an uncontrollable temper. Things only get worse when a mission goes awry and he finds himself saddled with a bride—just not his own.

Famed dog trainer Katarina Joelle is forced to marry a monster to protect her loved ones. When she’s taken hostage by the ruthless, beautiful Baden immediately after the ceremony, she’s plunged into a war between two evils—with a protector more dangerous than the monsters he hunts. They are meant to be enemies, but neither can resist the passion burning between them…and all too soon the biggest threat is to her heart.

But as Baden slips deeper into the abyss, she’ll have to teach him to love…or lose him forever.

Hmm. I hadn’t given much thought to what the switch to hardcover would mean for cover design, honestly. Part of me can appreciate that they didn’t do a radical design change, keeping things continuous with the previous paperback books. But part of me thinks that the hardcover debut should be something more…grand, maybe. I am not sure that if I was new to the series that the cover above would make me give it a second look. Bare-chested dudes are eye-rolling but expected for a paperback, but on a hardcover? What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Cover Lover – The Darkest Torment

  1. mjanie63 says:

    All I can say is, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!! Since I purchase the series in audio format, I’m happy with the design as, like you said, it’s consistent with the others. However, I will say that I’m disappointed that Cameo’s story isn’t next. Baden isn’t really part of the original 12 from this series, and so far they have done everyone except Cameo. I realize that after The Darkest Touch, it could have gone either way, but still I’m disappointed. Hopefully after Baden’s story, they do Cameo’s.

    • kaleigha says:

      From the hints I have seen around from Gena, it sounds like Cameo’s story will be setting up soon, and then William. I am one of the rare ones that hopes that it isn’t Gilly that Willy ends up with, though.

  2. Iain says:

    I really should know better than to assume anything with Showalter… look what happened with Kane… Josephina isn’t the lady-Horseman daughter-of-William that it seemed Kane would end up with… look at Torin… Keeley Cael isn’t the chick Cronus set Torin up with in Kane’s book… so why did I jump on the bandwagon with everyone that Baden would end up with Pandora… a known commodity…

    At this point I just hope Showalter doesn’t just throw away Lazarus and start again from scratch when her turn finally arrives…

    I don’t really pay too much attention to the covers… as long as theres a butterfly tattoo its cohesive enough for me… but the covers do seem to have pulled away from side angles… last 2 covers now are head on…

    • kaleigha says:

      I totally forgot about the horse-people. To be honest, at this point, I am fuzzy on a lot of the remaining players. I so need a re-read for this one it isn’t even funny.

  3. Iain says:

    yea… I’m rusty on the smaller characters, too… pretty clear on the main ones tho… did a little goodreads loading to remember previous book characters… I saw a reviewer tho that listed like triple the couples/characters I remembered that could have books, but Gena has nixed a few already apparently… here’s the list:

    “After this book I have a feeling that the order will be: Cameo & Lazarus, Galen & Legion and then maybe Pandora & someone. I really think that Pandora is/was Keeper of Curiosity. Why else would she open The Box in the first place?

    With the three of them, Pandora’s Box arc (13 Warriors + traitor (Galen) + keeper (Pandora)) would be over. And then would follow William & Gilly, Cronus & Rhea (possibly novella), Hades & Taliyah, Pukinn & Winter and MAYBE/HOPEFULLY Cameron & Viola. Can you imagine Keeper of Obssesion & Keeper of Narcissism getting together? It would be chaos!”

    From what I remember… Taliyah is the last unmated Harpy sister, who wanted that castle for a year as payment… Pukinn & Winter are the other prisoners from Torin’s book… I’d forgotten Cameron, but I think he was the 3rd and final named prisoner

Leave a Reply

