Weekly Wrap Up…

booksWow.

My last weekly wrap up was in September. So, maybe this should be called my bi-monthly wrap up, instead?

I have been cutting back on my random buying, so I have been being good and tackling my ever dwindling TBR mountain. One book that had been on the pile for much too long is Light My Fire, the seventh book in the Dragon Kin series from G.A. Aiken. This one was a lot of fun, and got me back in the mood for the next one. I surprised myself by remembering almost all of the characters, and that is a definite achievement for this series. Now, on to Gaius!

I also managed to read Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini. It was a decent read – sort of middle of the road for me, but I still picked up the second one to see how things go.

Also on the young adult side of things, I read Gena Showalter‘s third and fourth White Rabbit Chronicles books, The Queen of Zombie Hearts and A Mad Zombie Party. I was all proud that I wrapped up another series on my pile, but I was left with the feeling that there is still more to come. Maybe a spin-off featuring Kat and River?

And I finally broke down and bought Dragos Goes to Washington, a novella in the Elder Races series by Thea Harrison. I am not a huge novella fan, since I will never be an e-book lover, but there was enough going on in this one that I am really glad I didn’t skip it.

That is about all that I can remember, since it has been so long. My “master plan” to tackle my TBR pile plods along, and I can proudly say that I have gotten that sucker down to under 200. Not only have I been reading out of it, but I am trying really hard to not add any new books to the pile by reading them as they come in. I did have a few slip by me recently, but the fight continues. My goal for 2016 is to get it down to under 100, but that might be pushing things. How has your reading gone lately? Discover any new treasure, or find any new authors?

7 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up…

  1. Iain says:

    I treated your Reading Wrapup on October 16th as one of these posts…

    Continuing to read an inordinate amount of Contemporary myself… read all four 2015 Fool’s Gold books, Laura Drewry’s Friends First series, and Tara Sivec’s Chocoholic spinoff from Chocolate Lovers

    Read 3 different Grace Draven books that were varying degrees of Beauty and the Beast stories: Entreat Me (ok), Master of Crows (liked), and Radiance (loved)

    Continued on in a few series, including finishing the Grimnoir trilogy and listening to Downside Ghosts #4, Sacrificial Magic… should catch up on this series just in time for Unholy Luck (#6) to finally come out early 2016…

    My TBR pile will never run dry… betwee my Kindle storage, Calibre storage, and Goodreads shelves, I probably have 500 books to read/maybe read… and my Goodreads shelves are generally limited to first in a series I want to try, so probably potentially 1000s…

    • kaleigha says:

      God, my TBR pile filled me with guilt when it was 250…thousands would probably put me out of my misery for good. I am one of those people who have to have “a plan” for tackling everything, and it would make me nuts.

      • Iain says:

        I just don’t think about it most of the time… I usually don’t start looking through my goodreads shelves for something to read until I can’t find anything I own I want to read at the moment… every few months I go through and weed through the books I own for ones I’ll never get to… otherwise it just grows… for about the first 6 months of this year I was pretty good about NOT adding… then I fell off the bandwagon

        • kaleigha says:

          I think I added…three? books to the TBR pile in the last 6 weeks or so, and I kicked myself for it (but they were must-buys and I didn’t get a chance to read them).

  2. pals20 says:

    My TBR is completely out of control and I love it. Less than 500 is a dream I do not even have because even my subconscious knows better… 😀

    Case in point: a friend recommended Shifter Planet by D B Reynolds and I liked it so much that I ended up buying her entire backlist of her Vampires in America series. Overnight I added 9 books and few novellas to my TBR. I adore my go-to authors but can anyone resist new author discoveries..??

    • kaleigha says:

      I have been so, so good about resisting new authors, but it does blow a bit. I have a list I make of those I think can “one day” be safely tried, after I bring down the list of authors that I want to read and haven’t gotten around to yet.

      • Iain says:

        Like I’m always saying / complaining about… I can find a lot of books to add to my TBR in the time it takes to read ONE book… that’s why my TBR list will never run dry…

        It’s hard to believe I didn’t really have a list before I started using Kindle/Goodreads a few years ago… I just read the books I had then found more… I followed a handful of series and that was it

Leave a Reply

