Cover Lover – Shadow Rider

It was quite a surprise when Christine Feehan announced earlier this year that she was starting up a new series called Shadows. This will be alongside her Carpathians, Leopards, Ghostwalkers and Sea Haven books, so she will be even more busy than usual. The first book will be called Shadow Rider, and it has a release date of June 28th.

shadow riderWhether it’s fast cars or fast women, Stefano Ferraro gets what he wants. When he’s not fodder for the paparazzi, he commands Ferraro family businesses—both legitimate and illegitimate.

While their criminal activity is simply a rumor yet to be proven, no one knows the real truth. The Ferraros are a family of shadow riders capable of manipulating light and dark, an ability Stefano thought ran in his family alone—until now…

With little left to her name, Francesca Cappello has come to Chicago in hopes of a new life. She wasn’t expecting to attract the attention of a man with primal hunger in his eyes, driven to claim her as his to protect and to please. And if he discovers her secret, it could ruin her…

Who is excited to see a new Feehan world? While I like something new, I have to admit I would at this point maybe like to see some progress on the Ghostwalker front instead, since there are still literally dozens of stories left to tell. And I mean the original Ghostwalker stories, not whatever mis-step Viper Game was. Since that didn’t feel like a Ghostwalker book to me, I don’t count it.

5 thoughts on “Cover Lover – Shadow Rider

  1. cheryl says:

    It just might be my perception but Feehan’s recent books seem to be taking more of a Fifty Shades of Grey type bent and I want more than sex for my reading enjoyment.
    I don’t know if I want to invest in another new series when she has so many that are ongoing. Sigh. Library maybe is the way to go with this one, if I can’t stand the curiostiy.

    • kaleigha says:

      Yeah, some of the last books have been a bit light on story and long on dominant alpha-ness, which just didn’t seem to fit with what went before.

    • kaleigha says:

      I don’t really have high hopes for Spider Game, since I figure it will be like Viper Game and feel more like a Lora Leigh Breeds book than a Ghostwalker book, but hopefully after that things can get back to normal.

  2. Iain says:

    I’m not the biggest Feehan fan… stopped reading GhostWalkers after #5 I think (the one with the circus performer)… and haven’t deigned to try any of her other series…

    But in general, I’d say I value authors that find inspiration in diversity instead of just a slower and slower release schedule…

    I LOVE Patricia Briggs… but she gets out one book a year… it might be a Mercy Thompson book, it might be and Alpha & Omega book (and in the not too distant future, one year it’s going to be a Tom & Moira book)

    Meanwhile Seanan McGuire / Mira Grant releases books left and right because her myriad series help her avoid getting into a writing funk (and her blog makes it seem like she lives to write… she has so many unpublished Works in Progess… and all non-writing time seems to be just research adventures.. whether its Australia or Disney World)

Leave a Reply

